We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel close to railway station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saxildhus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Saxildhus Hotel to your Saves list
Saxildhus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   JernbaneGade 39, Kolding 6000, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kolding
Taastrup, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming hotel close to railway station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Old charming hotel located close to Kolding Railway station, and center of city.
Friendly, helpfull and serviceminded staff.
Room good, bed-comfort excellent.
Breakfast very good
I didn't know hotel before booking - but it was a good choice - and I will come back another time

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    33
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
22
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We stayed over due to a family fest in town. Great location opposite railway station and short walk to centre of town. Cosy hotel with friendly staff and the free afternoon tea a welcome plus. Great breakfast before return train trip to Copenhagen

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel has a wonderful staff and is a charming older hotel. It's location close to the train station makes it ideal as a stopover. The breakfast is the best we have found in our many trips abroad! Excellent choice and we would definitely go back! I would suggest to the hotel that the duvets in summer is a poor idea but most of Europe seems to have gone to them year round!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The hotel is located just opposite the train station in the center of the town. It is the oldest hotel in Kolding, but well maintained. The lobby makes a modern impression but when you go to the rooms or breakfast area, you can see it is an old hotel. Still it has a fresh impression. The rooms were well equipped, maintained and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The only disadvantage I could find is that you could hear people walking through the alleyways.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarbert, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

On our way from Holland to Copenhagen we stopped at this hotel having booked by internet. What a great place this turned out to be. Very very friendly staff and clean spacious comfortable accommodation. The hotel is in Central Kolding and there is parking nearby. The train station is quite close too.

We arrived early evening and left early morning but from what we saw of the city it appears to be quite a clean quite place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Kolding isn't much of a destination city; it's a weigh station, a place to gather oneself before continuing on one's journey. It's nice that the charming Saxildhus Hotel is there to provide relief for weary travelers. The grounds have an air of early 20th century, jet-setter (or the closest thing to a jet-setter that Denmark had in the 1920s) relaxation. If The Overlook Hotel from Stanley Kubrick's "The Shining" were smaller, ghost-free, and in Denmark, I'm sure it would look just like the Saxildhus Hotel. I stayed here for two non-consecutive nights in August. Despite the fact that we were in the dog days of the Scandinavian summer, the evenings were pleasant and no air conditioner was needed (as has been suggested here). The staff were very friendly and informative, and the free breakfast was more than enough. For those who use public transportation, the proximity to Kolding Station (right across from the hotel) will be a plus. The only drawback to the hotel that I can think of is the large disparity between the two rooms that I stayed in. While both were clean, the first room in which I stayed (on the first floor) had rather tired decor with a tired carpet, while the second night's room (on the second floor) had parquet floors and was much more nicely equipped. For the second room's quality, this hotel deserves four stars; for the first room it deserves two. So, a score of 3 out of 5 seems fair.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms, and try to get a room which overlooks the street and not the back alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We (family of 4 with two kids ages 9 and 10) stayed in this hotel for two days after being relocated by AirBNB. We had a family room on the forth floor, which was very nice. Clean and cosy, with the old beams of the roof visible and view on the train station.

The service level is excellent for this type of hotels, and they are extremely child friendly. There is free tea and coffee, free fruits, two playing rooms for (smaller) kids, coupons for free snacks for the kids, free cakes to go with your afternoon tea, very nice breakfast buffet, and the personnel at the front desk will do virtually everything for you. The hotel is opposite to the train station and to the town centre, which has a lot of restaurants (do NOT go to the restaurant that is attached (but not part) to the hotel : the food is awful).

If you want a good, clean and child friendly family hotel, this is your pick!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saxildhus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxildhus Hotel

Address: JernbaneGade 39, Kolding 6000, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Kolding Municipality > Kolding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kolding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saxildhus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Saxildhus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxildhus Hotel Kolding

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saxildhus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.