We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean, Quiet, Good Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tordenskjoldsgade 3, Frederikshavn 9900, Denmark   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20-30%
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Frederikshavn
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Clean, Quiet, Good Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in a single room and had a very comfortable stay. I had a clean room, free internet, and a nice breakfast. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
12
27
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

What a postive surprise to check into this hotel. Even considering that the lobby was under reconstruction and that the hotel must have the slowest elevator in the world, I loved staying there. (was there for a week)

Rooms: All newly decorated, not flashy, but absolutely fine

Bath: Nice bathroom - requested a room with a tub and got it

Housekeeping: Very sweet and helpfull

Lobby: Was not there, but I am sure the one they were building will be nice and cozy with café vibe to it

Breakfast: Absolutely ok - ask for what you dont see

Wellness: GREAT massage next door.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

If you consider that Frederikshavn is not really a town worth seeing, the hotel is fine for a one or two nights stay if you combine it with treatments at the "7th heaven" spa next doors (really relaxing atmosphere with friendly, experienced staff). The hotel offers good value Spa packages in cooperation with them and I would definitely recommend getting one of those if your stay is longer than just one night. The hotel itself has nice rooms with a good size (but no good view), a decent Scandinavian breakfast buffet in a cozy extra room at ground floor and by cooperating with the American Style restaurant Empire next door it also offers nice lunch and dinner deals. But make sure to get there before 9pm - everything closes latest then! Hotel staff was friendly and acted fast in smaller issues (battery in remote control was empty, no bottle opener at the room, etc. ...) - alltogether a nice place to be for max 2 days... not more!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We had reserved 2 rooms for 2 nights in here. The first one was good, clean and obviously rather newly renovated.

In contrary the other one was really bad: smell of fungi (possibly from the softened, rotten bathroom floor?), roof window that was hard to open, small. We also had explicitly asked for a quiet room, which this also was claimed to be. Well, the noise from the street restaurant was loud beyond midnight. That night we were too tired to complain...

...Which we did next morning. Quickly we were given a new room, nice, newly renovated, spacious, high ceiling. If we had only seen the 2 good rooms of the 3, I would rank this hotel remarkably higher. However, I can still remember the smell of the first room and I think that one was not suitable to be let for a fee.

We were also not too delighted of the flies jumping on the cheese and ham in the breakfast buffet.

The members of staff were friendly, though.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

My wife and myself stayed one night in August as we were traveling to Oslo early the next morning. The hotel was a very nice surprise the room was beautiful and clean. The bathroom was very nice and possibley had been renovated recently. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. The hotel has free internet and the breakfast was a substantial cold buffet. I would reccomend this hotel as a good place to stay they also have a american burger style bar next door attached to the hotel. The food from here was good and well priced.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Had booked for a weekend due to a gift card. Parking space at the hotels "backdoor", it fill up quickly but we find a spot each evening. Simple and friendly greeting at the reception, we had booked a twinbed room, which we good. Bathroom a bit small but the shower area had plenty of space to move around. It was clean and there was enough space for the two of us.

Breakfast buffet is good, but the last day the didnt have enough of all things throughout breakfast serving. That's not a good service!

The town is very quit even on weekends, so if you which to relax this is a good place to go.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Michielsgestel, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed in Fredrikshavn the night before we sailed to Oslo with two children (6 and 9). I booked the place after orienting me on the other poss. in F'Havn. for the price (DK 845), the location, the quality of the e-mail response geared to our wishes. The hotel was easy to find, ample parking at the back, smooth receptionist, newly furbished rooms, small, due to the roof floor we were in, but the double bed and the extra bed fitted in easily. Walking distance to restaurants and a pleasant, travellers atmosphere. Simple but good breakfastbuffet and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang

Address: Tordenskjoldsgade 3, Frederikshavn 9900, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Frederikshavn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Frederikshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang is the oldest hotel in the city of Frederikshavn. The hotel has 53 renovated and refurbished rooms in different categories. THe hotel is situated in the heart of the city close to shopping, restaurants, harbour and the train station. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang Frederikshavn, Jutland, Denmark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.