We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too worn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jutlandia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jutlandia to your Saves list
Hotel Jutlandia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Havnepladsen 1, Frederikshavn 9900, Denmark (Formerly Radisson SAS Jutlandia Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Frederikshavn
Birkerod, Denmark
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Too worn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It is an "old" building, and it shows in the rooms (at least the one i had) that was too worn to be classifies by hotels.com as 4-star.Fine breakfast buffet with a great view over the harbour.Centrally located.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
12
19
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad place to stay but stains on carpet were pretty bad. I felt could have been cleaner. Was adequate but that's all
God was nice at breakfast buffet. Had dinner here also and food was good. Also service was good. Convenient for ferry to Gothenberg. Had good and bad points

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I spend one night at Hotel Jutlandia. Got a room on the fifth floor and there was thus the basis for a beautiful view. Unfortunately, I - like all my colleagues – got a view of the city (and the parking lot) instead of the harbor and waterfront.

The rooms are spartan and a little worn and the bed was equipped with the worst pillow I have ever experienced in a hotel.

The staff was friendly.

There MUST be a better hotel in Frederikshavn!

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed one night. A fantastic hotel and really got lucky. Had a very large room with a balcony - only one per floor. Looks out over the port and ferry terminal and is ideal to catch the early morning ferry to Gothenburg. Slightly noisy from the road. No air conditioning, but not usually needed. Mini bar in room, also tea and coffee making facilities. I had a double room, two singles pushed together as well as a sofa and easy chair, plus desk. Very large TV. Large bathroom with two sinks and walk in shower with some shower jets. Good hanging space, but no drawers to put things in. Ironing board and iron in room. Breakfast buffet very good - plenty of choice. A buffett meal was provided for our coach tour in the evening which was pretty good.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Jutlandia is not a flashy one but we were very happy with it. Our room was big enough for my husband and I. Their heated towel rack was something new to me. As most hotels do, they serve the same breakfast everyday but due to its wide array of choices one will never get tired of it. The hotel is 30-40 minutes away from Aalborg airport but we didn't mind since we went to Frederikshavn for the No.1 football tournament. Service is nothing amazing but neither is it lousy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Room was basic and not very clean. Don't pick a harbour view room in the Summer. You need te window open for fresh air, but ou cannot sleep for the constant traffic noise - and I was on the 5th floor.
Bathroom was mildewed and the bath was not a bath, but half a bath.
The shower would not lock to a suitable height so aided in the aspect that you could have a shower bath, just crouch in the tub and try both, but be warned it is the most uncomfortable way to bathe!
Breakfast looked good, but was bland and tasteless - how can you mess up such good products as cheese and cold cuts?
Dinner was the worst food I have ever eaten - Sstarter was supposed to be gravad laks, but thin on gravad and very short on laks! Main course of Wiener Schnitzel was masses of tastless potatoes with a bucket load of (probably frozen) peas to accompany a 'schnitzel' that had cooked so long it was diffiult to distinguish the meat from the crumb crust!
Premium satellite TV channels are there, but you cannot watch them because they are 'pay channels' and I did not find a way to pay for them - even though my booking also covered the payment of these channels.
Staff were, in the main, miserable and unhelpful to the extent that a polite question usually received a 'grunt' before I requested they expand on the answer.
WiFi worked well enough that it permitted me to write this review.
I paid a lot more than any of the websites quote as 'price from' and feel that even the 'price from' prices would have been too much to pay.
A 1* motel feel to a 3* rated hotel - I will never insult Premier Inns agan!

Room Tip: The Scandic Reef Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel about 5 years ago when it was part of the SAS group & it needed a major overhaul then. Sadly 5 years later it had changed it's ownership but nothing much more. Still looking tired though a little effort has been made here & there but not as much as is needed. Location wise it's good, very close to the docks and restaurants. Sadly that's all I can say....

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jutlandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jutlandia

Address: Havnepladsen 1, Frederikshavn 9900, Denmark (Formerly Radisson SAS Jutlandia Hotel)
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Frederikshavn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Frederikshavn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jutlandia 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feeling of home - welcome to our 4 star hotel, located in the heart of the town.*Free WIFI*Coffee & tea making facilities in all rooms*Cosy bar*Top floor restaurant with sea view*Convenient parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jutlandia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Frederikshavn
Frederikshavn Radisson
Hotel Jutlandia Frederikshavn, Jutland, Denmark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jutlandia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.