We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard fare in a hospitable restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ox-En Steakhouse

Ox-En Steakhouse
Brogade 2, Soenderborg 6400, Denmark
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 26 restaurants in Soenderborg
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Standard fare in a hospitable restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This restaurant specializes in beef from Australia plus some dish of fish. I found the quality average overall. The service is polite but a little slow

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    13
    9
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great steaks but when you pay the bill by credit card you're in for a nasty surprise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

After a slightly longer wait (we were warned by the waiter on arriving) than necessary we received perfect rib eye steaks with a larger than expected amount of seasonal vegetables - thumbs up all round.
Sadly our lovely evening had a very disappointing finish when on checking the credit card receipt we were surprised to find an additional 23kr "fee" - no one had mentioned. Considering we had given a rather generous tip we were quite outraged and demanded to see the boss who explained that this was the credit card fee which was not his fault... after a lot of discussion we were given 20kr in coins.
As we have never encountered this anywhere before we are left with the thought: tourist trap?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is definitely one of the better restaurants in small Sønderborg. A traditional steakhouse with good quality meat and a simple but nice card.
This is a typical provincial "value for money place" - They are not trying to be more than they are but quality of food is good and for the price it is very reasonable.
When we visited it was early (18.00) on a Saturday and staff seemed a little stressed and unattentive. My guess is that it was not the rather full restaurant (due to near by theater) but the lack of true serving training/education of staff - however they were very friendly
Pulling the experience down from above average was the long wait for food and drinks and especially the extreme noise. It looked like they had tried to damper the noise by adding some sort of isolation to the ceiling.... they had not succeeded !
This said then all in all it is an OK experience. Quality of food is good and price is reasonable - Give it a try

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sweet moments with a wonderfull view and likewise food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

One of the better dinning experience in South Jutland. If you are to visit Als and therefore see Soenderborg, it is a great restaurant with a relaxed atmosphere. A nice place, either having lunch or a three-course dinner.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soenderborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Indulging at the OX”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Having the reputation of a very good steakhouse, OX-EN was an obvious choice for a celebratory dinner with my parents and uncles. We went for the three course set Christmas menu - it was almost December after all...

Starter:
Homemade potato and leek soup with pesto and roasted southern jutland sausage

Main:
Grilled beef tenderloin, homemade red cabbage, ovenbaked potato boats with rosemary, apple, bacon and gravy

Desert:
Oven baked apple, marzipan and almond with vanilla icecream

The main consisted of beef tenderloin with a number of different sides. It was moist, it was tender, it was melt in your mouth goodness. And it was perfectly cooked! I was less of a fan of the sides, especially the apple and bacon mixture, and the cloying taste of the red cabbage, which made everything feel very heavy. However, for the meat I am more than willing to turn a blind eye to all the rest!

By now we really needed the inevitable wait between the main and dessert: my stomach clearly got the signal that Christmas time is near! I love almonds, and any apple dessert, so I was really looking forward to this one. And when it arrived it didn’t disappoint. Perfect end to a great meal!

This meal confirmed to me the place of OX-EN as one of the better restaurants in our area. Perfect if you are looking for a lesiurely meal. Not so if you want a quick one. But for the price, you probably want to savour all that you can get! The people serving you also appear happy to be there, which always makes it such a pleasure! Definitely somewhere to return to if a celebration is called for!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ox-En Steakhouse also viewed

Soenderborg, Soenderborg Municipality
Soenderborg, Soenderborg Municipality
 
Soenderborg, Soenderborg Municipality
Soenderborg, Soenderborg Municipality
 

Been to Ox-En Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ox-En Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.