We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in Horsens, perfect for shows at the Forum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Jorgensens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Jorgensens Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Jorgensens Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sondergade 17-19, Horsens 8700, Denmark   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20-30%
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Horsens
Temecula, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in Horsens, perfect for shows at the Forum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We stayed two nights here while in town to see Depeche Mode's shows at Horsens Forum - a wonderful small venue where you can practically get right up against the stage. It was an easy walk from the train station and it would've been a good walk to the concerts too if it wasn't so incredibly cold outside! The lobby is exquisite and staff extremely helpful. Our friend received an impressive upgrade to the Royal Suite because of all the business he had brought in. The rooms were expensive, but worth it for the quality and comfort of staying on an adorable main street with a great bar just downstairs off the street where the Carlsberg on tap is probably the best beer we have ever tasted. It might've been the atmosphere, but who knows. There is free internet and a great full breakfast - not too much to eat for strict vegetarians though, but we were expecting that. In fact, there wasn't too much to eat anywhere in Horsens for us - but we made out okay. The bathroom was spacious and elegant with heated floors - just what two weary and cold Californians needed after freezing at the nearby fjord. If I ever find myself in Horsens again, I'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    18
    15
    3
See reviews for
14
28
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

We stayed here because we were attending a local concert. The hotel is charming in a great location, however..

(1) We had blocked several large suites for our group, but the hotel gave our room away to someone else, not in our group, even though my name was still on the reservation at time of check-in. The staffer went to the room and confirmed that it was occupied. No apology to us. They had no other rooms expect a very small, but clean room - no price discount!

(2) We ate dinner in the restaurant. Food was OK, but not great – go somewhere else. Our waiters decided on their own not to serve us our deserts (thought we were leaving soon for the concert) until we informed them that we had every intention on finishing our 3-plate special of the day.

I would look elsewhere to stay and unless you are genuinely a lucky person.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

This hotel is ideally placed for central Horsens, it is on the pedestrianised main street and easily reached from the train station. There are lots of other bars and restaurants in town so you don't have to use the hotel every night. The building is full of history and the hotel info book has a nice page about the background to the hotel.

I found the staff all quite typical Danish - that is friendly and laid back, nothing is a problem to them. The receptionist/manager was very smiley and welcoming when we arrived to check in.

We were in town for a family wedding and decided to treat ourselves to a stay in the Kings Suite, the price is not too different to a regular room in many other hotels. The room was amazing, first you enter into a living room which had so many chairs I thought about having all my cousins round for dinner! In the corner is a throne from the 18th Century made for King Frederik V who stayed here! The bedroom had a 4 poster bed, but unfortunately the white curtains were a bit tatty & showed evidence that this is a smoking room (which we hadn't realised on booking). The bathroom was huge and has a separate shower and jacuzzi bath. All in all, this room has to be seen to be believed and really is worth the little bit extra on the room rate.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

A clean hotel the executive rooms are large and clean the rest are clean and basic. Breakfeast is a buffet ,the same each day. If you are early enough the scrambled eggs are warm. Staff are efficent and courteous. In the cellar bar the young staff are friendly but not to efficient especially when all you require is a drink. The menu has something foe all but a bit boring after a week. But the ribs can be recommended. Internet connection is available thru wired or wifi connection at broadband speed through out the hotel at a price

  • Liked — hard to say
  • Disliked — lack of evening atmosphere
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2005

If you must go to Horsens, Jorgensens Hotel is the place to stay. I stayed there for one week in the late spring of 2004 and found it far superior to the other hotels in the area. The location is excellent, in the middle of the town, 15 min easy walk to the train/bus station. The hotel is beautifully maintained, the decor is baroque period. The rooms vary in size as the building is an old town-"palace" from the 18th century. The staff was an exception to the usually sour and angry employee you'd normally meet at Danish hotels; they were cheerful, helpful, accommodating and simply plain friendly. The restaurant was glorious: Impeccable service and excellent food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Jorgensens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Jorgensens Hotel

Address: Sondergade 17-19, Horsens 8700, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Horsens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Horsens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Jorgensens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Jorgensens hotel gives you a castle atmosphere in the centre of Horsens. The beautifull 4-star hotel is located in the pedestrian street, near the sea. close to nature, Legoland and the train station. We offer cosy rooms in old fashion English style with all modern facilities. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Jorgensens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Jorgensens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.