We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diving in Kattegatcentret” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kattegatcentret - Denmarks Sharkcentre

Kattegatcentret - Denmarks Sharkcentre
Faergevej 4, Grenaa 8500, Denmark
+45 86 32 52 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Grenaa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get smitten by the sea at Kattegatcentret! Whether you prefer to be a spectator on land or to be thrown into the deep in a diving suit Kattegatcentret is the place to go. A sea of experiences that will stay with you forever awaits you! Be surrounded by sharks, watch the harbour seals enjoy themselves in the sea, paddle a kayak at arctic waters and learn how to protect the marine environment. In Kattegatcentret big skates are dancing and splashing in the tropical shark tank while shark fins cut through the water surface and frightening teeth rip fish from the hand of the zoo keeper. You can stand very close and risk getting wet or watch from below in the shark tunnel where only 6 centimetres of acrylic separates you from the sharks. Our open aquariums offer excitement for all senses with splashing water, smells and sounds and in the touch pools you can actually pet a real shark, play hide and seek with the flatfishes or hold hands with starfish and crabs. Meet more than 250 species of fantastic, colourful sea creatures and experience our very special shark training where you really get an insight into the fascinating animals. If you want to get even closer to the sharks you can also dive down to them!
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Diving in Kattegatcentret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had a scuba dive in the sharkpool with my brother, it wasn't cheap but a great experience! Would clearly recommend this to everyone that finds sharks fascinating.
As a dive it is not much, just down and sit on the buttom, clearly because the sharks need space - no complaint here. But when you sit there and the sharks begin to swim closer, that is really something :-)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kattegatcentret, Public Relations Manager at Kattegatcentret - Denmarks Sharkcentre, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Claes L

We are glad to hear that you had a good diving experience among our large tropical sharks. Thank you for giving your time to review your experience - it means a lot to us.

In behalf of
KATTEGATCENTRET


Best wishes,
Rikke Mosberg
Responsible for marketing and events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    36
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Bought my dearly beloved a supervised SCUBA dive in the big ocean tank at Kattegatcentret for his birthday. They offer variouos kinds of supervised dives, in the shark tank (PADI certified divers only) and in the ocean tank (everyone else, +10 years).
Nice staff, extremely helpful, everyone was really welcoming and we felt like VIP visitors. The half hour dive was quite an experience (says hubby) whereas I was outside the tank with the camera. It seemed like he had a lot of fun. Divemaster said that in the tank they would get really close to fish (no touch!) like huge sturgeons, herring, mackerell, smaller sharks, halibut and cod, that in the wild would simply have left the scene long before they could be spotted. Top notch equipment, but changing facitilies not very comfy, these could be improved. The fee for the dive included entrance, and we had a great afternoon, watching the big sharks and rays being fed (!) which was great fun, and there was a trainer who showed a few tricks with nurse sharks. Dunno if they do the show in English. Much recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kattegatcentret, Public Relations Manager at Kattegatcentret - Denmarks Sharkcentre, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear MaddieBra

Many thanks for your fine review of The Kattegat Centre. We are pleased to read that both your husband and you had a good experience. It is unique to get as close to the fish species as you do when you book a scuba dive in our large Oceanarium.

Our feeding and training are usually held in Danish as well as English and German if there are non-Danish speaking visitors. Please, let the staff know if you do not speak Danish.

In behalf of
KATTEGATCENTRET

Best wishes,
Rikke Mosberg
Responsible for marketing and events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Small and Busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Compact with a good selection of fish - both tropical and cold water. It was very busy when we visited which detracted from the experience. It was costly for the overall experience. The seals were cute :-)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kattegatcentret, Public Relations Manager at Kattegatcentret - Denmarks Sharkcentre, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Draggie

Thank you for your review of The Kattegat Centre on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear the busy day debilitated your experience. Usually The Kattegat Centre is not too crowded even on busy days.

If you happen to visit Jutland again, we hope you will visit us and experience The Kattegat Centre without too many people :-)

In behalf of
KATTEGATCENTRET

Best wishes,
Rikke Mosberg
Responsible for marketing and events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“See and touch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Fantastic aquariums with fish living in Denmark. You can easily spent half a day - and maybe more - here. In one area there are open aquarium, where kids can touch different kind of fish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kattegatcentret, Public Relations Manager at Kattegatcentret - Denmarks Sharkcentre, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Lisbeth F

Thank you for taking the time to review The Kattegat Centre on TripAdvisor.

Our guests' experiences are highly important to us and we are happy to hear that you had a good experience.

In behalf of
KATTEGATCENTRET

Best wishes,
Rikke Mosberg
Responsible for marketing and events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kattegatcentret - Denmarks Sharkcentre also viewed

Ebeltoft, Southdjurs Municipality
Kolind, Northdjurs Municipality
 
Nimtofte, Northdjurs Municipality
Ebeltoft, Southdjurs Municipality
 

Been to Kattegatcentret - Denmarks Sharkcentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kattegatcentret - Denmarks Sharkcentre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.