We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food we ate In France” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Val de Vienne

Auberge du Val de Vienne
30 route de Chinon, 37220 Sazilly, France
0033 247952649
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Sazilly
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tillsonburg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Food we ate In France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We came here on recommendation from our Bed and Breakfast Owner which gave us a ride here (long story).
We ordered the Menu of the day and it was perfect from start to Finish, beautiful restaurant, superb staff, very quiet and professional.
This is how a restaurant should be run, as the courses were spaced apart perfectly, all the food was locally sourced, and the chef even came out after the dinner hour to ask all the tables about their meal.
My favourite part was the Pate, which was homemade and unbelievable.
The whole meal was of excellent Value, for the amount of courses, food, and wine we got a great deal.

The best part of the whole experience is we planned on walking home after the meal, when the owner said she would not let that happen and actually gave us a ride back to our bed and breakfast since we didn't have a car, that is a first in my life and the kind of service that no one could ever expect, if you want to eat in the Loire Valley, come here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

It's not the first time that we have eaten at the Auberge du Val de Vienne, but it is the first time that we have eaten lunch. We met friends there that we haven't seen for a very long time and shared an extremely pleasant and delicious meal.

The décor of the restaurant is very traditionally French, with walls of limestone and wood panelling and an attractive fireplace in the main restaurant. I feel that this room is reminiscent of a library in a country house.

The lady waiting tables was very friendly and chatty and informed us about some of the dishes on the menu. We all decided to take the 3 course 'Menu Découverte' at 37.90 euros. There was also a 'Menu de Marché' at 21. 90 euros. To accompany the drinks that we ordered, we were given some delicious nibbles.

I started my meal with a lobster and nectarine salad. Immediately it was put in front of me, I started to wish that I had taken my camera to the restaurant, as the colours of it harmonised well and the presentation was attractive. I really enjoyed the combination of fruit and savoury. I followed this with red snapper with a saffron sauce. The creamy sauce had a subtle hint of saffron and this went very well with the fish and the accompanying vegetables. My rhubarb and strawberry dessert was not at all what I had anticipated. It was served in a large glass (which is not my favourite way to present a dessert, as the ingredients get mixed up together) and the strawberries rather dominated the taste of the rhubarb. Never the less, it was very enjoyable.

My husband and our friends also very much enjoyed their meals as well and the quality of the Chinon wine was particularly appreciated. We would certainly recommend this restaurant to others and would return if we have the opportunity.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Super Meal, Super Service, Super Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Had the set menu in the evening, couldn't fault it; aperitif, amuse buche, starter, main and cheese, palette cleanse, wine and coffee all for €50 per head.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cravant, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Terrific restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Always good. Excellent menu and wine list. Beautiful space in which to enjoy delicious food. Don't miss it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

A great meal in a warm and friendly setting. Lots of little unexpected treats capped off a really great meal. We thought it was great value for the money. The menu had a lot of choice and the host kept surprising us with little tempters in between courses. One of the best meals on our trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge du Val de Vienne also viewed

L'lle-Bouchard, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 
Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 

Been to Auberge du Val de Vienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Val de Vienne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.