We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Brussels Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Brussels Airport to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Brussels Airport
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bessenveldstraat, Diegem 1831, Belgium (Formerly Etap Hotel Brussels Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Diegem
Ostend, Belgium
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

....and this is a cheap hotel. I can't complain about the reception staff who were very friendly. The room itself was spartan (normal at this price) and clean but the heater -a small electric blower type thing- didn't work properly so it was quite cold inside (14 centigrade) and due to the hotel being booked they couldn't shift me nor did they offer a solution so I spent quite a cold night fully clothed under a duvet that was just a bit too thin but not so thin that I actually walked out.

I checked in in the evening and wanted to have a hot dinner but there's no restaurant, just vending machines. Reception directed me to the Ibis hotel just across the parking lot...where the restaurant was closed and all the food available were bar snacks.

Breakfast costs 7.5 euro and is basic but correct for the price (bread, jam, juice, coffee).

Bottom line: if a cheap place close to the airport is your top priority then this is worth considering but if you appreciate some modicum of comfort, better check out the alternatives

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    195
    188
    83
    39
See reviews for
104
149
123
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I actually stayed at this hotel twice whilst en-route to Munich and back to the UK,

The first time parking was €9 for the night and I left the car outside in the secure compound as it was empty. For my return, I had a compliment of luggage so decided to park it in the hotel's underground garage. I had thought this would be at a cost but was given it gratis for the night. Bonus!

Check-in was smooth on both occasions, although the guy at reception on the second occasion seemed a little hostile towards some non French-speakers. That said, this is the case in most French-speaking countries. On the second occasion, the room had insufficient heating (it was 5 below outside!) but we were changed rooms quickly and efficiently, and the new room had very effective heating,

The rooms themselves were not exactly the Marriott but adequately designed nonetheless. Triple rooms have a bunk bed above the normal double bed, which is what I had on the second occasion as we were two males; interestingly this type of room proved cheaper than a standard double! One or two bits of trim were missing or loose but nothing major, and as this is a budget hotel these foibles can be somewhat overlooked. The beds were comfortable enough although, as previous reviews have stated, the pillows were somewhat on the thin side,

Breakfast was a fairly primitive affair, being chiefly composed of cereals, bread and jam; it really was best to eat lots of it in order to justify the €7.50 price tag, especially as with a car, it would be easy to just buy a few croissants from the nearby petrol station for a fraction of the cost. However a) it was January so going out of the hotel involved going into the cold and b) we received breakfast free on the second occasion, exact reason unknown but another bonus!

In conclusion, I would choose this hotel again if it was the cheapest by miles (the Campanile was nearly as cheap but I was slightly put off by the look of the buildings) but would possibly spend a little more and stay at the normal Ibis or Holiday Inn should I find myself driving past the area sometime in the near future. Maybe I just got lucky with all the gratuities of the second occasion, as the total price of a night's stay can tot up quite considerably otherwise!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleve, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were 3 persons, who traveled.. Well, comparing to ibis budget in Paris in Brugge, i liked it most. The room was very modern, quiet, with nice lighting. Light green+white coloured walls gave the positive atmosphere.
The toilet and shower were separated.. The toilet was very dirty..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Nothing special, like most very cheap but modern hotels. The room was nice and well functioning, the window gave little sound proofing against the road next to hotel (and flights from the airport, but they close at night).
Breakfast is available for 7,50 Euro and first morning at 7:30 it was nice, next day I came in at 8, at there was a line from reception, through a hallway and all the way up to the buffet. All seats were taken, fresh bread was sold out (only buns and presliced bread) and tea only if you wanted fruit tea. While the first morning was fine, the second was a disaster. Never again. Se be careful if you want breakfast.
They offer a free drink if you dine in neighbouring Ibis hotel, but the restaurant is closed on Thursday evenings. Instead the reception can call for a pizza or chicken wing meal, comes within 45 minutes and is actually not bad (11 Euro for a pizza, 6 chicken wings and a coke, enough for 2 people or one with an appetite)

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the other Ibis hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

On our way back to the UK from Austria after a road trip, we arrived at this hotel in rush hour and expected the usual pandemonium that usually hits hotel receptions at that time. But no! The lobby was empty, and the friendly clerk booked us in with no fuss whatsoever. The room was small, but perfectly formed, with a dinky shower room and a sink, next door to a tiny loo.The beds were narrow but comfy, and the duvets were thick and warm.After unpacking, it was off to its sister Ibis across the car park. The stella artois was excellent and we were given free nibbles by the barman. Hungry as you like, we were seated in a restaurant with less atmosphere than the moon, and then everything went wrong .After waiting for ages to be served, the surly staff eventually took our order. By the time the food came back, I'd forgotten what I had ordered. My travelling companion had ordered ribs, but was presented with a dish that was cold, tough, tasteless and so far removed from ribs that he refused to pay for them. The 'manager' got shirty, and informed us that 'no-one else has complained, so the dish must have been good'. All the other diners were enjoying what was shaping up to a verbal sparring contest, but were denied this by my colleague stating that 'Maybe these people are too intimidated to complain, but I'm not'.
This hotel is almost twice the price than the Budget Ibis, but everyone eats here. Please don't.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Brussels Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Brussels Airport

Address: Bessenveldstraat, Diegem 1831, Belgium (Formerly Etap Hotel Brussels Airport)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Diegem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Diegem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Brussels Airport 1*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Budget Brussels Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Brussels Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Brussels Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.