We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business as usual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Brussels Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Brussels Airport to your Saves list
Van der Valk Brussels Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Culliganlaan 4B, Diegem 1831, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Diegem
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Business as usual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The van der Valk hotel offers, as expected, a nice comfortable room, good restaurant, nice bar. breakfast could be more but is sufficient. Staff is overall friendly and professional. Free wifi and parking. Minibar is also free. The bathroom is nice and warm. Sufficient towels. Although close to the airport, no jet noise is heard. Close to public transport to downtown Brussels. To summarize, a good package for business trips.



Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    209
    85
    34
    17
See reviews for
65
134
28
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Namur, Belgium
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Very good "package" for 99€/night with breakfast, private shuttle, car park (garage) 2 weeks, carwash included! Very difficult to find better! Close to the airport and very convenient when you have to catch a plane early in the morning, this hotel is a very good choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, UK
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We arrived at this hotel on a tour, so it was an overnight stay and also used on our return. To be fair we arrived very late and even so food was avaiable till 11 pm; and probably room service although we did not avail ourselves of it. Our room was very clean and the bathroom large and warm. Beds were reasonable, but like all chain hotels its pretty bland. Unfortunately on our floor, (3rd) the carpets in the public spaces had stains and could do with a damn good clean !.

The room was a little warm, and it was not easy to adjust the air conditioning, so I woke with a dry throat the following morning.

Our return visit was earlier, and we had a chance of a meal, but to be honest for the expensive prices the choice was pretty basic. We opted for smaller light bites served from the bar, and these were good. Drinks prices, like in all these hotels are over priced; although the bar is pleasant and inviting enough to linger for a while.

No problem with breakfast which had a good choice. Staff were pleasant enough. OK for a stop over.

Dr Malc

Room Tip: Near the airport, but little to do in the surrounding area, and there appears to be no other eating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This new hotel is nearby the airport and have an airport shuttle. The hotel is 15 min driving from City Centre. The rooms are large and the beds are fine. The bathroom who is warm is very fine.
The breakfast is ok. Parking is at the hotel for 10 euro.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

At first glance the hotel looks badly placed among industrial estates and not much else. But on arrival was very surprised by the interior of the hotel lobby, it has a classy feel to it, and staff on hand ready to welcome the weary traveller. Once in the room, looked out the window to see a beautiful garden full of Christmas cheer. The restaurant/ bar staff were a tad on the slow side but very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to a friend and if ever in Brussels again, this hotel would be first choice!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west wing. It is less dated and better room views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel P, General Manager at Van der Valk Brussels Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.
Good to read that you have been enjoying our hotel.
We look forward welcoming you again in Brussels and if I can be of any assistance, please feel free to contact us,

have a wonderfull day and our best wishes for X-mas

Joris Toye
Deputy Director
Van der Valk Hotel brussels airport
j.toye@brussels.valk.com
+32/474 174 227
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel does have its good points. Our room was nice, a good size and clean. However, the plug hole in the bathroom has a strange smell coming up from it and the tea and coffee were not restocked for our 2nd day. The room has air conditioning but it doesn't seem to be adjustable! We tried to turn it down to 18 degrees for sleeping but it just kept defaulting back to 21.8. Pretty warm!

We'd also read that the mini bar was complimentary but it was empty. We believed this was because we were part of a coach trip and we didn't get offered the same facilities and services but this seems pretty short sighted when people write reviews and also when it comes to making money from the guests. We went down to the bar on the night of our arrival and it was chaos. There were dirty glasses everywhere, 4 people behind the bar but no drinks being served! In the time it took us to get one drink we could've had 2 or 3. Very expensive though!

Breakfast was also fairly manic and very disappointing. As part of a coach trip we couldn't even get toast! We heard from someone else that they'd tried to get a meal in the restaurant the night before. First of all the staff seemed put out that there was only 2 of them. They were seated but given no menu and no one came back.

I imagine you get a slightly better experience if you're not on a coach trip but as a result, if I ever needed to stay at Brussels airport, I certainly wouldn't be staying here again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel P, Manager at Van der Valk Brussels Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear,

Thank you very much for the time you took to writre a review.
Your comments are extremelty important for our young and dynamic company.
We strive for an excellent service and your comment does help us a lot to achieve our goal.

We'll discuss your different comments in our upcoming management meeting and see where we can cghhanges to our current procedure in order to make it better for the future.

Please let me know whenever you're in brussels again, so I can do something special for you.

Thanks a lot once again for your valuable comment,

Have an excellent day,

joris Toye
Deputy Director
j.toye@brussels.valk.com
+32/474 174 227
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a reasonable hotel 15 mins taxi from the airport. Rooms are clean and comfortable. A free mini bar is offered, but it is only a few soft drinks.

We ate in the restaurant on three nights. The buffet was good with some live cooking and the a la carte even better, with steaks cooked perfectly to order.

Breakfast wasn't so good with items running out regularly.

The bar staff and waiting staff were to be commended for their enthusiasm and humour.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel P, Manager at Van der Valk Brussels Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Tony,

Thanks a lot for your comments.
Good to see that you had a great time in our hotel.
We have well noted your comment in regards to the breakfasty items missing on our buffet.
We have re-insisted our procedures with the breakfast staff in order to have our buffet fully filled at all times.

We're gratfull for the constructive feedback you gave us. It allows our young and dynamic company to improve on a daily basis.

Looking forward welcoming you again in our Brussels property and please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance,

have a lovely X-mas period,

Joris Toye
Deputy Director
j.toye@brussels.valk.com
+32/474 174 227
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Brussels Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Brussels Airport

Address: Culliganlaan 4B, Diegem 1831, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Diegem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Diegem
#2 Family Hotel in Diegem
#2 Business Hotel in Diegem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Diegem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Brussels Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Van der Valk Hotel Brussels Airport. At a mere five minutes distance from Brussels Airport and 20 minutes distance from the vibrant center of Brussels you will find the New Van der Valk Hotel Brussels Airport. With 224 luxurious rooms, 13 modern and multifunctional meeting rooms, cozy restaurant and contemporary bar and lounge we are the ideal place for businessmen and leisure guests alike. We offer a free shuttle service to and from the airport. If you would like to visit the city, the station is only a 5 minute walk away from our hotel and in 15 minutes you will find yourself in the middle of everything. Take advantage of our spacious garage, the perfect place to leave your car while on vacation. In fact don’t take our word for it, come and have a look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Van der Valk Brussels Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Brussels Airport Hotel Diegem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Brussels Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.