We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Particular hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels to your Saves list
Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europalaan 38 | 3600 Genk, Genk 3600, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Genk
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Particular hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel is very nice and is part of a chai that is called different hotel.. the carbon is very particular has light for chrome therapy. . The bath tub in the middle of the room ( at least on mine).. on the floor there is sort of textiles floor but seem with some stain next to it there a public parking lot but with direct access. The breakfast included s very good

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear cmarmot,

Thanks for for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Nice to read you liked your breakfast!

See you soon at Different Hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions on business and I have always found it provides a high quality service.
The hotel is situated in central Genk, opposite the bus and rail station.
The decor in the rooms reflects the hotel name with a predominantly black theme.
Most rooms have a double bed and shower / toilet facilities, some higher specification rooms also have a bath.
There is no bathroom as such instead the rooms are zoned with partition walls discreetly placed, it works well and gives the rooms a different feel unlike other hotels.
There are the usual wardrobe, desk, television provided and if you have an iPod there is a sound system to play your favourite music. Free wifi completes the package.
The restaurant is excellent for both individual meals and group meals if with colleagues.
A couple of years ago I would have given 5 stars, but the hotel has changed recently and become less different, the mini bar used to be free with water, cola, beer available. The hotel has gone the way of other chain hotels and started charging for this. There are other points that have changed that make the hotel more mainstream.
Despite my minor criticism I always enjoy staying there when on business.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Nev C,

Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Nice to read you liked your stay! We also really appreciate your remarks and will take these into consideration.

See you soon at Different Hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houthalen, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Nice room at first glance, but warm. The rooms are also not clean.
To switch off the lights is a challenge, until you find the instructions (!). Breakfast is poor.
This is overpriced for what it offers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Eddy,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. Your remarks are very valuable to us and we will work on them as we try to improve the experience for our guests on a daily basis.
We do look forward to welcoming you again soon. Sonny Biesmans, Front Office Manager.


With Different Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
379 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

It's really an amazing hotel! It's trendy and modern and in the citycentre of Genk. The hotel is really good located, close by the station.The staff is so friendly and correct. I really liked this hotel! The room was amazing: big bath in the room, rainshower, professional LED lighting system, iPod docking station, and the bed was amazing. I would like to take it home with me!
It's clean, modern with beautiful rooms at a reasonable price for Genk.

Room Tip: Take a room with a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nathalievb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Nathalie,

thanks for posting your review on the Carbon Hotel on TripAdvisor. We enjoyed reading your review, you sound really enthusiastic! Thanks for all the compliments.

See you soon at Different Hotels!

With Different Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked the Packaged of Spa, Dinner & Overnight. Our Spa started at 15:30 and the room was supposed to be ready at 15:00. We arraived at 15:00 and the room was not ready. They asked as to wiat for a quarter in the lounge and then WE had to go back to reception and check whether the room was ready or not. After a quarter we got our key and went to our room which it was just "cleaned". The hotel has used a lot of black material as a result it is not always easy to clean. The floor at the corridor has small lakes with water and you couls still see where they have mopped and were not. The room is AMAZING, with a bath next the to the bed, mood lights, a wlaking shower. The safe was not working and the bathroom was obvious not cleaned enough. A weird smell came out of the toilet and the shower screen was not cleaned at all. Again but service destroyed a goor material. At spa, the entrance was weird as teh receptionist was a lady looked & dressed as your teacher at grammar school but teh spa generally was beautiful and the massage SUPERB. (here got perfect service).
When we arrived at the restaurant for our dinner, althouch checked earlier with the reception tehy could not find our reservation. It took them some time AND GUIDANCE to find out whether we are right or not and some time to be served. Again the food was amasing but the service very poor.
Only bad thing on materilas were the pillows. Very big and not any alternative, as a rsult pretty bad sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Mirto,

Thanks for leaving your feedback on the Carbon Hotel. We were pleased to read that you had a wonderful massage and dinner. The other points of improvement like cleaning, service, etc. will be taken care of! Thank you for pointing this out.

We hope to see you soon for another stay at Different Hotels.

With Different regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwevegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
200 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I attented a networking seminar earlier this week.
Easy accesible, plenty of parking space under hotel, lounge style hotel, good meeting facilities and inviting wine bar to meet clients before and after seminar.
Good wine choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Carbon Hotel Genk.

Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable seminar. Thank you for the feedback in relation to the car park, wine and accommodation.

We look forward in welcoming you back on your next visit to Genk.
We would be happy to assist you with any future bookings.

With Different regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

i ve stayed 2 at the carbon hotel. The first time we booked a gastronomic spa package and everything was very good: good restaurant, even if some of our group thought the portions of the menu degustation were too small. I was particularly enthousiastic about the spa: staff is superfriendly and the facilities are great. Rooms are beautiful and quiet, breakfast is perfect. The second time we booked a room we went there to eat at la botte, so we didn t book a package deal, but a room at the price of 100€(price mentioned on the phone). We, again, stayed half a day at the spa and spa + room is a package deal at carbon. I was quite dissappointed when we were presented the bill: not only did we have to pay full price for all the services instead of offering us the package rate, but the room was also more expensive. Carbon is a good hotel to stay at, i would recommend eating at la botte and not at the hotel restaurant and to book your package deal online so that you can benefit from their excellent price quality relation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for placing a review on Trip Advisor following your stay. We were pleased to read you had a nice stay in our hotel, enjoyed our wellness facilities and appreciated your dinner in La Botte.

We are sorry to hear about the issues with your payment. We will try to prevent this from happening in the future.

With Different regards
The Different-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genk
0.4 mi away
M Hotel - Different Hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel ECU - Different Hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Stiemerheide
Hotel Stiemerheide
#4 of 11 in Genk
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Atlantis - Different Hotels
9.2 mi away
Terhills Hotel - Different Hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel 't Hert
Hotel 't Hert
#6 of 11 in Genk
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels

Address: Europalaan 38 | 3600 Genk, Genk 3600, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Genk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Genk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carbon: Carbon is found in the food we eat, the clothes we wear, the cosmetics we use and the fuel in our cars. Carbon is the 6th most common element in the universe and a major building block in the chemistry of life. In Genk, it has an additional meaning: it is the name of a chic and stylish official design hotel that offers a complete range of services and facilities under one roof. Carbon Hotel is also a showcase for the talents of Limburg designers, who have conceived a harmonious blend of originality and luxury. Carbon Sleep: All 60 guest-rooms have a view on the exclusive roof garden and invite you to relax in style. Each room provides a luxurious bath or shower unit, R(ed) G(reen)B(lue) lighting system, an iDock, free internet and a minibar. Carbon Meet: Carbon has two unique meeting rooms, an exclusive boardroom and a VIP room. Meetings can be combined with a drink at the impressive roof garden. Gusto: Enjoy the innovative Gusto restaurant with its exclusive wine and champagne bar. Delicious dishes are combined with an excellent selection of new world wines. The chef works with regional ingredients to create contemporary flavours. Carbon Taste won the 2008 European Interior Design Award in London. Carbon Sense: Need to relax? Our team is delighted to welcome you to Carbon Sense: a fully integrated city spa on the top floor of this design hotel. Here you can unwind in the bathhouse or enjoy a relaxing treatment. Practical Information: You can park your car in the Q-Park, located underneath the hotel. Price: € 12,- per 24 hours. The main station is within walking distance. For more information, route description and to make a reservation, go to carbonhotel.be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carbon Hotel Genk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing