We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel if visiting Genk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels to your Saves list
Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europalaan 38, Genk 3600, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Genk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel if visiting Genk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions on business and I have always found it provides a high quality service.
The hotel is situated in central Genk, opposite the bus and rail station.
The decor in the rooms reflects the hotel name with a predominantly black theme.
Most rooms have a double bed and shower / toilet facilities, some higher specification rooms also have a bath.
There is no bathroom as such instead the rooms are zoned with partition walls discreetly placed, it works well and gives the rooms a different feel unlike other hotels.
There are the usual wardrobe, desk, television provided and if you have an iPod there is a sound system to play your favourite music. Free wifi completes the package.
The restaurant is excellent for both individual meals and group meals if with colleagues.
A couple of years ago I would have given 5 stars, but the hotel has changed recently and become less different, the mini bar used to be free with water, cola, beer available. The hotel has gone the way of other chain hotels and started charging for this. There are other points that have changed that make the hotel more mainstream.
Despite my minor criticism I always enjoy staying there when on business.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Nev C,

Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Nice to read you liked your stay! We also really appreciate your remarks and will take these into consideration.

See you soon at Different Hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    57
    17
    11
    7
See reviews for
6
79
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houthalen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Nice room at first glance, but warm. The rooms are also not clean.
To switch off the lights is a challenge, until you find the instructions (!). Breakfast is poor.
This is overpriced for what it offers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Eddy,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. Your remarks are very valuable to us and we will work on them as we try to improve the experience for our guests on a daily basis.
We do look forward to welcoming you again soon. Sonny Biesmans, Front Office Manager.


With Different Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
365 helpful votes 365 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

It's really an amazing hotel! It's trendy and modern and in the citycentre of Genk. The hotel is really good located, close by the station.The staff is so friendly and correct. I really liked this hotel! The room was amazing: big bath in the room, rainshower, professional LED lighting system, iPod docking station, and the bed was amazing. I would like to take it home with me!
It's clean, modern with beautiful rooms at a reasonable price for Genk.

Room Tip: Take a room with a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Nathalie,

thanks for posting your review on the Carbon Hotel on TripAdvisor. We enjoyed reading your review, you sound really enthusiastic! Thanks for all the compliments.

See you soon at Different Hotels!

With Different Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked the Packaged of Spa, Dinner & Overnight. Our Spa started at 15:30 and the room was supposed to be ready at 15:00. We arraived at 15:00 and the room was not ready. They asked as to wiat for a quarter in the lounge and then WE had to go back to reception and check whether the room was ready or not. After a quarter we got our key and went to our room which it was just "cleaned". The hotel has used a lot of black material as a result it is not always easy to clean. The floor at the corridor has small lakes with water and you couls still see where they have mopped and were not. The room is AMAZING, with a bath next the to the bed, mood lights, a wlaking shower. The safe was not working and the bathroom was obvious not cleaned enough. A weird smell came out of the toilet and the shower screen was not cleaned at all. Again but service destroyed a goor material. At spa, the entrance was weird as teh receptionist was a lady looked & dressed as your teacher at grammar school but teh spa generally was beautiful and the massage SUPERB. (here got perfect service).
When we arrived at the restaurant for our dinner, althouch checked earlier with the reception tehy could not find our reservation. It took them some time AND GUIDANCE to find out whether we are right or not and some time to be served. Again the food was amasing but the service very poor.
Only bad thing on materilas were the pillows. Very big and not any alternative, as a rsult pretty bad sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Mirto,

Thanks for leaving your feedback on the Carbon Hotel. We were pleased to read that you had a wonderful massage and dinner. The other points of improvement like cleaning, service, etc. will be taken care of! Thank you for pointing this out.

We hope to see you soon for another stay at Different Hotels.

With Different regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwevegem, Belgium
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I attented a networking seminar earlier this week.
Easy accesible, plenty of parking space under hotel, lounge style hotel, good meeting facilities and inviting wine bar to meet clients before and after seminar.
Good wine choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Carbon Hotel Genk.

Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable seminar. Thank you for the feedback in relation to the car park, wine and accommodation.

We look forward in welcoming you back on your next visit to Genk.
We would be happy to assist you with any future bookings.

With Different regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

i ve stayed 2 at the carbon hotel. The first time we booked a gastronomic spa package and everything was very good: good restaurant, even if some of our group thought the portions of the menu degustation were too small. I was particularly enthousiastic about the spa: staff is superfriendly and the facilities are great. Rooms are beautiful and quiet, breakfast is perfect. The second time we booked a room we went there to eat at la botte, so we didn t book a package deal, but a room at the price of 100€(price mentioned on the phone). We, again, stayed half a day at the spa and spa + room is a package deal at carbon. I was quite dissappointed when we were presented the bill: not only did we have to pay full price for all the services instead of offering us the package rate, but the room was also more expensive. Carbon is a good hotel to stay at, i would recommend eating at la botte and not at the hotel restaurant and to book your package deal online so that you can benefit from their excellent price quality relation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for placing a review on Trip Advisor following your stay. We were pleased to read you had a nice stay in our hotel, enjoyed our wellness facilities and appreciated your dinner in La Botte.

We are sorry to hear about the issues with your payment. We will try to prevent this from happening in the future.

With Different regards
The Different-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarschot, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at the Carbon Hotel overnight as I was having diner at La Botte. And I knew there was a lot of wine involved and didn't want to drive home. Booked a wellness package as I wanted to check out the facilities at the hotel. The downside about the wellness is that it is open to the general public too, which results in a pretty crowded wellness during the afternoon. I wouldn't open it to public not staying at the hotel but that's a choice the managment makes of course.It did result in a lack of towels and made it crowded and not that relaxing at all. Other downside is that you can only use them for 3 hours. Normal for general public but as a guest it would be nice to just have a day access. The timelimit makes no sense to me honestly. An hotelguest should have a bit of privilege no? But apart from that facilities are fine. On to the room. Well rooms are large with high ceiling. Furniture is modern but it starting to wear out which you see a lot at design hotels. When taking a closer at the details I do have to point out that hygiene and cleaning could be a lot better. Dust clothes start to build up behind the wall and on the decorative lighting everywhere. Also the wallpaper was starting to show the marks of past guests banging stuff against the wall. Some more details when you look closely but not worth mentioning here. The bathroom is pretty spacious and clean. No remarks there. Wifi was fine no problems there. The BOSE-speakers were a pleasant extra.
Conclusion, nice wellness but too crowded and strange timelimitation for hotelguests. Good looking rooms but starting to show the toll of heavy usage. If this keeps on going at this pace refurbishment is very needed soon. Price/Value is ok.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us earlier this month. Your remarks are very valuable to us and we will work on them as we try to improve the experience for our guests on a daily basis.

We do look forward to welcoming you again soon.
With Different regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels

Address: Europalaan 38, Genk 3600, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Genk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Genk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare yourself for the 'Carbon wellness experience'Ideally locatedStill want to venture out beyond our luxury design world? Then there is good news! Even beyond our hotel walls, Genk is very pleasant. You can stroll in the brand new Stadsplein in the lively town centre. The shops, C-Mine, the Hoge Kempen National Park, golf courses, everything is nearby.Wellness at the highest levelCarbon Sense, a wellness centre of 700 m², on the top floor. Soothing treatments, massages and other relaxation therapies will ease away all your everyday worries.Top cuisine, wines of the worldGourmets will find what they are looking for at Gusto. Combine the tastiest dishes with the wine bar's vast selection of wines from all over the world. And we will gladly serve wine by the glass; So you can explore the world in a single evening.Maximum comfortPark your car easily in the Q-Park underneath Stadsplein, with direct access to the hotel. Reception is open 24 hours a day. The hotel is completely non-smoking, and has air conditioning. Pets are allowed on request.Carbon hotel is managed by Different Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carbon Hotel Genk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.