We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the years this hotel became our regular week-end retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stiemerheide

Save Saved
You added Hotel Stiemerheide to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Stiemerheide
Wiemesmeerstraat 105, Genk 3600, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Genk
Leuven
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Over the years this hotel became our regular week-end retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

In a nice location, adjacent to a golf course and forests, this hotel became our retreat for a relax week-end 4 to 5 times a year. Even thou we are not golfers, we like the very friendly atmosphere, the good service, the excellent indoor swimming pool, the little sauna, and the choice of restaurants (3 places in 3 price categories, all very good price/quality). Look for special promotion prices which the hotel regularly offers, and you will have excellent value.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor garden-side rooms (East oriented) have the best vieuw on to the garden and golfcourse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    41
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
40
Solo
0
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I had A very pleasant 2 night stay at the hotel. I didn't play golf but did use the pool and had breakfast and dinner at the hotel. I stayed in room 123 which was a junior suite downstairs from the reception. The room was a good size, clean and the bed very comfortable. However the safe and the coffee machine did not work. Both nights I had dinner in the more informal bar area. The menu had a good variety of meals which were fairly simple but well prepared with decent portions. On the second night I had steak with a mushroom sauce however the steak was a bit tough. My colleagues enjoyed their meals. Staff were very attentive. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and both mornings there was a good selection for breakfast including fruit, yoghurt, meats, breads and cooked items. there was also a good selection of juices and cereals. The pancakes were particularly good. Oddly for a hotel in Europe, the coffee was terrible. On the second day I used the swimming pool which I guess is a little under 20 metres long. I was the only person there and it was great. The water was clear and a comfortable temperature. I would stay at the hotel again if I was visiting the area again on business but would hope they would have fixed a few things.

Room Tip: The suites are a good size. My colleagues did think their rooms which were not suites were small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is an interesting hotel, catering as far as I could see almost exclusively for golfers. And particularly golfers who enjoyed cigars, and by the sounds of things golfers that have escaped their wives and like drinking in the bar until late. No need to be concerned-everyone was quite orderly and polite, but this is definitely a themed hotel as are the hotels in a slightly different way in disneyland. The website describes the hotel as styled like an English country cottage-if it is, then it isn't like many I have seen-but the architecture is unusual and not unpleasant at all, just don't expect a thatched cottage with low beams and a roaring fire. But back to my central theme, this place caters for the committed golfer, and not very much else though I believe there is a good pool. So, if you are not a golfer, you may feel slightly out of sorts amongst the trolleys and middle aged gentlemen (there weren't many ladies) proudly bedecked in what must be the new season's golfing outfits. Never mind, the rooms were small but clean and functional though. Room service was quick and efficient, and breakfast was excellent. All in all, an idyllic location-particularly if you like golf. An unusual choice if you don't. But perhaps it shouldn't put you off...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Got there on a work meeting with colleagues and was not impressed. At first sight all looks fantastic but then you get slowly by slowly unhappy.
Take the rooms for instance: they are lit by a multitude of light sources, all dispensing glaring and spectral white rays which gave me a headache. The rooms thelselves are small and ok, with the ensuite bathroom with tub. But somehow the soundproofing is bad, so you hear the phonecalls for the neighbour or the laughing of the latecoming guests in the gangway. On my first night I barely slept, as there were many loud latecomers and early risers on my floor.
The food is very good looking but after testing appears to be so-so only, and you better don't be hungry, because the plates are made for models on a diet!
The service is good with very kind employees giving you all the help you may need.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel to stay for a short trip.
Ideal if you like golf or want to go shopping in Genk.
Swimming pool and sauna are free for the hotel guests.
Breakfast is a bit more limited than in some other hotels but contains all the essentials (eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, fruit, pancakes, ...).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

From the outside the hotel looks very nice and the nature around is awesome.
There is also a sauna and a very nice swimming pool,
BUT the rooms are very small, especially the bathroom and not easy accessible for older people.
The breakfast was very good, the dinner not very special.
Four stars? Rather 3,5 stars

Room Tip: We had room 117, ask if they have bigger rooms, especially the bathroom, but I think all the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I arrange the hotel for one night stay. Did not have any problem at all everything was smooth. The only problem we had , there was a company in that night had a meeting or somekind of fair and this company already booked all the places in the hotel. Bar , restaurant everything was totally booked. So we could not enjoy the restaurant or bar in the hotel.

One more complain from my side ; mini bar was empty and there should be a complimentary water in the room which my collegue has but I dont.

Room Tip: Room numbers starting with 01 has a building view , this hotel is a golf hotel so if you are asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Stiemerheide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stiemerheide

Address: Wiemesmeerstraat 105, Genk 3600, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Genk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Genk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Stiemerheide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stiemerheide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.