We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel but poor sleep quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ECU - Different Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel ECU - Different Hotels to your Saves list
Hotel ECU - Different Hotels
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europalaan 46, Genk 3600, Belgium (Formerly Hampshire Hotel - ECU Genk )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Genk
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“good hotel but poor sleep quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The hotel has an excellent location, close to the city center and the railway station. Staff was really friendly and helpful. We checked into a deluxe room which had both a bath and a shower. The rooms are also a little larger than the standard ones but they're not that big actually.

Wireless internet is free of charge and was offered to us together with the room keys, no need to ask.

After all this we were really looking forward to our stay at ECU Genk, but the beds were terrible, there was a lot of light coming in from the street lights and the heating made a terrible loud noise every now and then. This was really disappointing as the rooms don't come very cheap.

I hate to say this, but I would recommend the carbon hotel instead.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    42
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
38
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I was on a conference in Genk and stayed in ECU Hotel for two nights.
I had a single room with a rainshower. The room was nicely furnished (white with blue and black elements). Beds were very comfortable (not too soft, not too hard). Staff was very helpful - I couldn't find the building where the conference was taking place and the lady at the reception helped me. And the good thing is that the hotel is located in the city centre so I didn't have to run for the conference. Also, what was important for me, as I was working, was the WiFi.

I really recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ealing
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

The hotel has an excellent location - 3 minute walk from the railway station and very short walk into the centre of town. Check in was quick & simple. Room was clean and stylish - we went for a deluxe room - not sure what made it deluxe really but it was nice. It had flat screen TV, mini bar and a good size bathroom. The bathroom was clean and decent but not as stylish as the rooms. Pet hate - nowhere to put shampoo/shower gel etc in the shower itself. Also very thin towels.
We did not have the breakfast as we thought 15 euros for a continental breakfast was very expensive - lots of cafe's etc very close by you can have breakfast.
There is free wi-fi but the details are not in the room so make sure you ask at reception.
The staff are friendly & helpful

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night only (went to see soccer game in Genk), so this review is a little limited...
The staff was very kind.
Rooms are refurbished and well designed. No bath, but the shower is great.
Wireless Internet is free of charge (!!), you just need to ask for a code in the reception.
Good location in the city center and a few minutes’ walk from the Train station.
The elevator is a little small, but this is the only disadvantage I founded.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

My wife and i stayed at the Hampshire Inn for a night. Nice hotel very clean, breakfast was seeming very good ( but we did not have). The location is great and you can walk from central station around 15 minutes. Staff couldnt do enough for you, were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very cleand and comfortable. Good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maroc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

I have discovered this hotel in internet , I have stayed many times , its great one , service is very good and the staff of the hotel is so helpfull.

Its well located , near the train station and shopping center .

Im really satisfied.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

This hotel was great. We came in on train from Paris to visit family. The train station was walking distance to the Hotel, yet we did not have any train noise. The staff was very friendly and was even able to help translate with our family that couldn't speak English. We felt very safe here and the breakfast was great.
Thanks for a great stay ECU!

  • Liked — The modern decor and friendly service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ECU - Different Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ECU - Different Hotels

Address: Europalaan 46, Genk 3600, Belgium (Formerly Hampshire Hotel - ECU Genk )
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Genk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Genk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ECU - Different Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy and welcoming three-star city hotel with breakfastEverywhere is nearbyThe three-star ECU hotel is situated in the centre of Genk with its shopping streets, shopping centres and railway station within walking distance. Via the arterial road, you can soon be in C-Mine with its Euroscope, restaurants, arts and design centre. The Hoge Kempen National Park is not far away either. Explore Flanders' only national park via the marked routes of the unique Limburg cycle route network. Don't feel like going out? In the private sauna, you can leave all your cares and stress behind.ComfortECU has a 24-hour reception and a private car park. You have free wireless Internet and air-conditioning throughout the hotel. The hotel is a completely non-smoking area. The reception, lounge bar and breakfast room also have air conditioning. Pets are not allowed.The ECU hotel is managed by Different Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel ECU - Different Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Ecu Genk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ECU - Different Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.