We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of M Hotel - Different Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added M Hotel - Different Hotels to your Saves list
M Hotel - Different Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Remansstraat 1, Genk 3600, Belgium (Formerly NH Molenvijver Genk)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Genk
Certificate of Excellence
RCGenk
Level Contributor
141 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Despite the somewhat negative reviews here, I had a very good stay. Price/quality I would say this was very good. Couple of pros:

Free high-speed, stable internet (important for me). Good service at the bar and front desk. The lady at the front desk (Nadia, I believe her name is) was quite helpful and very friendly. The service in the bar can indeed be slow at times but from their viewpoint, I can understand why they don't put a second guy in the main lobby bar. Half of the time nobody is there. So, I don't mind getting up and walking 15 steps to go ask for a beer. But ... that's me. Beer was served with a smile (and quite cold). No complaints there :)

Rooms are large and have all necessary comfort. Location is great; right next to the park with a nice lake. The hotel is also situated right in the city center, close to everything. The fact that Genk is a small city is not the hotel's fault but there are some alternative dinner options if you don't arrive too late. I did take breakfast in the hotel and I enjoyed that very much (good selection and fresh things to choose from).

Couple of cons:

Bathrooms are outdated and I'm not a fan of the show in the bathtub concept [with a curtain that constantly tries to hug you]. I also did see the carpets being dirty in places, so that is certainly an area with room for improvement. I'm actually also not a fan of carpets in hotels [overall] since even when they look clean, they are dirty regardless.

The beds have an average comfort (not bad, not great) and parking is also a bit limited but that didn't personally affect me. I can see this being an issue however.

Overall, I always look at what I'm getting for my money. In this case, I had a very good experience and I would certainly stay here again in the future. If anything changes down the road, I'll update my viewpoint.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at M Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear,

Thanks for publishing your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay! We'll work on those couple of cons you point out. This way we can guarantee all of our guests a Different stay.

We hope to see you again soon at Different Hotels!

With Different Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    61
    17
    13
    3
See reviews for
16
46
4
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brixham
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The carpets in the hallway in this hotel were absolutely filthy and heavily stained. Everywhere throughout the building looked tired and I think it must be time for a complete refurbishment. We ate in their bistro style restaurant, it was very expensive and I didn't enjoy the pasta meal I had at all. Staff had a couldn't care less attitude about them and I found their manner brusque. Would not stay here again and that's the first time I've ever put that in a review.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at M Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced in our restaurant. We would like to sincerely apologize for the trouble you had to go through.

Once our hotels is fully refurbished we hope you will give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

With Different regards
The Different-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Hotel looks tired, lots of items broken or not working, cracked tiles etc. Service slow at bar as only one person on duty and doing two bars and it seems looking after restaurant. Did not eat in but some of our group thought food was not very good. Hotel air con was not good, all pervading smell of cigarette smoke everywhere, very stuffy rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at M Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced in our restaurant. We truly value such comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay.

Once our hotels is fully refurbished we hope you will give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

With Different regards
The Different-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The lobby looks good at a first glance, but soon you notice some items, like a very ugly fish tank, that ruin the entire atmosphere.
There is no staff at front desk, we waited up to 20 minutes before someone showed up and acted like there was nothing going on.
When you call the hotel while waiting, you get a busy signal or a not-connected signal.
Only one of the 2 elevators works.
The rooms are clean, but poorly finnished. It looks very very very cheap.
The bathrooms were clean, but old (80ies?) and boring.
The minibar is a cupboard with non-chilled soft drinks.
There is a restaurant that serves a very expensive dinner, we didn't bother to give breakfast (16 EUR/person) a try.
The bed was ok, the pillows were good, and we did however manage to get a good night's sleep. But I won't be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at M Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our our hotel.

We are so sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience at our front desk. We would like to sincerely apologize for the trouble you had to go through.

We truly value your comments about the room and the atmosphere as this gives us the opportunity to improve our offer. Once our hotels is fully refurbished we hope you will give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

With Different regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We visited the biennial art exhibition Manifesta in Genk and spent two nights in this delightful hotel. The company only acquired this hotel in January 2012 and are in the process of upgrading it. Public rooms are finished, and are tastefully modern and comfortable. They are in the process of refurbishing the bedrooms. Ours had apparently not yet been done, but nonetheless it was spacious and comfortable. Tea and coffee-making in the room, a safe, a fridge (with plenty of room for our own drinks), very comfortable beds, and a view over the park and lake. There's a large terrace at the back of the hotel, that opens onto the park, where you can eat - and the food is excellent, both in quality and value. The staff were all friendly and helpful - we had bought several cases of champagne in France and didn't want to leave it in the car, so they stored it in a locked room by the reception and helped us reload it when we left. The only possible drawback - that we didn't suffer - was that the front of the hotel is on a main road facing a rather run-down shopping centre, and could perhaps be noisy, so try to get a room at the back.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room at the back overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at M Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay at M hotel! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I hope you were able to enjoy Manifesta. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Genk!

With Different Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had a wedding near Genk, and due to an overbooking elsewhere, we were relocated to M Hotel. The lobby is very nice and the reception very friendly, but our room was pretty old-fashioned. Very good breakfast.

Room Tip: Parking in front of the hotel is too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at M Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff was helpful.

We were very pleased to have you as our guest and we hope you will give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is once our hotel is fully refurbished.

With Different regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beringen, Belgium
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Hotel is ok but not great and located at the city center, shops at walkingdistance. It needs a thorough refurbishment and quick because it's really outdated. The lobby and common areas are already done so if you enter all looks ok, so you will get disapointed when entering your room, but all is clean and the room is very spacious though. Waiters at the hotel restaurant are not noticing people wanting to order drinks so that's a minus. There is really less parkingspace at the hotel itself and also not possible to make a reservation here. Upon check-out we where wrongly charged a very high restaurant bill though we didn't had dinner locally, we had to wait at the front desk for them to sort this out although we had nothing to do with it. Person there was not very efficient and professional.

Room Tip: Wait till the hotel is refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at M Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

<br><br>Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during check-out and in our restaurant. We truly value such comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay. <br><br>Once our hotels is fully refurbished we hope you will give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is. <br><br>
With Different regards<br>
The Different-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genk
0.4 mi away
Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel ECU - Different Hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Stiemerheide
Hotel Stiemerheide
#3 of 12 in Genk
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Mardaga
Hotel Mardaga
#1 of 1 in As
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantis - Different Hotels
8.6 mi away
Eurotel Lanaken
Eurotel Lanaken
#3 of 4 in Lanaken
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Hotel - Different Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Hotel - Different Hotels

Address: Albert Remansstraat 1, Genk 3600, Belgium (Formerly NH Molenvijver Genk)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Genk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Genk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — M Hotel - Different Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre M Hotel is located at the edge of the Molenvijverpark: right in the middle between this magnificent park and Genk's lively city centre.Comfort for every oneThe M Hotel has 83 comfortable rooms, all equipped with free wireless internet. Business guests can work as if they’re in their office and relax as if they're at home.A home away form homeIn the restaurant you can dine out, enjoy a business lunch or have a small snack. After that you can move to our sun terrace, with a view of the Molenvijver, or you can go to the bar.Top-level comfortFor only €5 per night you can park your car in the hotel’s private parking. The central station is within walking distance. There is free WIFI in the entire hotel. During the summer months you can enjoy our nice terrace with a view.M Hotel is managed by Different Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your M Hotel - Different Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Genk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M Hotel - Different Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.