We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Niederreiter Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Niederreiter Hotel to your Saves list
Niederreiter Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Oberdorf 6, Maria Alm A-5761, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 35 Maria Alm B&B and Inns
Spalding, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A relaxing time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The staff were very helpful and Herr Niederreiter was good at explaining the menu and other things that we had problems with due to our lack of good German! We enjoyed the tasty cakes and there was an execellent choice. The meals were well presented and wholesome to keep you going through the day while walking. The gondola next to the hotel was useful as was the free pass for transport. We enjoyed our second visit there and would like to think we were able to visit the delightful country side again. Thank you for an excellent time in your lovely country.

Room Tip: the front rooms have good balconies and overlook the back of the church and the gondolas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Superb, quiet location on the edge of the main part of the village, next to the gondola. Great views from the balcony. Comfortable and spacious room. Plenty of wholesome food, well-presented. Very friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful walking country. Excellent holiday. Grateful thanks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Niederreiter Hotel is in the center of Maria Alm and very well located for skiing. The main chair lift for the resort is just up a very teeny, tiny hill.

It’s a big hotel which was always very clean throughout our stay. The staff were superbly friendly and work extremely hard. Our room was ready when we checked in so we went straight up to a large room with ensuite and balcony. I think the rooms must also be well sound proofed as we never heard a peep from our neighbours. Like the review below, there is lots of storage space which is really handy for all the ski kit! There is also free usage of the ski/boot room.

We made use of the spa facilities every night, lots of seating, a wonderful Jacuzzi to ease the achey legs plus a steam room and sauna room with hot and cold power showers.

My partner was poorly whilst we were away and the hotel kindly organised a doctor to come out as well as a taxi to the pharmacy (there isn’t one in Maria Alm).

The food in the hotel was interesting but if you’re not fussy then you won’t go hungry. Every night you can use the salad buffet, then there is soup and a choice of 3 main courses (which you order at breakfast time) and then desert. Sometimes there were weird combinations of food for the main courses but it was all nicely cooked and presented. Our only gripe was the dinner times, it tended to finish quite early in comparisson to previous ski hotels we've stayed in Austria!
Breakfast is great, lots of fresh fruit, breads, cheese, meat, cereal, youghurts - you name it it's all laid out for you! Lunch at the hotel is also very tasty and reasonable!!

All in all it's a great hotel, in a perfect location. If we were to go back to Maria Alm we'd definitely stay at the Niederreiter again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Clean and well presented hotel. Food could have been better but have never seen an Austrian restaurant outside Austria and now know why!
Good size bedroom with plenty of storage and balcony. Small bathroom with powerful shower. Sauna (au naturelle), jaccuzzi and steam room all clean and well maintained.
Ski lifts are just outside front door taking you to the local ski area and connecting to the Alberg ski area which offers some 200km of good intermediate skiing. The only problem is that the wider area is not fully connected to Maria Alm so although you can join from the local lifts you have to get the ski bus back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

The Niederreiter hotel hasan excellent location in Maria Alm, right next to the main lift and ski school meeting points, and next to the ski bus stop to access the larger Aberg ski area.
The accommodation is clean and well-kept, though the decor does feel quite dated and our room had a lingering smokiness. The half board food is reliable rather then exciting, with two choices of main plus a vegetarian option. The dining area for residents is large and hall-like, which does spoil the evening ambience a little. Added to this the bar is closed by about 9.30 pm, so there is little opportunity for evening socialising here. By contrast during the day the cafe and restaurant are busy with recovering skiers!
The jacuzzi pool and sauna are modern and clean, but far too small for this size of hotel so you have to be lucky to get in!
Recommended if you are on a budget!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Quay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Stayed over new year with son . Brilliant location, centre of everything,front door of hotel only yards from village gondola and ski school behind hotel.Ski hire shop in front of hotel as well as the ski bus which takes you to aberg . Aberg is then linked to Mulbach to cover about 150km of ski area . I would say the area is best suited to very good beginner to intermediate skiier with a couple of nice blacks thown in . Hotel rooms are very good,towels changed every day and beds made up.Staff are very friendly and helpful,food is different each evening and you are given a choice of what to have for the evening meal at breakfast each day.Hotel has a very nice spa area with sauna ,heated seat cabin and relaxing chairs. Also a very nice cafe/lounge which serves tea, coffee cakes,etc.Thouroughly recommended

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

stayed in this hotel for 5 nights September 2010. It has a good location in the village right next to one of the Gondolas, we were given a free pass for the gondola for our stay, so made good use of it. The rooms were large, well heated and very clean. The food was average, plenty to eat, but lots of meat and potatoes, not much fruit and veg. The hotel has a spa area with whirlpool , steam room and sauna which was free to use and a very small outdoor pool/pond which was closed at the time of our stay.
The area is great for walking, the scenery is breathtaking and we had a comfortable stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Niederreiter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niederreiter Hotel

Address: Oberdorf 6, Maria Alm A-5761, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Maria Alm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Maria Alm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Niederreiter Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get immersed in the traditionally cosy atmosphere of our hotel, which you find directly in the heart of the holiday village Maria Alm.In our family enterprise we set great store by hospitality and individual service. Simply feel good, enjoy the hospitality of our staff and the locals and spend some relaxing and exciting holidays at our place.In addition to the comfort and the ideal location of the hotel, our personal commitment and the well-known cooking are contributing to an unforgettable stay at Hotel Niederreiter.The holiday action starts right in front of the hotel entrance: In summer, hiking and mountain bike trails invite you to discover the beautiful landscape. The perhaps most beautiful golf course in the Alps is reachable within 3 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Niederreiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Niederreiter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.