We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest discovery on our "Plitivce area" Tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barac Caves

Barac Caves
Nova Krslja Bb | Rakovica, Nova Krslja, Plitvice Lakes National Park 47245 , Croatia
47 782 007
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Attraction details
Dubrovnik
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Biggest discovery on our "Plitivce area" Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We heard (by concidence) about this sight on an online forum and decided to visit due to great reviews. Given it was the end of September, we were lucky to have a guide just for ouserveles, which was great. Although we went to the caves after the half-day visit to the Plitvice Lakes, I believe it was worth the effort and time. As far as the tickets go, the tour was some 6-7 € per person, but it is still value for money and in line with similar attractions in Europe.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friedrichshafen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went there on a whim after a tour of the lakes. Since it was out of the season we were only 4 people + guide.
The guide was good, the cave interesting to look at. If you want information on Karst and a first hand look at what water can do inside stone the cave is a good destination. It is not a "WOW" tour with loads of displays.
We saw bats, the obvious gelogical formations, cave crickets, cave spiders, cave butterflies. It is very advisable to wear long trousers, sturdy shoes and at least a sweater, since it is only 9°C in the cave, regardless of the outside temperature.
Our guide was very nice and explained well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“65 million old cave system”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The cave system here is 65 million years old, which makes it pretty interesting by itself. You have to hire a guide and go to the cave with the group (60 KN/person). The tour itself is pretty short - maybe 30min, and the cave isn't that big, but formations and the cave's climate are pretty impressive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This really is worth the effort and energy needed to see these wonderful sights. When I was there (in august) there were long queues for the boats, so some patience is needed, Be prepared for a very long day as there is so much to take in,

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worth while side trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

As we were not walking the Plitvice Lakes until the next morning we added this interesting side trip into our day. Do remember to park your vehicle in the designated carpark at the top of the hill
:-) the park rangers will give you a stern telling off otherwise (was all quite humorous and in good nature) There are three caves at the location but only one with access to public visits. The trip took approx an hour, it is very chilly inside (take a jacket even in summer) our guide spoke very good English and gave us an excellent commentary on the interesting history of the caves plus some general information about Croatia's cave system. It is about a 20minute trip off the main road, watch carefully for the signs. If you have time, it's an interesting venture

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barac Caves also viewed

Plitvice Lakes National Park, Central Croatia
Plitvice Lakes National Park, Central Croatia
 
Rakovica, Plitvice Lakes National Park
Plitvice Lakes National Park, Central Croatia
 

Been to Barac Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barac Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.