We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic New Brunswick attraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Landing Historical Settlement

Kings Landing Historical Settlement
20 Kings Landing Rd | Kings Landing, Lower Prince William, New Brunswick E6K 3W3 , Canada
506-363-4999
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic village is a living museum that celebrates immigration to Canada by refugees from the American Revolution and Ireland.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
124 attraction reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
“Fantastic New Brunswick attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I visited Kings landing as part of a tour of New Brunswick a couple of weeks ago and was impressed at how well laid out the site is. It is a recreation of life in NB in the 1800's and many of the buildings were taken down from their original locations and re erected here stone by stone.The site is filled with people dressed in period costumes playing different roles. The horse and cart ride through the site was a good way of getting an overview of the attraction and it dropped us at the general store from where we could wander around the farm etc. The ladies in the houses were doing everything from baking gingerbread to spinning wool and talked us through all of the processes involved. The visitor centre was informative and had a good gift shop full of things produced on site as well as a treasure trove of other items. I wish we had longer to visit as if you took a picnic you could easily spend a whole day here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    28
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Kings Landing has been a favourite NB attraction for generations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have been visiting Kings Landing Historical Settlement since I was a little girl. I even went to their summer camp, Visiting Cousins twice when I was a child. It's a fantastic complete real village set in the 19th century over many acres of land with a river in between. The volunteers are amazing, dressing in period costume and acting out their parts according to the houses they "live" in. There is so much for children to do here from learning how to hook a rug, spin wool, taste goodies cooked in an open fire or wood stove, ride on the horse drawn wagon and try on period clothing. It's so much fun! The restaurant, The Kings Head Inn, serves the most delicious homemade turkey supper, brown bread and gingerbread you'll ever taste! We have been going back for years and it never loses its appeal. The food is pricey but admission to the park is cheap and it's worth it! The only thing that makes me sad is that visitors seem to be dying down so get your self on over there and support it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Go back into the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Kings Landing Historical Settlement was easy to find. Restaurant located at the same exit. The place was very nice and interesting. When you first arrive you go into a typical gift shop with some antique furniture from that period (1840) on display. When you leave the gift area you step back in time. Everyone is dressed for that period. The settlement is laid out as it would have been in the 1840's. The buildings are exact replicas. The working farm is done as it was then with horses or cattle. The people as I said were dressed for the period and were doing things as they would have been done. Wood stove cooking,sewing, weaving etc. The blacksmith working with a furnace of the period. trip. Our grandson really enjoyed it as did the wife and I. It involves some walking but do not fret. There are wagons being pulled by horses that will stop if you will wave your hand and give you a ride to the next sight or back to the gift shop. All and all it was a great outing well worth the time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Words can't describe how great this place is!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We heard about King's Landing two years ago while vacationing in Florida. We finally had a chance to visit and were not disappointed. We've been to several living history attractions including Jamestown. This is by far the best. You truly feel like you are immersed in the day to day living of this small community. The staff was fantastic. Many staying in character while they interacted with us and the other staff. Our kids loved the hands on activities, feeding the cows, quilting, spinning wool and so much more.

Our 7 and 11 year old daughters enjoyed this the most of our entire trip. Before we went on our trip the 11 year old said that she would be bored. Before our trip ended she wanted to go back through Fredericton and visit Kings Landing again. We've decided that a visit here will be an annual event for our family and worth the 4 hour drive.

Their website does not show how great this place is!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Experience the late 1800s”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Hadn't been to King's Landing in almost 30 years but recently went with my brother and his family. We spent all day there as there was so much to see and do. The re-enactors were fantastic -- stayed in character and even had my niece deliver letters to other families in the "village" and return tin cups to other locations on the site! We participated in the "dance" they had in the theatre and even went to school taught by "Miss Patience Little". Also can't forget lunch at the King's Head Inn. Still dreaming about the Brown Bread they serve...... A great place to take the kids and get a glimpse of how things might have been back then. The location itself is also very scenic and picturesque. Not to be missed if you are in the Fredericton area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Landing Historical Settlement also viewed

Hartland, New Brunswick
Campobello Island, New Brunswick
 
Lower Prince William, New Brunswick
Grand Falls, New Brunswick
 

Been to Kings Landing Historical Settlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Landing Historical Settlement, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.