We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sullivan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Shoreham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sullivan House
Save
You added The Sullivan House to your Saves list
Corn Neck Road, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 New Shoreham B&B and Inns
Scotia, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I had read the previous poor reviews...and was more than a little skeptical. I was soooo pleased. The views were amazing. As for the accommodations, much better than the reviews below stated...the rooms arent a modern "Hilton hotel", however the home was built in the early 1900's...beautiful. I will be having my wedding there in August! Very excited.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Told about the Sullivan House by a friend and loved it. Rooms were clean with great views in all directions. Could walk to beach in about 2 minutes. No better place for sunset!

Room Tip: go for great salt pond views - unique to BI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had the misfortune to book our stay the same time as a wedding. We couldn't stay at the Sullivan House so opted for the GMB Suite. Were given practically no information... for example didn't realize taxis could take us right to GMB door but were dropped at TSH... had a terrible time finding our way one night in the dark. Nearly fell in a big puddle up by the House and no light on the GMB. Finally someone in the other half of the house turned on their light... Also were told 'no breakfast, that's only for the guests in the Sullivan House.' We had fridge/coffee maker and microwave but no advance knowledge so no supplies (except bag of coffee/cream/sugar). Never met our hostess, very pleasant housekeeper though, who showed us that bath hot water was shut off with shutoff valve because it leaked so badly. Wonderful fireworks after the wedding, compliments of the bride however, not The Sullivan House.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We rented the entire sullivan house (6 rooms) for family & guests for two days. The wedding was held outside in a tent. It was really a great way to stay close to the wedding.

Room Tip: Room 7 is best, followed by 5 ,1, & 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We planned a last minute trip, and Chamber of Commerce suggested Sullivan House bc they had a room available...There is a good reason why. The dark, dreary and moldy house was a health hazard. My allergies were so bad after sleeping there we had to leave a day early! No ac, was a bit of problem except at midnight when we did get the breezes. The room was completely paneled all over. We felt like we were sleeping in a coffin. The carpet was so old and dirty, I refused to walk barefoot. Breakfast? Gone by 9:30, not even a cup of coffee. There was no one around to ask for more. And what ever was served remained in the hot dining room until 4 pm on the table! Tv didn't work. Did I mention the incredible views????

Room Tip: avoid staying at inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

My husband and I are easy to please. Friends stayed at The Sullivan House several years ago and insisted we stay there for our honeymoon. The views and the porch were beautiful. We enjoyed our time relaxing on the porch and were pleased with the privacy of the inn. We were greeted on the evening of our arrival with a note. A friend called the inn to see if they could send a bottle of wine or something to our room and were told they didn't provide that service. The honeymoon suite bathroom is in poor condition with water damaged floors and rusty pipes exposed under the sink. We did enjoy the jacuzzi tub. The noise from the harbor was especially disruptive on the evening of July 4th. The breakfast was sub par and the same choices were offered each day. (we stayed for 4)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

My friend and I visited Block island last month and were quite disappointed in our room because it was not clean, the bathroom vinyl floor was coming up, and the rug had many stains, and was very dirty; the lighting in our room was so poor we could not read. Also, we only saw the innkeepers the first day we arrived. After that we were on our own. The weather was very hot and we had a very small fan which was completely inadequate. The gardens around the house needed attention. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Shoreham
0.7 mi away
National Hotel
National Hotel
#1 of 5 in New Shoreham
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spring House Hotel
Spring House Hotel
#2 of 5 in New Shoreham
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surf Hotel Block Island
Surf Hotel Block Island
#4 of 5 in New Shoreham
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses
The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses
#5 of 29 in New Shoreham
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Old Harbor
The Inn at Old Harbor
#6 of 29 in New Shoreham
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avonlea, Jewel of the Sea
Avonlea, Jewel of the Sea
#2 of 29 in New Shoreham
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sullivan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sullivan House

Address: Corn Neck Road, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island > New Shoreham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in New Shoreham
Also Known As:
The Sullivan House Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sullivan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.