We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great wedding location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The 1661 Inn

The 1661 Inn
5 Spring St, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807
(401) 466-2421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 53 Restaurants in New Shoreham
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great wedding location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

the backdrop provided by the view from the back lawn is spectacular! just a great place for a party of any kind

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    9
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We asked a local where a good place to have breakfast would be on the Island they said this was good because it was a buffet so we thought that sounds great. We ventured over and went inside and they asked us our room number and we said we weren't staying there and we just got a look from the host or server we were not quite sure who the person was. We were seated and asked if we wanted coffee and then we just decided to get our meal nobody said help yourself or anything. The selection was ok but they had baked beans for the buffet which was surprising never saw that I on a breakfast buffet and a whole fish also which I thought was gross! The food was barely warm. I had an omelette made to order which was good. I just didnt find it inviting and the next day we went to Ernies for breakfast and food was great service friendly ! The bill was $40 for 2 for that food it wasnt worth it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

a wonderful assortment of breakfast foods,fruits and beverages with a beautiful view and a very attentive staff!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Breakfast buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Well worth it, but bring a big appetite. Omelette made anyway you wish, fruits, eggs, pancakes, smoked bluefish and much more.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiverton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

From every room the view is amazing. It is a quiet location away from the crowds but close enough to walk to the beach.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 1661 Inn also viewed

New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 
New Shoreham, Block Island
 

Been to The 1661 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1661 Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.