We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS is the best food on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses

1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses
5 Spring Street, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807
(800) 626-4773
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 53 Restaurants in New Shoreham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Cheshire, CT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“THIS is the best food on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Top quality meal, very good service. I had the monkfish, my wife the risotto. Both were outstanding. Beautiful setting outside on the patio. Service was competent and attentive but not outstanding. There are a handful of good restaurants on Block, and a small handful of good dinner places, but the Manisses has separated itself from the pack.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    33
    11
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible hospitality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went there for special occasion upon a recommendation and was completely disappointed. The food was very good, but the service was some of the worst. The bus girl was more attentive and helpful than our waitress. The host went to every table, but ours to ask how everything was....twice. This occurred 4 years ago after our wedding and it still gets me today. On a side note, go upstairs to the hotel and enjoy some of their flaming coffees. Coffees are great and and service was awesome.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lobster risotto is phenomenal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We spent a few days mini-honeymooning on Block Island in June of 2010 and enjoyed dinner here 2 out of our 3 nights. Everything about the experience was wonderful, including the service, food and ambience! The huge chunks of lobster in our mashed potatoes and risotto make me long for another trip to Hotel Manisses/Block Island. We get slivers of lobster in similar attempts of such dishes here in Philly. The flaming coffee in the parlor is fun, too, and a must try!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Rockville, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have eaten in the Manisses many times this past summer. Their food is gourmet, very tasteful and presented beautifully. The wait staff, hostess -Robin and bartenders Jerry and Robbie are very accommodating and friendly. Flaming coffees in the parlor are a must presented by Anthony. Very enjoyable experience due to the on site attention by the Draper family.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Was not impressed with my dish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

While there was nothing wrong with my dish, Asian Slaw, there was nothing special about it and for the price I expected to be impressed. It was mostly cabbage and lacked richness in flavor. However, it's a real cozy atmosphere and the service was excellent. Perhaps other dishes are more impressive in flavor. The olive spread, by the way, was awesome. I would return here again and try a different dish for another chance.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses also viewed

New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 
New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 

Been to 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.