We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster risotto is phenomenal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1661 Inn Restaurant

1661 Inn Restaurant
5 Spring Street, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807
18006264773
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 52 Restaurants in New Shoreham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Memorial Day through Columbus Day the 1661 Inn serves its renowned full champagne buffet breakfast each morning. The breakfast buffet features an omelet station, homemade corned beef hash, eggs, pancakes or french toast and a whole lot more! During the quieter seasons, a smaller version of our buffet is available as well. For the 2016 summer season, we will be introducing a small appetizer menu, desserts and flaming coffees at the new 1661 bar starting at 5:00pm.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lobster risotto is phenomenal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We spent a few days mini-honeymooning on Block Island in June of 2010 and enjoyed dinner here 2 out of our 3 nights. Everything about the experience was wonderful, including the service, food and ambience! The huge chunks of lobster in our mashed potatoes and risotto make me long for another trip to Hotel Manisses/Block Island. We get slivers of lobster in similar attempts of such dishes here in Philly. The flaming coffee in the parlor is fun, too, and a must try!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank newscubagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good food -Horrible Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Title says it all....food was above average but the wait staff was in the weeds....ignored us much of the evening...expect more for the reputation and cost of this place

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jameslfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Rockville, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have eaten in the Manisses many times this past summer. Their food is gourmet, very tasteful and presented beautifully. The wait staff, hostess -Robin and bartenders Jerry and Robbie are very accommodating and friendly. Flaming coffees in the parlor are a must presented by Anthony. Very enjoyable experience due to the on site attention by the Draper family.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Was not impressed with my dish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

While there was nothing wrong with my dish, Asian Slaw, there was nothing special about it and for the price I expected to be impressed. It was mostly cabbage and lacked richness in flavor. However, it's a real cozy atmosphere and the service was excellent. Perhaps other dishes are more impressive in flavor. The olive spread, by the way, was awesome. I would return here again and try a different dish for another chance.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Orcapod9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon MA, USA
Level Contributor
207 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“not a great place for vegetarians”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

we were here in october 2012. It was nice to see that each food item on the menu had small codes like (V) or (NF) for vegan or nut-free. I got the Asian Slaw. It was basically stir-fry cabbage with tofu and sesame seeds. Nothing gourmet or special about this dish.

My spouse ordered the sole dish -- full of cream and butter -- this can make anything taste good.

the most memorable thing about the food here was the olive tapenade they brought to spread on the bread.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shakespeare_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1661 Inn Restaurant also viewed

New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 
New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 

Been to 1661 Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing