We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A foodie's delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1661 Inn Restaurant

1661 Inn Restaurant
5 Spring Street, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807
18006264773
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 52 Restaurants in New Shoreham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Memorial Day through Columbus Day the 1661 Inn serves its renowned full champagne buffet breakfast each morning. The breakfast buffet features an omelet station, homemade corned beef hash, eggs, pancakes or french toast and a whole lot more! During the quieter seasons, a smaller version of our buffet is available as well. For the 2016 summer season, we will be introducing a small appetizer menu, desserts and flaming coffees at the new 1661 bar starting at 5:00pm.
maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A foodie's delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everything was wonderful and creative. Loved the scallops with turmeric. Great salads too. Romantic dining room and reasonable for food at this level.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner for a double anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We were joined by friends who were celebrating their wedding anniversary with ours. Gerry's bartending skills were perfect, as always. The scallops, salmon, and pasta with procuitto and duck were all excellent.

Helpful?
Thank WDG1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My fiancee and I treated ourselves to the restaurant at Hotel Manisses after seeing their menu in a guide to Block Island restaurants at our b&b.

We called ahead and were told that seating was first come, first served after 7p, and when we arrived around 730p we were told there was approximately an hour wait. We ordered a bottle of wine from the bar and sat at a secluded little table on their grounds. Our hostess tracked us down after only about half an hour and said a table was ready for us, which was nice.

The food here was fantastic. We ordered the pear bisque, mussels appetizer, and a cheese plate to start. We should have ended there, because the portions were quite large, particularly the cheese plate, which also included crackers and mounds of grapes and berries. We ate the cheese before our entrees and had fruit for dessert. It was really very good. My fiancee ordered filet mignon, which was very tasty, and cooked just to her specifications, and I only wanted a side of the lobster mashed potatoes, which was excellent. We left completely stuffed, and the prices were very reasonable considering the quality of the food and the portions that were served to us.

Our only criticism is that the staff didn't seem like it was quite at the same level as the food and the setting; with the exception of our hostess, who was very pleasant and efficient, the bartender and server with whom we interacted didn't seem that prepared in how to interact with customers in an elegant setting such as this one. They were definitely not rude or inappropriate, but could have been a little more personable and attentive, in my opinion.

We would definitely go back to this place, though, the next time we are on the island; we left so full that we could barely walk back to the b&b. The food was, truly, excellent, with a great atmosphere in which to enjoy it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaGondolaProv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We asked a local where a good place to have breakfast would be on the Island they said this was good because it was a buffet so we thought that sounds great. We ventured over and went inside and they asked us our room number and we said we weren't staying there and we just got a look from the host or server we were not quite sure who the person was. We were seated and asked if we wanted coffee and then we just decided to get our meal nobody said help yourself or anything. The selection was ok but they had baked beans for the buffet which was surprising never saw that I on a breakfast buffet and a whole fish also which I thought was gross! The food was barely warm. I had an omelette made to order which was good. I just didnt find it inviting and the next day we went to Ernies for breakfast and food was great service friendly ! The bill was $40 for 2 for that food it wasnt worth it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lori b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“FINE DINING IN A GREAT SETTING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We loved the relaxed atmosphere ... our meals were great ... loved the option they have of getting 1/2 a salad/ and 1/2 a dinner. The only drawback to our meal was that our server spilled some of my martini and poured wine down the side of my husband's glass. Would recommend going before sunset so you can enjoy the gardens/water fountain.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Babs0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1661 Inn Restaurant also viewed

New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 
New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 

Been to 1661 Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing