We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatly enjoyed our stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Farm Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rose Farm Inn to your Saves list
Rose Farm Inn
Roslyn Rd, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 28 New Shoreham B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greatly enjoyed our stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Spacious lawns surround the inn and bicycle shop. Deer grazed in the grass at dawn! The room's furnishings were very fine. I saw the ocean from one window and rolling fields from our balcony. We enjoyed tea from the parlor of the farm house and the breakfast and breakfast room are wonderful, with wrap around windows affording an ocean view. Inn Keeper Judith and Mona who accepted my reservation were so accommodating as were they efficient and pleasant. There is a bicycle rack outside the inn. Bicycles were our only vehicles on Block Island, so that is cool, fitting, and memorable touch!

I told a friend that this is the best or one of the best places on the island. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank always-movin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spent our first Columbus Day weekend on Block Island after having lived in New England for over 55 years! Have always wanted to visit the island and finally made our reservations at the Rose Farm Inn.

The Inn is wonderful....lots of character in the rooms and a nice breakfast thrown in. It's a short walk from the ferry (about 1/2 mile) but it is a little uphill so take some rest along the way. The folks at the inn were just wonderful and very accomodating (even provided us some wine glasses to use one night!).

I recommend this inn wholeheartedly and will stay there again next time we visit the island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here this past Saturday night and were very pleased. Judith was a great host and the rooms were pleasant. Loved the back balcony but wish they were a little more private. Jacuzzi tubs in the room was a huge bonus.

Was convenient to have the bike rental on site and the staff there was accommodating and friendly. Great bikes and all the accessories you could need.

Walked into town easily and slept well after all that walking and biking in the incredibly comfortable beds.

Only negative was breakfast is just continental. Would have been nice to have some eggs and bacon but the website does say it is only continental so no surprise.

Overall a wonderful spot, we will be visiting again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyeSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our first trip to Block Island (family of 5) and we had a great time. The RFI is located on a hill overlooking the town, so it's close but not noisy. Its right next to the Atlantic Inn so you can enjoy the bar and restaurant but not have to deal with the noise. We rode our bikes everywhere - the hill to the Inn is a little tiring but not too bad. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice and tastefully decorated. Can shower and change after checkout which makes a big difference.

The only downsides were the mattresses were a little soft, and the continental breakfast is just basic. But overall we had a great time and would definitely go back to the RFI.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in the Rose Farm Inn during our first-ever trip to Block Island in late June, 2012. We booked the trip last-minute and this was the only inn with a room available, as all of the other inns (the quiet ones, not the big rowdy ones) had weddings that weekend. My husband and I have three young children and booked a three-night getaway for the two of us to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. The Inn is situated on a beautiful, peaceful property away from the louder scene in town, but it's walking distance to town and a pretty walk (not far at all). We also rented bikes from the on-site rental shop run by the owner's son in-law, and the bikes were in better condition than any of the other bike rentals we saw on the island. If you're going to Block Island to party and stay up late talking with friends, this isn't the inn for you. You'd be better off staying at one of the bigger hotels in town. If you're looking for a quiet getaway where you won't be disturbed, and where you will hear birds singing through the trees, you'll love Rose Farm. The only downside for us was the breakfast, hence the four stars instead of five. The inn doesn't have a kitchen and therefore can't serve a hot breakfast. If you're satisfied with cereal and bagels you'll be fine. We ended up eating a bagel at the inn in the mornings and then riding our bikes for a bit before sitting down to a big hot breakfast in town. We felt the price difference between this inn and the inns that do serve hot breakfasts made up for us having to buy breakfast elsewhere. The Atlantic Inn is just steps away and they serve a hot breakfast that you can purchase separately. Our room was clean, bed was comfortable, and water was good and hot. No complaints, just pleasant breezes and a chance to reconnect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennbenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is on beautiful property and a great location, walking distance to town and ferry. The breakfast and food was very basic and mainly processed foods. We decided to eat out the second morning. The service people were nice but not all of them spoke good english. They did not understand when I asked them if the food contained nuts, because I have an allergy. The biggest disappointment of the stay was the bed. The mattress was firm but you could feel and hear the springs. The pillows were also sub par and uncomfortable, bring your own.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We booked the Rose Farm Inn for our Aug 2010 stay after a recommendation from a friend, and we were not disappointed. We were very happy to be staying away from the hustle and bustle of town and the ferries- and while it was a walk to town, it is a very pretty walk! At night it is very quiet, and you can just relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. We rented bikes at the place adjacent to the Inn which was definitely the way to get around. The continental breakfast was adequate and a nice touch- it was nice to just wake up and walk to breakfast, and then start our day. We took a taxi to the Inn from the ferry, but ended up walking with our bags to town when we left. Very easy. The Spring House and the Atlantic Inn are right next door and also beautiful. Be warned - no air conditioned - but great sea breezes. No air conditioning is just part of the BI charm. You are not going to BI to spend time in your room! Hoping to get back this summer and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building overlooking the field- very pretty. The rooms are small and not luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLEinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Shoreham
0.1 mi away
Spring House Hotel
Spring House Hotel
#1 of 6 in New Shoreham
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.5 mi away
National Hotel
National Hotel
#2 of 6 in New Shoreham
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf Hotel Block Island
Surf Hotel Block Island
#5 of 6 in New Shoreham
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The 1661 Inn
The 1661 Inn
#5 of 28 in New Shoreham
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Island Home Inn
The Island Home Inn
#9 of 28 in New Shoreham
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Dory Inn
Blue Dory Inn
#7 of 31 in Block Island
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Farm Inn

Address: Roslyn Rd, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island > New Shoreham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in New Shoreham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose Farm Inn is known for its natural setting, romantic rooms and informal hospitality. A working farm until 1963, the twenty acres of farmland are now home to marsh hawks, ring-necked pheasant and white-tailed deer. This peaceful sea and country setting is only a few minutes walk from the village and beaches. The Farm House offers eight rooms, and the Captain Rose House offers nine rooms - all with private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rose Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Farm Hotel Block Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing