We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Setting, Imperfect Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Farm Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Shoreham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Farm Inn
Save
You added Rose Farm Inn to your Saves list
Roslyn Rd, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 New Shoreham B&B and Inns
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Setting, Imperfect Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I rated the Rose Farm Inn three stars namely because of its location. The Inn is slightly off the beaten path (far enough from the ferry to be in a quiet part of town, but still an easy bike ride or walk to everything). My fiance and I stayed in a room at the Captain Rose House that had a back patio overlooking a meadow. It was the perfect setting to sip some rosé and relax prior to dinner after a hot day at the beach. The reason it is not a four or five star stay is because the rooms were definitely less than perfect. They were a bit outdated and actually a little dark and dreary. Breakfast in the morning was fine but nothing spectacular.

If you are mainly looking for a quiet and relaxed setting, this may be a good stay for you, as you will certainly get that here. For the price, however, I would be expecting just a little something more.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We decided last minute to stay overnight on Block Island. This was the 7th B & B I called and they had one room left. The room was spacious and clean. As others have noted the shower design needs to go, nothing will stay on the "shelves" that a re slanted to much to hold anything! Breakfast was average, cold cereals and bagels, crappy danishes, and the owner was taking off the linen table clothes and shaking them off behind the counter and then putting them back on tables. I wasn't too impressed with that!! The best part of our stay was the proximity to town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We booked our weekend at the Rose Farm in on the recommendation of a friend and considering the price we were disappointed. Originally we had requested a queen room in the farmhouse with an ocean view and private bath ($224 a night). It was suggested that for $274 a night we would enjoy the queen in the Capt Rose house with the whirlpool tub and the country view deck. We ended up negotiating this rate down to $224 a night after we added a second night.
The whirlpool tub was smaller than my small tub at home and the bathroom was a less than inviting or welcoming place to take a bath. The whirlpool jets were there but the filter looked like it had not been scrubbed for a while, even if i could have comfortably fit in the tub I never would have sat in there. Also, the outside of the bathroom door had what looked like a mold or mildew growing on it.
The country view "deck" was the landing and walkway from the top of the stairs to other rooms. There were 2 or 3 very uncomfortable looking benches on it, not really what I consider a deck.
Breakfast was a disappointment. Coffee was bad, fruit consisted of bananas and a small bowl of honeydew melon. Pastry was pretty stale. The young woman working in the dining room seemed annoyed to be there.
Overall, the grounds were nice but I agree with the reviewer who said that it needed a "vibe". We enjoyed our weekend on Block Island very much and would recommend it as a great fall weekend getaway. I would just look for a different place to stay.
For $274 a night this place was way overpriced, for $224 it was still more than we should have spent for that room in the off season.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Silver, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at the Rose Farm Inn a long while back when we visited Block Island. The Inn was well-kept and the breakfast was nice. The Inn is at a very quiet location, though does take a bit of a trek to get to. Still, not far from the action or the ferry. It was a pretty comfortable atmosphere, all around. We went during the summer where an A/C unit would have helped. Room rates are a lot cheaper during the off season, but otherwise lands in an above-average range. The back deck and available bicycle rentals were nice value-adds. There wasn't a tv in the room we stayed in; though we were out enjoying nature and exploring all day, it's always nice to fall asleep to the tv or have something in the background while we got dressed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We've stayed here several times and have come to associate this place with peace and quiet. Located a bit back from the ocean away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist traffic, such as it is, it feels more like a farm in the country with it's gentle hills and open pastures. There's usually a gentle breeze wafting through that keeps things cool enough so there's no need for air conditioning. You just hear the rolling surf and the birdsong most of the time. The property is clean and well maintained. The continental breakfast is good enough with lots of coffee, fruit, and cereals. Easy walking distance to town.

Pros:

Beautiful grounds, blissfully quiet. A place you can unwind with little lacking in the comfort department.

Cons:

Getting our room cleaned each day was inconsistant. While we got new towels each day I dont think the room was vacuumed or the sheets changed during the few days we were there. We aren't dirty people and are pretty easy going but it was a bit disconcerting.

Room Tip: Stay in the Captain Rose House
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I chose this B&B because of the location. We stayed in the original farm house. It was OK. It was a little over rated per Tripadvisor, based on my travel experience. The room was relatively clean but pretty tired. Could use a simple facelift that would bring it up a BIG notch.

I think the location is amazing and the rooms are adequate, but there are really no amenities to speak of - in other words, nothing terribly special about it. BUT - if you want a relatively clean, not too fancy, easy to get to all the attractions place to stay, its just fine.

Please note: internet really slow - but that's most likely the provider, not the hotel.
Breakfast was again...just ok. Nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask for the new building - probably less tired than the original farm house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We went to the RFI for a long weekend to celebrate our 30th anniversary with our grown (pretty much) children. We were a party of 6 adults in 3 rooms - 2 rooms in the Farm House, 1 in the newer Capt. Rose House.
It was a short walk from the ferry, which was not bad at all - 1/4 mile on a sidewalk - we all pulled our suitcases with no trouble. I was worried about the 'hike' after reading reviews here, but we made the trip many times, and it was no problem.

We were able to check in early and found a lovely Anniversary card and bottle of sparkling water and wine glasses waiting for us in our room. Our room (Capt. Rose) was large and bright - there was a standing fan which we used at night. Our kids were in the Farm House which I found to be a bit dark - smaller rooms, but they didn't care.

I think the location was perfect - right between the Atlantic Inn and the Spring House - had drinks on the lawn of each - lovely views. The Manissees petting zoo is just down the lane - we used it as a shortcut to town and enjoyed our daily visits with the Zedonk, yak, and friends.
My favorite part of the day was my early morning coffee on the deck - as a coffeeholic the all day coffee pot was one of the things that sold me on this inn. On the back deck there are 3 tables and 4 chaise lounges for use - we brought our breakfast outside every morning and loved eating with a view of the ocean and surrounding meadows. Very peaceful - surrounded by flower gardens and birdsong!
We are walkers, so the 1 mile to Mohegan Bluffs was a nice morning constitutional for us - we didn't want to join the crowds of bikers we saw. We did take a taxi to Mansion Beach one day, but the rest of the trip we walked everywhere.
There is a firepit in the meadow that is lit every night from 8 to 10 - we used it one night to toast marshmallows (forgot a stick though - that was the biggest challenge).
Our overall impression was of tranquility, peace, quiet and beauty. This was just a lovely, relaxing oasis to return to.

Room Tip: Rec. a room on the 2nd floor of the Capt. Rose House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Shoreham
0.5 mi away
National Hotel
National Hotel
#1 of 5 in New Shoreham
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spring House Hotel
Spring House Hotel
#2 of 5 in New Shoreham
3.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf Hotel Block Island
Surf Hotel Block Island
#4 of 5 in New Shoreham
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses
The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses
#6 of 29 in New Shoreham
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Old Harbor
The Inn at Old Harbor
#7 of 29 in New Shoreham
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Island Home Inn
The Island Home Inn
#9 of 29 in New Shoreham
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Farm Inn

Address: Roslyn Rd, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island > New Shoreham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in New Shoreham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose Farm Inn is known for its natural setting, romantic rooms and informal hospitality. A working farm until 1963, the twenty acres of farmland are now home to marsh hawks, ring-necked pheasant and white-tailed deer. This peaceful sea and country setting is only a few minutes walk from the village and beaches. The Farm House offers eight rooms, and the Captain Rose House offers nine rooms - all with private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Farm Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.