We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Married my best friend here oct 23 2010” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Lighthouse

North Lighthouse
Corn Neck Rd., New Shoreham, Block Island, RI
401 466 3200
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Granite built lighthouse at Sandy Point, Block Island.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Married my best friend here oct 23 2010”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This day was by far the best day of my life.
I married my beautiful wife Jill at the north light house , we rode out by horseback and the historical northlight house was re-lit after years of remodeling, the ceremony for the light took place as the sun set and well, we made history too . I loved u Jill the day I met u , I love u now and Ill love u forever. I'll never stop loving you. Your the love of my life.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    33
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Beautiful and wild.....really enjoyed even though we WALK to it (since Kerry cannot read a map (perhaps the map was not to scale))

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Long walk but rewarding of you are up for it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

If you don't mind walking in deep sand to get here, then it's no problem. I really don't like that so I was slightly turned off. You cannot go inside this lighthouse but if we had more time we would have walked around more of the trails leading around the lighthouse thru the dunes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, GA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good ride, good walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We rented bikes and rode out to the lighthouse. One must park their bike at the end of the road and hike down the beach to reach the lighthouse. I do not know if one can go in during high season, but we could not enter. We walked around the lighthouse, over to the beach, and back to our bikes. It was a pleasant excursion.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great spot to picnic with friends while enjoying some wine and cheese. Spectacular views. A must see while visiting the island.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Lighthouse also viewed

New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 
New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 

Been to North Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.