We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat happiness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses to your Saves list
The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Spring Street, PO Box I, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 New Shoreham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Repeat happiness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here three times, and will do so again -- our favorite spot on Block Island. There is a very nice choice of rooms and little cottages. Wonderful breakfast out on my favorite porch in the world that looks, bright and beautiful, out onto the sapphire Atlantic on a clear morning. The breakfast includes the usual, but the with New England additions of fish and baked beans, and the California obligatory libations of mimosas (real champagne). The rooms are well appointed. The hotel staff is usually charming -- which is an achievement given the overwhelming employment of college students drawn from hither and yon. I'd suggest -- especially for the rooms inside the main building -- air conditioning in the summer (but that absence is near universal on the Island).

Room Tip: The Nicholas Bell cottage is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    119
    36
    17
    13
See reviews for
73
264
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and i had a great off-season visit. We stayed in the Simon Ray room, which was somewhat oddly configured (long and narrow) but offered wonderful views of the sand dunes, ocean and the ferry landing. The room had a balcony which would be fantastic in-season.
Just a short walk into town, which to our surprise was having a busy shopping weekend. Great breakfast in a cheerful dining room with ocean views. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland RI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We visited BI last weekend. We're from RI and had never visited in the winter, what a great experience! The 1661 was absolutely perfect, I can't think of anything that could have beeen improved. Our room was great, the breakfast was great and the staff even better.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deering room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I661 Inn is a great place to stay on Block Island when you want to relax and unwind. The building, furniture, and decor are outdated but adds to Historic authenticity and Old World allure. Clean and roomy. Breathtaking waterfront view!

The complimentary breakfast is tasteful and the staff is very friendly and accommodating, going far beyond what we expected. Taxi service (Vin McAlloo van accommodated 6 of us) and a free shuttle ride back to the ferry are available.

During the "quiet season" (wintertime), the location is actually warmer than the rest of New England. There are also very few people around, which is good if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of crowded cities/towns.

Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, CT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was very pleasant and the Inn looked lovely for the holidays. The Innkeepers and staff are special people who go out of their way to make their guests special. I only regret their Manisses Restaurant isn't open through New Years Eve!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the 1661 as part of a wedding planning trip. The inn is very old-fashioned Victorian style, I stayed in the Deering room, which was clean, spacious, comfortable and charming, with a beautiful ocean view. It had a couch and sitting area, with plenty of light for reading. The bed was very comfortable.

We especially enjoyed the champagne breakfast, which had lots of delicious muffins, ham, french toast, and bagels. They even offer eggs made to order.

The inn is a very short easy, walk to town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a wonderful time; our room and the view was superb as was the morning breakfast and the mimosas.The animals were an extra treat. Highly recommend 1661 and will definitely stay there on my return to Block Island

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Shoreham
0.2 mi away
National Hotel
National Hotel
#1 of 5 in New Shoreham
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring House Hotel
Spring House Hotel
#2 of 5 in New Shoreham
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surf Hotel Block Island
Surf Hotel Block Island
#4 of 5 in New Shoreham
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#4 of 16 in Westerly
3.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Old Harbor
The Inn at Old Harbor
#6 of 29 in New Shoreham
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Island Home Inn
The Island Home Inn
#8 of 29 in New Shoreham
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses

Address: Spring Street, PO Box I, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island > New Shoreham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in New Shoreham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-owned resort has a wide variety of types of rooms and rates and is open year-round. Our higher end rooms feature combinations of ocean views, fireplaces, spa tubs and air-conditioning. Our rates include our full champagne buffet breakfast and during the season, our afternoon wine and nibble hour as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manisses Hotel And The 1661 Block Island
The 1661 Inn And Hotel Manisses Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.