We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for groups but some warnings!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bellevue House to your Saves list
Bellevue House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   356 High Street, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 28 New Shoreham B&B and Inns
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for groups but some warnings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at Bellevue this summer for a family reunion of 13 people. It's a strong choice for that kind of gathering as there are a variety of buildings and accommodations to suit (as in our group) family members with kids as well as singles and couples. Location is a short walk uphill from the main harbor area. It's convenient and yet quieter than being "in town" but it is a bit tiring to walk up the hill at end of a long day walking or biking around the island or when arriving with luggage. The grounds and buildings are nice and well cared for. The staff was OK -- just average on the scale of helpfulness and friendliness. The breakfast that is provided with some rooms is just OK -- a variety of pastries, one kind of not very good yogurt, muesli, nice fresh fruit. No variety from day to day.

A few things you should think about if you're planning to stay here:

The main one is noise. How noisy it will be depends in large part on who else is staying at the Bellevue at the same time as there is a relatively small space including a central outdoor area that everyone is sharing. We were bothered by another family group the first two nights when they stayed up late, sat and partied on the Windrose porch and were quite loud, even after we politely asked them to be quiet about midnight. And we may have bothered other guests when we used some of the outdoor dining tables for big group dinners, although we finished and went inside not long after dark in part to avoid bothering others.

Unless you buy out the whole place, you will be sharing a fairly small space with other guests, and it tends to attract groups who want to gather outside. So there will be noise and not much privacy, and you may feel crowded. (It wasn't just us: One couple spoke very strangely to my sister when she sat reading a book on the porch of the main house, which is where her room was. They seemed to have some idea that the entire front porch belonged to them while they were staying there -- or they wished it did!)

The other problems we had were specific to the building that we (a couple) stayed in - the Windrose House. It does not have A/C and the weather was unusually hot and humid, but really you'd need the windows there open at night any time in the summer. Not only was the room hot (despite fans running non-stop) but we could hear all the noise outside. And even on nights when there wasn't noise on the Bellevue grounds itself, we had noise almost all night long from a building across the street that's apparently some sort of hostel or other cheap accommodations. So college age and twentysomething kids were out there drinking, talking loudly and even yelling and arguing every single night we were there almost until dawn!

Another problem with Windrose was that the bed in the Walnut room where we stayed is ridiculously high off the ground -- like antique beds you see in museums. I'm a bit taller than the average woman and able-bodied, but getting on and off that bed at night was like a gymnastics maneuver. It also seemed small for a supposedly queen size bed. The upshot was, given the bed, the heat, the lack of A/C, and the noise, we did not sleep well the entire week we were there -- even with earplugs in! One night I literally got a single hour of sleep. That doesn't make for a good vacation.

The family members who stayed in other Bellevue buildings seemed mostly happy with their accommodations, which all had A/C, other than a complaint that the beds upstairs in "Cottage Sweet Cottage" are quite short, as if sized for kids not adults.

My final comment is general, since Bellevue isn't even one of the more expensive places on Block Island, but -- this place isn't cheap! We spent MORE for a small double room (with all the problems named above) for just 5 nights than we've recently paid to stay in nice, comfy apartments in two major European cities for a full two weeks!!

Given the expense, I suggest you really research Block Island to see if it's where you want to vacation. We found it disappointing, especially given the price of everything (including food) and also the huge build-up it gets as a beautiful place. It's OK, but we were expecting a place much more beautiful and interesting -- and it is very touristy and crowded. There are other more beautiful places to go in coastal New England, such as in Maine or Cape Cod, that aren't as pricey (or not any more so) than BI and are much more appealing, with more to do.

Room Tip: Avoid Windrose House, but if you must stay there, pick a room in the back and ask about the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NETimeNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cranston, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

A last minute trip to the island for the 4th of July--rented a room in the sister house, the Sterling House. By Block Island standards--this was a gem! Air Conditioning, a comfortable king size bed, our own Adirondack chairs and a small private deck. Close enough to town to walk (beware...High Street, is uphill and a little daunting in the heat!)...but its very walkable, even with beach chairs and luggage. Only about 5 minutes from the ferry dock, it was wonderful to be just outside of town--it was quieter, we had our own prime spot to see the fireworks! There was a small continental breakfast and the managers were very congenial and hospitable!

Room Tip: If you've ever been to Block Island before--you'll know that simply finding a room with AC i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krssy215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIAccommodations, Owner at Bellevue House, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do look forward to seeing you in the future.

Cariona

Owner/ Manager
Block Island Accommodations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

In August 2011, we celebrated my mom's 70th birthday in Block Island. We stayed at the Windrose House and another of their rentals on site. The accommodations were great, convenient, and perfect for a family gathering. I would strongly recommend this place and their other rentals and will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Just spent 3 nights at the Bellevue House with my wife and three kids. The house is exactly as advertised - old/dated but well kept, and our floor easily slept all of us (in three rooms and common kitchen, two private bathrooms). Truly like the fact that we didn't need to split up the family as we usually did across separate hotel rooms.

Location was an easy/safe walk into town, with General Store across the street that we made good use of. Office staff extremely helpful/friendly. Stands to lock-up bikes at night.

Only downside is that we were there at the end of the season, and the "seasonal help" on the island apparently live dorm style across the street. Got very noisy one night till very late, but shouldn't be an issue on a normal night.

TERRIFIC value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottleavitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIAccommodations, Owner at Bellevue House, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Cariona E. Corcoran

Owner/ Property Manager
Block Island Accommodations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Lets face it if you have ever stay on Block island you would know that it is not like the ritz , However the Bellevue House for the money is great , I stay in all most every place on Block Island over the years , There location and rooms are Great I will most likely say There again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lila b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We rented rooms in both the windrose and Bellevue homes which are right next to each other. The windrose is way nicer and more up to date. Overall I would def stay here again. Location is great.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acloudangl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Just spent a wonderful week with the family and we hope to return next summer. The place was very clean and the view from every window was exceptional! We had ocean views and island views not to mention the fabulous sunrise. The staff was extremely accomodating and friendly. It is set on a hilltop and beautiful breezes kept us comfortable so no need for air conditioning. We were on the 3rd floor which is why we were afforded the cross breeze and it comes equipped with fans in each room. The only downside was having to do the stairs but it was a wonderful place. Recently redone! It is a short walk to town so no need to drive unless you want to go to a beach on the other side of town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharonf19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Shoreham hotels
0.2 mi away
Spring House Hotel
Spring House Hotel
#1 of 6 in New Shoreham
3.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Surf Hotel Block Island
Surf Hotel Block Island
#5 of 6 in New Shoreham
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
National Hotel
National Hotel
#2 of 6 in New Shoreham
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Island Home Inn
The Island Home Inn
#9 of 28 in New Shoreham
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 1661 Inn
The 1661 Inn
#6 of 28 in New Shoreham
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avonlea, Jewel of the Sea
Avonlea, Jewel of the Sea
#2 of 28 in New Shoreham
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue House

Address: 356 High Street, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island > New Shoreham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in New Shoreham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Block Island Accommodations is a magnificent collection of Bed & Breakfast, rental homes, and apartments on Block Island, RI, offering beautiful hilltop lodging and accommodations. Located just up High St and off Center Rd, you will find gracious hospitality, superior service, and comfort in a meadow-like setting that recalls Block Island's farming tradition. Boating, fishing, and kayaking are all just a few minutes walk from our inns and homes. We are open May through October. The Ferry landings to the island are only a 2-hour drive from Boston and New York City and 45 minutes from Providence and Hartford. Our homes are all conveniently located via both car and foot from the ferry dock.Our grounds are one of the best places on the island to just relax. Sit back in our Adirondack chairs, grill up lunch, and enjoy looking over the ocean, watching planes take off from this island's only airport. Most of our accommodations are only a short walk to town where you will find the shops, restaurants, movie theatre, beach, as well as the best island nightlife. There is so much to do and see throughout the summer months, from shopping, hiking, sailing, boating, parasailing, lighthouse tours, cruises, and fishing charters, that our accommodations offer a great central location for couples and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bellevue House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue House Hotel Block Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing