We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 MidAmerica Lane, Mehlville, Saint Louis, MO 63129   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mehlville
Bella Vista, Arkansas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

What an awesome hotel! We booked here based on all the excellent reviews, and now we see why! The customer service here is top notch, everyone was extremely nice and helpful. When passing any employee anywhere in the hotel they would always stop to ask if you are enjoying your stay and if they could do anything to make it better. We ended up deciding to go up a day earlier than we had reservations for. We called the Hampton Inn main hotline and they explained since we booked online they could not help us. We called the hotel directly and they were more than happy to help us book 2 rooms for an additional night. The breakfast is the best continental breakfast i've ever seen. They have waffle irons, fresh fruit, eggs, bacon or sausage, oatmeal and also the standard cereal and pastries. They go above and beyond here to make sure you feel at home. This will definitely be where we stay from now on anytime we go back to St Louis. They leave post it notes in the room letting you know that your duvet cover and sheets have been changed and a card is left every day with the name of the person who cleaned your room. Great experience! Highly recommend them! You can tell customer service is their priority. We have had family stay in 4 star hotels downtown that didn't come anywhere close to the customer service here. We had the pool and hot tub to ourselves. Both were kept extremely clean and there are towels put out on the pool chairs every day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Wow... Thank you so much. That is so nice of you to say that 4 star hotels didn't come close to our service... That is just so kind. We do have an amazing staff here who truly loves what they do. Because of them and because of guest like you, we have received the Connie Award which named us the #1 Hampton Inn & Suites worldwide. It is also great to know that you enjoyed our breakfast. I know our breakfast hostess work hard to make it the best that it can be, and they love hearing feedback. I hope that we have the opportunity to have you stay with us again.

Thank you,

Ashley Vrtis,
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    41
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
308
121
21
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is the nicest Hampton Inn we've ever stayed in. We stayed in the King Studio which had plenty of room and was nicely decorated. It had a desk that acted as a room divider between the bedroom and sitting area with a TV that could be swiveled back and forth. The room was exceptionally clean and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The only drawback is that it is some distance from downtown St. Louis (about 20 minutes), but there are some nice restaurants nearby. They have your average free breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your stay on tripadvisor, and thank you for your awesome description of our room set up. It is sometimes hard to describe the set up of our King Studio Suites, but you hit it on the head. I am glad that you enjoyed your room and that you found everything to be so clean. We have an amazing housekeeping staff that has a great eye for detail, and just an awesome staff in general, that truly loves what they do. I hope that we will get to see you again, sometime in the near future.

Your Clean & Excellent Hotel,

Ashley Vrtis,
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

ee booked this hampton based on availability (Cards vs Cubs games downtown) and good reviewson tripadvisor. The staff was very nice and offered my son a toy of his choice from a treasure chest at check in. We had the pool to ourselves and everything was very clean. A quick call to the desk from the pool room and someone brought a bunch of pool toys. The only opportunity durring our stay was the crazy person above us on the fourth floor. the staff expressed their concern when i called down to complain. fortunatly my little guy stayed asleep. I know the hotel must hate that rude behavior as well and it isn't their fault. Free breakfast was good as usual and helps to make the stay a better value . fresh baked cookies and milk at 8pm was a nice touch as well.

Room Tip: try for the top floor to avoid noise. many dining choices a few exits south on I-55 in Arnold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
First I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Secondly I want to apologize again for the noise disturbance that you experienced. We never want anyone to experience that. If there is any way that we can make that up to you, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our cookie hour and that your kids were able to grab a toy at check in along with using our pool toys. What fun is swimming in a pool without some noodles. :) I hope that we will get the opportunity to see you and your family again, and thanks for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Ashley Vrtis,
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel was immaculate, service was fantastic! We stayed 3 nights and were very impressed with hotel staff and cleanliness of room and entire facility. Breakfast was good, and my wife and I enjoyed the "cookie" time each night.

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit with us. I am happy to hear that you found our service to be FANTASTIC :) and that everything was immaculate. We have an amazing staff that works hard to achieve that, and there is nothing better than to know our guest feel that we are achieving that goal.

Again, thank you for sharing your visit, and I hope that we will get to see you again.

Hospitably,

Ashley Vrtis,
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I would not hesitate for a minute to recommend this hotel to anyone. I travel a lot and I've never received this quality of customer service from every person on staff as I did at this Hampton Inn. They have some sort of recipe for happiness here and it made me look forward to coming home every night -- cuz it felt like coming home. In addition, the facility is beautiful. GREAT Fitness Center for a smaller hotel and awesome breakfasts! You won't regret choosing this Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your recommendations. I absolutely love that you said we have a recipe for happiness here. We all just truly love what we do, and have a heart for people. We want everyone here to be treated how we would want ourselves and our families treated, and it is great to hear that you felt that. I am also glad to hear that we were able to be a home away from home for you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Your Hampton Family,

Ashley Vrtis,
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The whole experience was top notch, from the cleanliness of the room to the hotel staff and the awesome complementary breakfast. The location was easy off and on to I-55 and convenient to the places we needed to go during our visit to St. Louis. It was also located near shopping centers and good restaurants. Definitely a hotel I would use again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is great to know that you found everything to be top notch, and we can't wait to see you again during your next trip to St. Louis.

Your St. Louis Hotel,

Ashley Vrtis,
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We flew into STL, and I had reserved a room at this hotel due to the online reviews. They were spot-on. The hotel is not downtown, but just a short, 15' drive from downtown. The pretty extensive freeway system there makes it very easy to get around. Our friends stayed at a hotel in Creve Coeur. That hotel was awful compared to this one.
The beds were comfortable, and the hotel was very clean. I have stayed at another Hampton, about the same age as this hotel, and the rooms here were smaller, but still roomy.
The hotel staff was very friendly and did not seem disingenuous, like many hospitality staff. The warm cookies and cold milk in the evening were enjoyed by my boyfriend. The cookies are baked Otis Spunkmeier, but good. They also have flavored water at all times in the lobby, as well as some fresh fruit. Teas & coffees also are always available in lobby. The hot tub and pool appeared clean. Breakfast was standard Hampton fare.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to be spot on from what other guest reviews have stated. We have an awesome staff here who truly loves their jobs, so it is great to hear that you found everyone here to be genuinely friendly. We hope that we will get the opportunity to see you again.

Your St. Louis Place to Stay,

Ashley Vrtis
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55

Address: 4200 MidAmerica Lane, Mehlville, Saint Louis, MO 63129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Mehlville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mehlville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 is located just outside of St. Louis with easy access to downtown. The hotel is located near Anheuser Busch Brewery, which offers tours and tastings daily. Guests can enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South i-55 Hotel Mehlville
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Louis/South i-55
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 Saint Louis, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.