We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, good value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - St. Louis / South

Americas Best Value Inn - St. Louis / South
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - St. Louis / South to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - St. Louis / South
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   6602 South Lindbergh Blvd., Mehlville, Saint Louis, MO 63123 (Formerly Oak Grove Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Mehlville
Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean, safe, good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed for 4 nights. This was our second stay at this Inn. Room was clean. Safe location. Personnel was friendly. Excellent rate. Breakfast was fine: boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, cereal, make your own waffles, bagels, English muffins, muffins, pastries, juice, coffee, tea. Restaurants, shopping in walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownersaintlouis1671, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - St. Louis / South, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for staying with us and thank you for sharing your trip on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your compliments. We all love what we do here, and it's great to know that we are doing our jobs right. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future!

Sincerely,
Melissa
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
3
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake City, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were in St.Louis to visit our grandson. This hotel had a great price, we weren't expecting a lot. But we were pleasantly surprised. All of the staff has been very nice. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I came on a business trip and was there 4 days.The first 2 days I had little room service. To say the least the sheets were never changed and the bath tub never cleaned. The third day I was there the House keeping supervisor Vickie cleaned my entire room. The sheets changed, mirrors cleaned to perfection and the bathroom spotless. I say if you stay more than a day ask for Vickie, she is a DREAM!

Room Tip: ask for rooms on 2nd floor. They are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Arrived to find no reservation on file, had my receipt so luckily I got a room. The bed sheets and blankets were full of cigarette burns, the carpet with stains. In the bathroom the kleenex would not stay in the counter hole. The toilet was loose , when you sat you wondered if you would fall over. The whirlpool didn't work well, only a few of the jets worked. The morning breakfast was good, not a lot of variety. Office staff very accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We arrived and the overall look was good. It's next to Bob Evans Restaurant and across from Dennys. Target, a mall and a lot of other comforts of home were near by. The hotel says it has a business center, but it actually doesn't. I had to go to FedEx, which wasn't far, to print. The non smoking room smelled musty. We did get a king bed room for $74 using our AAA discount. There is no microwave or fridge. Bathroom is small. Doing my business, my knees hit the door which must be kept open because trying to shut it is difficult with the tub right there. The room was clean, clerks nice and room attendant was friendly. I'll let you know if our room is clean when we return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Rates were reasonable, room was clean, bed was small, NO coffee/tea maker in room, nice pool, nice buffet breakfast included, convenient location, lots of restaurants, banks and retail nearby, customer service needs improvement, air conditioner was noisy, Hotel manual in room was shabby and needed to be replaced.and updated.

Room Tip: First floor is safest for emergency exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

On a recent trip to St. Louis for a weekend to visit local attractions we decided to stay at this more centrally located hotel. Man were we pleasantly surprised. Upon arrival - Emily the front desk hostess greeted us with a super warm smile and great attitude. She had us all ready to check in and was expecting us. We got to our rooms and got the super cold air conditioning cranking. Two queen beds. Firm but very comfortable. - The sheets did have a smoky smell even though we were in a non smoking section of the hotel. The shower pressure was great - we could have used a couple of more towels since there were four of us in the room but we survived.

We asked Emily for a suggestion of a local place to go out to eat and she directed us to a great place nearby.

There was a terrible thunderstorm that came through soon after arrival and Emily was comforting guests in the main lobby. Sometime during the night I understand we lost power at the hotel and were running on backup generators. We never knew it though. Everything went very smoothly.

The breakfast in the lobby - as my son put it - was very starchy and heavy on carbs. Not much in the way of protein but still a good start to the day. Two waffle makers that worked very well were the highlight for most folks. Great juices too.

There is a pool - we didn't visit and a work out room - also didn't visit and we saw a small and a large meeting room that could be used by a good sized group if needed.

Clean - was the best way to describe the hotel. Everything was clean and neat and apparently well cared for.

The staff was exceptional and extremely helpful.

Great stay and it would take a lot to make me go elsewhere on a return visit.

Not to mention - $60 per night :)

Room Tip: There are three floors - all doors are to the inside. Not much of view from any of them :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - St. Louis / South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - St. Louis / South

Address: 6602 South Lindbergh Blvd., Mehlville, Saint Louis, MO 63123 (Formerly Oak Grove Inn)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Mehlville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Mehlville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - St. Louis / South 1.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - St. Louis / South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - St. Louis / South Hotel Mehlville
Oak Grove Hotel
Oak Grove Inn
Americas Best Value Inn - St. Louis / South Saint Louis, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - St. Louis / South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.