We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40th Birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miltons Restaurant

Miltons Restaurant
Milton Road, Wokingham RG40 5QG, England
+44 118 979 1666
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Miltons Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 99 Restaurants in Wokingham
Price range: $31 - $56
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“40th Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After eating at Miltons on numerous occasions over the past few years I booked my wife's 40th birthday champagne tea in the main restaurant.

The staff were really accommodating to all of our needs and were happy for us to setup face painters, an area for the kids to play in and the food when and where we wanted it.

The service and quality of the food was excellent as usual. There was more than enough for the 50 people that attended and the prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    13
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sunday lunch let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had visited Mitons on previous occasions albeit a few years ago and had always experienced good quality and service, however today was some what of a let down for our Sunday lunch.
One starter ordered was the chicken bacon and salad, 3 ingredients yet the dish had to be sent back as the bacon had been missed off! We all chose the roast beef as a main which came with a small over cooked Yorkshire and seasonal veg. Slightly confused why half the veg served was bodied potatoes when roasties were already on my plate? Roast beef was cold and tasteless even with the horseradish which was sloshed on my plate and the table! I found the service to be slap dash and the food very mediocre not in the least what we expected from Mitons, and as a result we will not be returning or recommending to frends and aqcuaintences.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you want a good steak then this is the place to go in Wokingham, cooked to percfection
Wonderful atmosphere and the waitress was full of chat and fun.
This is a small and cossey place with a wonderful fire place for the colder months coming up.
You will not be disappointed.
(Only complaint was the expresso not good , think they need new machine)
Enjoy

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauriceStanley, Owner at Miltons Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble to write about Miltons and I am very pleased you enjoyed your dinner here.
The espresso comment has to be be looked into. The coffee we use and indeed the machine are well respected - evidently it was an "operator error" and I hope we can address that with some research and training. I am grateful for you bringing that to our attention.
Maurice Monk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Excellent food, my only criticism being 3 of us ordered Moules as a starter. The waitress came back to say they were all gone, which was a shame, but she should have known what was available before she took our order not once we had placed it. It might have mitigated the disappointment a bit

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Like the difference in the menu classic dishes and different dishes
Great service and quality
Would always eat there if in the area

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miltons Restaurant also viewed

Wokingham, Berkshire
Wokingham, Berkshire
 
Wokingham, Berkshire
 

Been to Miltons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miltons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.