We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our room was shabby and tired” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cantley House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cantley House Hotel to your Saves list
Cantley House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milton Road, Wokingham RG405QG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Wokingham
Rickmansworth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our room was shabby and tired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were given a voucher for this hotel as a Christmas present and were looking forward to our stay. Our allotted room (Room 33) was dark, dingy and quite depressing. The net curtains were torn and one of the chairs was very stained and worn and the bed lumpy. There were dirty fiingermarks around the light switches (no excuse for this). When we telephoned to book our stay we were asked if we wanted to "upgrade" which we did. I hate to think what we would have got if we hadn't. On a positive note our meals in the restaurant were enjoyable and the staff pleasant and helpful. Such a shame that the room was so poor.

Room Tip: Avoid "deals" and pay full price for a decent room. Beware of upgrades and room 33.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    58
    32
    23
    14
See reviews for
45
87
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

This is gonna be a short and succinct one as I have got behind with my reviews.
The hotel is part of the Bespoke group.
The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming, big smile!
The rooms( or at least some of them) are reached by a short walk down a covered walkway.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed( mine had a 4poster bed),, but the carpet did look very tired with stains and marks quite obvious.
All the mod cons are provided, tea coffee, free wifi etc.
Had room service- very prompt, served piping hot and the mushroom risotto was fantastic.
Slept like a log to be then further indulged by a nice hot breakfast.

If the carpet had been in better shape, I would have given 5 stars. It didn't really hamper my stay and I would have no problem going back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauriceStanley, Owner at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
I am so sorry about the carpet - sad that we lost "points" - promise the marks were fresh - and now gone.

On a small point, but one important to us, we are actually independent though very pleased and proud to be affiliated and supported by Bespoke.

I am pleased that otherwise you enjoyed your stay and I hope we might see you again .

Regards

Maurice Monk
"MD and holder of overdraft!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Well I really don't know where to start, we had our wedding reception at cantley house hotel on the 15th of march, and it was just perfect, amazing and beautiful and that is down to everyone that works there, every single one of you made our day perfect!!!!!! It really was a dream day, we really can not thank you enough for making our day so beautiful, the honeymoon suite was out of this world, breakfast was brilliant and the wedding breakfast was just scrummy all our guest was really happy with everything and we have had so many beautiful comments about the hotel! Thank you all so much for the most amazing memories which we will cherish forever, from the new Mr & Mrs harvey x
I would highly recommend any couple organizing a wedding to have it at cantley house hotel, the wedding coordinators are fantastic and made our day run so smooth and perfect, it really was a dream day. Thank you, thank you, thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

What makes a good hotel? Clean and well kept rooms? Great location? Excellent food? Of course, and these are all straight forward to deliver. But it's the service that always sticks in my mind. The warm friendly greeting; helping my family to our room when we have too many bags; playing with my ever inquisitive toddler.
It was my first time staying at Cantly House hotel and I would highly recommend it as an excellent family and business hotel, close to the town and with lovely rooms. Double thumbs up, I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenmgrCHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear GemJay,
We thank you most sincerely for your glorious review of our hotel. It is great to read such positive comments and I know our staff get a great buzz from your feedback. We look forward to welcoming back to Cantley House in the not too distant future.
Frank Postel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here whilst attending a function and must say that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We originally booked on Booking.Com but realised price didn't include the breakfast at £15 per head so cancelled and booked directly with the hotel for £3 more per room with breakfast. When we arrived at hotel we found we had been upgraded to an executive room which had a lovely view of the golf course. Breakfast was really good and waiting staff were extremely friendly. All in all a really good experience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely lovely lovely
Very nice hotel, staff helpful, food lovely,
Would go there again . It was my partners Birthday and he enjoyed it very much, I arranged a massage for him with the beauty therapist resident in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenmgrCHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are pleased that you and your partner enjoyed his birthday break here at the Cantley House Hotel and look forward to welcoming you in the near future again. Frank Postel ,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here twice before and had a noisy room - something nesting in the attic. I couldn't believe it. I said "hang about - that’s not for Terry Tibbs". I gave them another chance and stayed again last week. I arrived and parked the Roller under a tree outside reception. Next morning I got up, had a wash, went down to breakfast, checked out and left. When I got outside there it was... I looked down... I couldn’t believe it! Terry's Roller covered in bird doings. Not a little bit... it looked like an Albatross had eaten three curries the night before and turned himself inside out on the Roller. I couldn't believe it. I was too angry to complain so I won’t stay there again. That’s why they call me Terry Tibbs.

Much Love

Thanks and goodnight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenmgrCHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent two stays here at the hotel.
Assuming that your second stay has been a better than the first , it is regrettable that
an element from mother nature that we cannot control [( habits of) the bird population],
has angered you so much that you will in future refrain from staying with us . Some protected trees on our site cannot be cut down to avoid recurrence of this unfortunate incident.We offer a different range of car parking facilities not overshadowed by trees. We hope to welcome you back nevertheless on a future occasion, when I hope you will enjoy our hospitality in every aspect.
General manager 8.3.13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cantley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantley House Hotel

Address: Milton Road, Wokingham RG405QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Wokingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wokingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cantley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cantley House Hotel is a spacious independently owned, 36 bedroom Victorian Country House Hotel set in 50 acres of beautiful Berkshire parkland, 2 minutes from the historic market town of Wokingham. The building has been carefully restored over the years maintaining its many beautiful architectural features. The Clock tower wing with architecture inspired by local Almshouses was constructed in 2001, adding 15 Executive rooms and suites with wonderful views of the grounds and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cantley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantley Hotel Wokingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantley House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.