We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Food and Staff - Not appealing from the outside though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wokingham Gourmet Kitchen - CLOSED

Wokingham Gourmet Kitchen
36 Finchampstead Road, Wokingham RG40 2NN, England
0118 9798088
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Food and Staff - Not appealing from the outside though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Really like this place - the staff are really nice here.
The guy who seems to run the place always treats us really well and makes the experience well worthwhile.
The food is always interesting and the burgers are smashing!
The Wokingham Mess is brilliant too.
Shame is seems to be closed for refurbishment at the moment, but hopefully will open up and they will be able to make some changes to make it look more welcoming from the outside.
I think it would benefit from appearing less like a take away downstairs.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    40
    16
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Family Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The burgers here are excellent. My OH eats here regularly when he is working nearby.
We were not disappointed. Although the menu is not large, if you like handmade burgers you are in the right place.
A few small downsides.
Where we were seated was directly opposite the smoking area, and the door was always open, making it very unpleasant.
Also, when we went to order dessert, we were told that the chef had gone home sick? But yet we had been served food? By a sick person?
Anyway, the guy was very nice and offerd us a small discount as my daughter was VERY upset at the lack of dessert.
I would definitely return for the burgers, but would choose my table carefully and also ask the health of the chef!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I always enjoy it !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Been back to WGK 5 or 6 times now and always enjoy it.
The staff are very friendly and provide as much attention as you want, never aloof and never pushy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gone downhill since it opened”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Have eaten there 5 or 6 times since it opened, and definitely feel that it has gone downhill. The food (Chicken Burger), when I last visited tasted awlful, they offered to change it but I declined as by then had lost my appetite. The menu has not changed since it opened and if you don't eat Beef Burgers there is very little choice.
One good point though is the Fish and Chips for takeaway is still good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Gluten Free fish and Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I really enjoyed the Gluten free fish and chips - the staff are always so helpful - we ususally visit every couple of months and the food is of good quality

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wokingham Gourmet Kitchen also viewed

Wokingham, Berkshire
Wokingham, Berkshire
 
Wokingham, Berkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wokingham Gourmet Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.