We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chinese Buffet - St Helens

The Chinese Buffet - St Helens
Bridge Street, St Helens WA10 1NU, England
+44 1744 610002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 151 Restaurants in St Helens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Very good food great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Me and my family went her for my son's communion meal and we all enjoyed everything we ate we will definitely be going back, we was all made very welcome from the second we walked through the door the staff was very helpful and always asking if we needed anything and cleaning our table would recommend this restaurant to friends and family

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks for leaving a lovely review and so pleased you enjoyed dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    100
    44
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thursday evening meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

First visit this evening. Might be slightly dearer than some buffets but great assortment and quality ingredients mean I feel it is good value. The teppinyaki made to order was delicious. Will definitely be back

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi there, thanks for leaving a review and so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Buffett food at restaurant prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I have been meaning to try this restaurant for some time. Had the opportunity and called in one evening. First impressions are good with impressive surroundings. However, this is an EXPENSIVE buffet. Prices are heavily at a premium compared to most Chinese buffets. Never mind I thought - the food may be really good quality and worth the extra cost. I tried the Hot and Sour soup first which was better than some I have tasted - steady start. Then tried the starters with salt and pepper ribs. Oh dear! - All salt and no pepper. In fact they were saltier than a salty thing in a world of salt. Onto the mains and to go with the overcooked rice, I passed on the two serving dishes which had no food in whatsoever and choose the Roast Duck dish and also the Char Sui. Tough duck and even tougher pork. Paid the bill ( £18 including a lager) and left. High prices for poor food. Not for me - won't be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hi there, thanks for your review and I am sorry you feel we are expensive. We feel the opposite, given the standard of food on offer, the quality of service and the HUGE array of dishes available, the price we feel is reflective of this and is great value. We have a wide range of starters, main courses, side dishes, cooked dishes to order and desserts on offer which can sometimes amount to a 3,4 or even 5 course meal. Of course there is then the opportunity for you to try new dishes without fear of wasting food or money should it not be to your liking. Of course if your taste is limited then perhaps you may feel whats on offer is costly and not value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Graet Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

For the price this is by far the best Chinese buffet we have had a group of 8 of us went and all of us enjoyed the food the children loved the pancakes will definitely go again

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review and we are pleased you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“My family and I love this chinese restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

A regular visitor at this restaurant my family and I love going there. There's something for every1 they have an area were you can have your food made in front of you such as steak, stir fry's etc. The buffet is great and plenty of choice along with the amazing deserts. Great value for money and the staff are always polite. We tend to go for birthday meals there as all the family loves going and its a great service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi there, thanks for a lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed dining with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chinese Buffet - St Helens also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
St Helens, Merseyside
 
St Helens, Merseyside
St Helens, Merseyside
 

Been to The Chinese Buffet - St Helens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.