We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a night night base” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chalon Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chalon Court Hotel to your Saves list
Chalon Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linkway West, St Helens WA101NG, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson St. Helens)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St Helens
Keighley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Fine for a night night base”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for a trip to Haydock races. It was a bit further away than we planned. Check in staff were fine and quite helpful. The room was good, considering it was quite cheap. The bar downstairs was very under-stocked...empty shelves, however, this was not a problem as were only having 1 drink before the races. Breakfast was really poor. No choice hardly of cooked food, no mugs for the coffee, no glasses out next to the fruit juice. We managed to have a very small breakfast and a drink, but don't expect much and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    74
    57
    24
    17
See reviews for
40
54
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
halifax uk
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked this hotel in the January sale ! And wasn't disappointed at all. We chose the hotel as its only a few miles from haydock racecourse which we were visiting and lots cheaper then any other in the area. On the edge of St. Helens town Center you couldn't wish for a better location with free parking, as long as you put your registration number in the machine at check in. The hotel has free fast speed wi- fi and the breakfast wasn't the best we have had but it served a purpose but the scrambled eggs looked awful and resembled egg custard - yuk,! The rooms were clean with a variety of TV channels and air con , however we were unable to have this running through the night as there was a constant noise from it,the downside of the room was you couldn't open the window which made sleeping difficult. The staff were friendly and respectful in there manor. We would return if the price was again right and we were going to the races.

Room Tip: Ask for a cooler room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The room was a furnace, bar (?) big empty room, was deserted, didn't brave dinner, breakfast was nothing short of Fawlty Towers, and for the final icing on the cake, I've just received a parking fine, yes, despite leaving my registration details at reception, as instructed by the receptionist so that I wouldn't get a fine!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Helens hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Being from the area originally we decided to give it a go for our week in the UK.
The reception staff were always very pleasant and helpful, though not at times knowledgeable.
The entrance lobby was clean but uninspiring. Smokers were able to congregate directly outside the main door, so walking through the smoke was not nice.
The lifts worked perfectly.
Room maintenance was very good, the cleaners obviously worked very hard. Our room was well appointed and immaculately decorated with up to date appliances and a modern bathroom suite.
Air conditioning in the room was either too hot or too cold, though we lived with it.
Having booked our stay for seven nights we chose to have breakfast.
Whoever is in charge of this hotel needs to get up and visit at least weekly the set up here, on three occasions I needed to ask for cups without chips on the rims, on one breakfast visit I found and changed the two cups we needed rather than ask. Decaffeinated coffee was not readily available and again daily except for once I needed to ask for this.
A premier Inn supplies a far greater range of cereals and pleasantly cooked fayre than the Park Inn.
A very limited range of yoghurts, only plain on display for two days. though cheese and some meat was available.

While I am sure the chef tried hard, he really should try eating the stuff, or at least get a better idea of presentation by visiting other hotels.

The only young girl who impressed us in the dining area worked on Sunday morning, she worked fantastically while her male colleague stood shuffling his feet by a lectern no doubt clearing up or setting tables or removing damaged cups was way beyond him.

It is also apparent that no dress code applies to the dining area as we were subjected to a few individuals wearing various items of sleepwear, Raise your standards Radisson, we don't all want to see pyjama shorts at breakfast!

A free car park is attached to the hotel

Going for a swim in the hotel though easy to find, I found the changing area dirty to the point of vile, obviously all it takes is a quick walk through every hour to ensure standards are raised. The gym was fantastic and modern.
The Park Inn was a centrally located hotel which suited our needs perfectly, we were able to travel to Liverpool and Manchester very easily either via public transport or by car. St Helens town centre is literally just yards away.
The hotel is not a good advert for the town and really needs to raise it's game, unless it can afford to lose business. A terrible shame for the town and the workforce who all need to work to enhance this perfectly located gem.
Unfortunately not my favourite hotel and I really wanted it to be, maybe if I choose to stay here again I may be able to see vast improvements.

Room Tip: All rooms are refurbished so a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hi we found this hotel great lovely and clean room great big bed but what a disappointment the breakfast was it was buffet style more like a works canteen set up,the hot food was cold we had to ask for plates then no tea then no cups .We cancelled breakfast the next morning and received a refund of £20 which we used to buy breakfast in weatherspoons called the glass house 2 minutes walk from hotel two breakfast tea coffee £7 and it was great .Park hotel should get there act together and need to improve the standard of its food. Mrs Pat Graham. Teeside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip and service was OK but hotel felt a bit tired and lacked atmosphere. Lobby looks a bit scruffy and in need of a refurb, room was clean and comfortable but the bar and restaurant were dead and the chairs felt like I was the 10,000th person to sit on it since it was last cleaned (sticky arms and dirty looking).
Overall for the price it was OK for a night to sleep in but nothing more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Booked this for a one night stay after the races and was not disappointed! £55 for one night between two of us - the rooms were lovely, immaculately presented and had obviously been upgraded recently. Facilities within the room were also excellent.
Free parking on site which was a bonus and the hotel staff were more than helpful in organising taxis etc to the races.
Another good point is that drinks in the hotel were not too expensive so when we returned later in the evening - staying in the bar wasn't an issue (£11 for two double vodka's!!)
Only downside is that breakfast wasn't the best I've ever had - but not the worst either. This could be because we were the one of the last down on the Sunday morning so maybe going for breakfast earlier would have ensured I got a better quality of hot food! So an element of personal responsibility too in my comment about brekkie!!
Overall, if you need to stay in St Helen's I would highly recommend this hotel, just don't leave it till the last 10 minutes of service to go for breakfast

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalon Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalon Court Hotel

Address: Linkway West, St Helens WA101NG, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson St. Helens)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St Helens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalon Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Chalon Court hotel in St. Helens welcomes guest'sExperience delightful St. Helens as well as the lovely counties of Northwest England from this cosy home base. Only 35 minutes from Manchester International Airport and a mere 20 minutes from John Lennon Airport, with easy access to the Trafford centre and liverpool one. this St. Helens hotel features contemporary, colourful rooms as well as on-site dining at the Pyramid Restaurant. Business and leisure travellers alike enjoy access to the hotel's fitness centre, in addition to room service, convenient work stations and Wireless, High-speed Internet access (fees apply). The Chalon Court hotel in St. Helens also has five adaptable meetings rooms, which can be tailored to accommodate a wide range of special events.The Chalon Court hotel's location makes it easy to explore the vibrant cities of Liverpool and Manchester as well as the scenic landscapes of Merseyside.The 84 stylish and up-to-date rooms include features like LCD televisions, mini safes, hairdryers .Visitors can savour British-inspired cuisine at Pyramid Restaurant in the Chalon Court hotel.Guests can maintain their workout routines thanks to the on-site fitness centre complete with indoor pool at Chalon Court hotel.This St. Helens Chalon Court hotel offers secure parking for 150 cars.The Chalon Court hotels helpful staff are happy to assist guests with impressive events for up to 300 attendees ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Chalon Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson St. Helens Hotel St Helens
Park Inn Saint Helens
Park Inn St Helens
Chalon Court Hotel St Helens, Merseyside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalon Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.