We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming facilities” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chalon Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chalon Court Hotel to your Saves list
Chalon Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linkway West, St Helens WA101NG, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson St. Helens)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St Helens
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Swimming facilities”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I am a member of the Leisure clunb for both myself and young 5 yr old foster son. For the last two month period, both the pool and hot tub heating system has been broken!
Despite several complaints to staff and the completion of a 'complint form' - there has been no response!
Staff are polite and sympathetic, although seem to have no resolution in place. I have been told that the owners feel that there is not a problem at all!!!
I, along with several other memebers are moving to other leisure clubs now. if I was a 'family holiday maker' I would be most disapointed with the lack of this essential family facility.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    62
    47
    20
    16
See reviews for
33
45
16
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The restaurant could do with refurbishing, but it serves good food at a very reasonable price, Breakfast is a bit expensive at £10 a head.
The swimming pool is great and open from early (6.30 am) to late (10 pm) on weekdays.
The renovated rooms on the second floor are very comfortable, with king size beds and fluffy white towels.
It is in the town centre, but the dual carriage way outside means going round the roundabout.
The three-day deal is good value for money.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are now renovated and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, Merseyside, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I 'd just like to say first of all that I do live in St Helens and have stayed in this hotel once the night before my wedding on my own and with my new husband after the wedding. It was a last minute thing the night before (husband and I had "executive suite" booked months prior), literally just going to reception and luckily they had a room. As i live in St Helens i knew that prior to it being the Park Inn it used to be a Hilton Hotel so i was expecting it to be quite good.Reception was really nice in finding me a room a couple of doors down from where my bridal party were staying at such short notice. The rooms weren't amazingly modern (in 2010) but surprisingly comfortable. As it was a one night stay we didnt eat at the hotel we actually relied on going to Tesco which used to be next door to the hotel but has recently closed. As i mentioned above we did book a so called executive room for our first night as Mr and Mrs but i honestly couldnt tell the difference between the normal room i stayed in the night before or the so called executive suite.

As Park Inn is the only town centre hotel we have in St Helens, it's not too bad and i've heard reports that it is being renovated. The more modern hotels in St Helens are Premier Inn (East and South), Ramada Encore which is a fairly new hotel only built a few years back. The Thistle is one of my favourite hotels, my father and i had to live their when we had a fire at our house.

As someone born and bred in St Helens i hope this review helps :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Now part way through refurbishment, 2nd floor club rooms are very nice,all recarpeted and furnished, clean, comfortable with good maid service, and an attentive reception. Breakfast in bed on Christmas Day - 10/10! King size beds, clean white linens.
The adjacent recently vacated Tesco superstore site is an eyesore the Hotel could do without - not it's fault though.
Position for walking into the shops is good. There are very few hotels within the St. Helens area, we have no problem in recommending this one.
Pricing for us staying 8 nights over the holiday to visit family was acceptable at just over £50/night r.o. advance payment.
We travel alot living in Malta and can say the hotel compares favourably with most, especially at that price. Throw in the pool, gym etc and it is OK value.
Could improve provision of wi-fi - expensive for an hour at £5 or a day at £10. We paid £30 for 7 days as we can't travel without internet.

Room Tip: 2nd floor club rooms are refurbished with big beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Spent one night here recently and slept well. The room was comfortable with good TV but it, and the public areas, are very tired and shabby looking and could do with an uplift. If I were staying longer I doubt I would have stayed here. Having said that, it was satisfactory for what I wanted.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

This hotel has improved a great deal. It used to be drab and a tad worn and dirty. The rooms are now freshly decorated and welcoming. THe beds are comfortable and everything was clean. My only gripe was with the immediate area which seemed rather run down. Overall a very pleasant stay with helpful and very nice receptionists

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I staying here on November 27th 2011 and was woken by very loud hammering, drilling and sawing at 8.45am, which continued on and off all morning. They are obviously having work done on the hotel which I believe will be going on for some time. I understand hotels need to be redecorated but they shouldn't start noise work until after 10am. Also, rooms close to where the noise is should maybe be left vacant, this felt like it was next door but apparently it was underneath my room. I chatted to some other guests as i was checking out who were also awoken by the noise. The reception staff agreed with everything I said when i was phoned up to complain but they couldn't do anything about it stopping. I would definitely phone to check this building work has ended before i staying here

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Helens hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalon Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalon Court Hotel

Address: Linkway West, St Helens WA101NG, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson St. Helens)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St Helens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalon Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Chalon Court hotel in St. Helens welcomes guest'sExperience delightful St. Helens as well as the lovely counties of Northwest England from this cosy home base. Only 35 minutes from Manchester International Airport and a mere 20 minutes from John Lennon Airport, with easy access to the Trafford centre and liverpool one. this St. Helens hotel features contemporary, colourful rooms as well as on-site dining at the Pyramid Restaurant. Business and leisure travellers alike enjoy access to the hotel's fitness centre, in addition to room service, convenient work stations and Wireless, High-speed Internet access (fees apply). The Chalon Court hotel in St. Helens also has five adaptable meetings rooms, which can be tailored to accommodate a wide range of special events.The Chalon Court hotel's location makes it easy to explore the vibrant cities of Liverpool and Manchester as well as the scenic landscapes of Merseyside.The 84 stylish and up-to-date rooms include features like LCD televisions, mini safes, hairdryers .Visitors can savour British-inspired cuisine at Pyramid Restaurant in the Chalon Court hotel.Guests can maintain their workout routines thanks to the on-site fitness centre complete with indoor pool at Chalon Court hotel.This St. Helens Chalon Court hotel offers secure parking for 150 cars.The Chalon Court hotels helpful staff are happy to assist guests with impressive events for up to 300 attendees ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chalon Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson St. Helens Hotel St Helens
Park Inn Saint Helens
Park Inn St Helens
Chalon Court Hotel St Helens, Merseyside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalon Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.