We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Survived the night!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of ParkView Hotel and Guest House

ParkView Hotel and Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added ParkView Hotel and Guest House to your Saves list
ParkView Hotel and Guest House
333 - 335 Prescot Road, St Helens WA10 3HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 St Helens B&B and Inns
Birmingham
1 review
“Survived the night!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

One towel given for use between two adults, one table lamp on floor (no table) and no plug to reach. Ceiling light not working, left us with one other tiny table light in a family sized room (couldn't even see to read). No milk supplied for tea making facilities (only cream for coffee which curdled the drink anyway) so had to go to local Spar to buy some. Would have liked to sort matters out with proprietor but they did not answer the bell. Picture of Faulty Towers in dining room was not out of place.
Booked this hotel as it was advertised under Pet Friendly Accommodation site - needs to be removed as pets are no longer welcome.
Hotel up for sale - No takers yet!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at ParkView Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We generally only leave one towel in a room for single occupancy as guest do steal them. Further towels and tea/coffee are available on request. Bulbs do occasionally go at the most inconvenient time and this cannot be forecast. Furthermore, due to revised Health and Safety regulations, bulbs are classed as electrical equipment and must only be changed by a professional. This same procedure happens in hospitals. We appologise for the inconvenience but our hands are tied. Apart from these unfortunate minor hiccups we are glad you enjoyed your stay. From our future reservations we can see you have booked for next year and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    4
    7
    19
See reviews for
9
2
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stay away from this filthy disgusting place it's worse than Faulty Towers if you call a room the size of a cupboard e suite to sit on the toilet the seat kept falling into your back the shower was so small god help a large person woken at 8.30am to ask when we would be leaving knocked on door half an hour later to ask when we were paying OMg I was trying to get dressed didn't even have the breakfast as smelling the greasy bacon cooking at 6am was enough never again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at ParkView Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Unfortunately this is the sort of tripe and abuse that often happens on trip advisor. As advised at time of booking we dont mind the ocasional stag or hen do but they must respect the other hotel guests. On this ocasion these guests didn't. They were already sloshed before ariving, refused to pay upfront (which is hotel policy) and were very rude and abusive to the staff. We accommodated their needs and decided to let them stay as a gesture of good will and on the assurance they would behave. However, we did receive complaints from other guests about their behaviour the next day. As this left an air of discontent we decided to encoutage them to leave early after paying like any responsible hotel. These people in question are fortunately not our typical guests. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Helens hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel should be advertised as tip adviser, stayed in room 8 up three flights no problem but looked like a fire trap, room was dirty, sheets had not been changed, furniture was a pile of firewood, tv remote, ask your cleaners to have a look not been cleaned in years,yes years, breakfast slapped on a plate.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview_Hotel, General Manager at ParkView Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Firstly, the guest paid for a single and was upgraded to a double en-suite albeit at the top of the building for only £25. All our rooms have a fire risk assesment and yearly contractual inspections. Secondly, we have a high health/hygeine assesment and our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis. Our furniture is basic but adequate as reflected in the price. Finally, we provide a simple hearty breakfast, juice, cereal, toast and a full english. We represent extremenly good value for money at a time when customers need it. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a pleasant stay, rooms spacious and clean, breakfast ample, location great, value superb. Free wifi and parking an unexpected bonus. Dont expect the ritz but a great little place. Best to ring in advance with time of arrival.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A traditional guest house, big spacious rooms although a little dated. Staff welcoming. Saw a basic room at first but a bit too basic for me so upgraded to an ensuite. It was worth the difference. Friendly atmosphere, no pressure in the morning. Breakfast good. Overall a very positive stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We only lasted 1 night so can only go by the few hours we were there. We got there about 6 the lady showed us to our room after scrambling through the hallway past the stupid table that was clearly in the way (even though this was a fire exit), got to our room and had dirty brown sheets,dirty stained carpet,dusty broken blinds,windows that didn't close it only if you practially wrestled with it,the 1 radiator had no handle to turn down so we had to sweat with the window open (on a ground floor rm) bathroom had no shelves,1 towel each n finally a bedside lamp that had no bulb in and 1 free plug at the back of the tv and that was hard to get to. The manager was friendly and helpful but I'd never stay here again everywhere I went was just too cluttered and cramped

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview_Hotel, General Manager at ParkView Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your interest. We are in the process of de-cluttering. It is difficult when trying to keep with the charm of the Victorian ambience which our more discerning guest appreciate but are progressing well. Finally, let me reassure you ALL our bedding is clean as are our rooms. Your particular room as being on the ground floor has child/security locks which for those not familiar with hotel stays may find them difficult to open. Furthermore, if your radiator thermostat had stuck then all you had to do is ask a member of staff. May I say, I am glad you enjoyed your stay regardless to these teething problems and we luck forward to seeing you again at the Park View Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlech, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed in ParkView to be close to Whiston Hospital (less than 10 mins drive). I have coeliac disease so finding gluten free food is sometimes challenging; ParkView were great and cooked my bacon separately and made scrambled egg so that I was safe. Bathroom, towels and bed linen very clean. Tea/coffee facilities and plenty of tv channels.
Very quiet, both in terms of traffic, even though not far from main road, and fellow guests.
Ok, maybe decor is tired (and carpets have seen better days), but for the price it can't be faulted.

Room Tip: You need to ask if you want a shower as some rooms only have baths, and my shower had a 'roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ParkView Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ParkView Hotel and Guest House

Address: 333 - 335 Prescot Road, St Helens WA10 3HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > St Helens
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St Helens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is 1 mile from St Helen's town. It is facing Taylor Park ideal for those guests who like that early morning jog or walk before breakfast. The hotel offers 3 types of accommodation. On the ground floor are executive suites i.e. widescreen TV, leather furniture and bathroom with bidet. The 2nd floor offers standard accommodation of en-suite single, double and family rooms or our budget single rooms from £20 per night. All rooms have colour TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your ParkView Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Hotel
ParkView Hotel And Guest House St Helens, Merseyside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ParkView Hotel and Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.