We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kidderminster Road, Bromsgrove B61 9AB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bromsgrove
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“One night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel located in a nice position with plenty of car parking. Good sized room with a very large bed. The standard of cleanliness was very good. Our dissapointment was the the breakfast. We took breakfast at 10.15 . The plates available were cold as was some of the food items, and some items were missing. It would have been nice to have had a choice of bread rolls, not just sliced white or brown bread. Expected more from the breakfast. Satisfied with all other aspects of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanNorthern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I was sorry to hear that breakfast was below our usual high levels. You feedback will certainly be passed onto the people concerned where I am sure they will take it onboard to improve our guest experience. I do hope this does not deter you from using the hotel in the future

Thank you

Alan Northern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    162
    83
    28
    15
See reviews for
110
108
20
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night for a wedding reception and found it perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable for a short stay.The staff were friendly and helpful, managed a good sleep when we eventually got to bed.
The breakfast was buffet style with a normal choice and good. Can't really comment on the rest of the food as we had a wedding meal so not representative of the restaurant .
The pool area looked nice though didn't have time to use it
The only downside would be the noise from the motorway if you wanted the bedroom windows open

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanNorthern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, including your attendance at the wedding. We do aim to make everyones stay memorable. If you are in the area again, we hope you chose the hotel once more.

Alan Northern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here while attending a wedding nearby, as did many of the guests. The hotel was busy on both nights, but the service we received was perfectly OK. There is a nice spacious bar with a (fake!) coal fire which has a nice ambience, and the young staff in there are very helpful. You can dine in the bar if you don't fancy sitting in the restaurant, although the food we had in the bar was distinctly average - a very watery mushroom carbonara.
The restaurant was packed on both days for breakfast, with kids running around and a lot of noise generally - why can't parents control their kids? However, the quality of the food was very good, so it's not the hotels fault if it's difficult to enjoy because of the brats!
The room was spacious and clean, with a nice bathroom. The hotel is very handy for the motorway network.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanNorthern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. I was pleased to read that on the whole you were very happy with the stay. I will pass on your feedback to the Chef about the carbonara. I was sorry that the children spoilt your breakfast experience somewhat. I will pass your feedback onto the Restaurant Manager though it can be difficult for us to control unless they are causing a danger to other guests.

We hope that you chose this hotel the next time you are in the area.

Thank you

Alan Northern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights with in laws and two small children in July, so we could attend a wedding in Birmingham. Location was excellent being just a few miles from the M42. Staff were helpful and polite. Food was spot on although not much to pick from on the dinner menu and a little expensive. Bar area was relaxing and pool facilities adaquate although slightly annoying that children were not allowed in at certain times, even though it was empty. Rooms were adaquate although there are no rooms with 2 double beds that was unusual for hotels nowadays. There were some annoying protesters outside whinging on about some development and trying to get you to sign a petition which I had no interest in not being from the area or really could be bothered with when I walk out of the hotel door! All in all a excellent hotel which I would stay at again if I was in the area. I'd recommend eating out or getting bar snacks for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanNorthern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay. I was pleased to hear that on the whole most things were to your satisfaction. There was a handful of protesters outside the hotel premises, who were initially on the hotel grounds. We asked them to leave the grounds. They were protesting about a new housing development around the corner.

We do hope that this does not deter you from using the hotel in the future

Thank you once again

Alan Northern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We picked this hotel for it's location. Within a radius of 10 miles you will find enough NT & HHA properties to keep you occupied the whole week end, it made a change not to have a long drive between properties. We found time for a swim!

The hotel is right on the edge of Bromsgrove, ample free parking and the restaurant has views over the countryside. We thought the bar area was beautifully decorated with a modern 'real flame' fire which actually gave the hotel some individual atmosphere, there is also another bar area around near the indoor pool if you wanted to eat in the bar rather than the restaurant (much better choice).

Our room was upgraded on arrival but I must say due to the design the window was extremely small if you like a view! We ate in the restaurant on the Sunday night and was a bit disappointed with the lack of 'meat' dishes on the menu, fine if you like fish but we were ok for one nights choice. The set menu is £15 for 2 courses, £20 for 3.

As I am a Priority Club member we were offered 500 points or a voucher for a drink + snack at the bar which is always a nice touch.

All of the staff were very helpful and we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanNorthern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. I was pleased to hear that in most respects you were happy with the hotel. I will certainly pass your comments onto the Chef with regards to the choice.

We hope to see you back soon

Thank you

Alan Northern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Second stay at this excellent hotel in the past year.
Good bar area. Excellent breakfast. All you could ask for.
Great leisure centre.
I had a large room. Bathroom was ok but could do with updating.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanNorthern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments. I am pleased to hear that you were impressed with breakfast which is of course, the most important meal of the day. I was also pleased to hear that you were happy with all other aspects of your stay. We do plan to refurbish the bathrooms in the future.

We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future

Alan Northern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I have previously reviewed this hotel, the hotel is great for a stopover or for business. They have invested money doing the place out and I would recommend staying for 1 night. The restaurant is vey poor and the standard has not improved since my last stay. The staff are very poorly trained and the breakfast is appalling. I have read some of the latest reviews and it seems the general manager is deluded, he does get quite defensive when replying to comments, sort it out instead of questioning your paying customers who pay your wages. I believe that is " indicative of your usual guest experience". no one sets out to give average reviews, as I say the hotel is great, the restaurant very poor.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanNorthern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your second comments following your second stay at the hotel. We really do appreciate your feedback. I am glad that in most respects you are very pleased with the hotel, however I do understand your concerns with regards to the food and restaurant service. I can sincerely assure you that we are working very hard to improve the consistency of the experience that we provide.

The hotel team puts a great deal of effort in, to achieve great results, and for the most part they are successful, and most guests do leave the hotel with very complimentary remarks. We had our annual AA inspection just 2 weeks ago which renewed our 4 star status, and their comments with regards to the Restaurant were "All staff members stood out equally as well, and those in the restaurant and bar were keen to provide good service"

We are truly sorry that on this second occasion we did not get things right for you again, however, we do hope that this does not deter you from using the brand in the future.

Thank you

Alan Northern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove

Address: Kidderminster Road, Bromsgrove B61 9AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bromsgrove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bromsgrove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove has been transformed into a 4 star hotel in the heart of England. The 3.5 Million investment has resulted in the hotel becoming the premier venue for business or pleasure within the Bromsgrove area. The hotel is close to the Cotswolds, Birmingham NEC, and Cadbury World. Bromsgrove s corner of Worcestershire is surprisingly pastoral, with a mixture of the rolling Lickey Hills, picturesque villages and captivating walks and still we are only half an hour s drive away from Birmingham City Centre. Stylish bedrooms offer air-conditioning, laptop safes, mini bars, broadband internet access, desk space to work at and seriously comfortable beds! With 110 bedrooms at the hotel, you can choose from Suites, Executive, Family, Interconnecting and Accessible rooms. The facilities on offer include the Revive Health Club & Spa with a brand new purpose built fitness suite equipped with the latest Technogym equipment, a heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna, spa pool and beauty rooms. All of our Meeting and Event rooms at he hotel benefit from natural daylight, wireless internet access and touch control air-conditioning and lighting. The Fairfield Suite catering for up to 250 delegates and guests is self contained, with its own entrance, breakout area and bar. The General Manager is Glen Staniforth and is always happy to welcome guests and listen to comments and assist in any way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove Hotel Bromsgrove
Holiday Inn Bromsgrove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.