We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting Worse” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough & Harrow

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Plough & Harrow
Stourbridge Road, Bromsgrove B61 9LG, England
01527 877 355
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 86 Restaurants in Bromsgrove
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Stourbridge
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Getting Worse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We travelled over this lunchtime to visit this pub as we have always been delighted with the food, however we were to be disappointed.

Ordered a carvery and we were first in the queue when it opened at 12:10pm. The Turkey wasn't ready, the pork looked ok, but the crackling was very soft, carver told us it was because it had been steamed????

The beef, well all as i can say is that it had been reheated from the previous day. It was tough and the carver piled it on our plates as though she was trying to get rid of it.

Vegetables were sort of ok, although it was obvious that the roast potatoes were not fresh and the peas were like bullets.

Sorry Plough & Harrow, you have lost our custom

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“It was awful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went early on a Friday evening and had a carvery meal. The meat was very dry and,the roast potatoes had obviously been warmed up from lunchtime and were cold in the middle. We won't be going there again!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Wow this pub set to impress,,,,,we had a large group for dinner and the pub had obviously had a face lift with great decor and even had a mist room for those hot Sunday arvo's with an open roof,,,the meals were restaurant quality with the steaks ordered cooked to perfection and the vegetables were crispy and fresh,,,it's a great place for families as you don't know it's a pub unless you go in through other doorways that are secluded from the public bars,,,bar service was a little slow but it was efficiently organised,,,,being a visitor I found the prices for a sat night quite cheap by comparison,espspecialy when the quality was there...outstanding,,,we are heading there for a wedding next year so will definately re visit again...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Handy Carvery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We visit here quite a lot as it is handy for a quick carvery meal on our way to our destination. The meat is plentiful and the vegetables were not overcooked. They do offer a separate menu as well as the carvery, but the menu is limited to traditional pub fayre. The carpets and seating is slightly worn out and the pub itself has a rustic feel to it, but it is a traditional public house and sadly they are few and far between these days. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The toilets are clean and tidy. We have been here on many occasions over the past few years and it has always delivered a well cooked meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Another good visit (where was everyone else ?)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We went back to the Plough and Harrow on Sunday for a carvery dinner. As ever the food was lovely and great value for what you pay. Some of the veg was slightly tired looking, but that can happen on an all-day carvery service. The three meats were very tasty, and the lad serving the meat was very generous with the portions. As always, the choice of veg is really good, and the roast spuds were exceptional this time round.

We ate until we were full to bursting with great food. As ever, we would thoroughly recommend the Plough for a carvery dinner any night of the week. We ate at 6pm on a Sunday, and our only question was where was everyone else ?? We were one of only three tables eating, which seemed surprising considering the great reputation the Plough has......

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough & Harrow also viewed

Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Droitwich, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Plough & Harrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough & Harrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.