We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hour spent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kirby Hall

Kirby Hall
Deene, Corby NN17 3EN, England
01536 203230
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Attractions in Corby
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Oundle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A good hour spent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

A very impressive site and great that English Heritage have saved a lot of it. It would benefit from some small signs in areas/rooms as the very long lectures on the audio units seem to concentrate on the architecture. More on who lived there and room uses please. Stunning place and fabulous location.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Camberley
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We visited on a wet and miserable day but the house was still impressive. The house comprises a ruined section and another section which is being slowly restored. We took the audio guide which was excellent, informative but not too detailed. The guide gave us a good understanding of the house and its history. The gardens and setting were lovely. We intend to return when the weather is better when I am sure the house will be even more impressive.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My family and I visited on Hallowe'en - and it proved to be a great choice, partly ruined, full of the ghosts of times past it showed how a once great house can fall into ruin yet still weave a spell of mystery and surprise. The dereliction of parts of the house is sad, yet the grafitti from the 1800s, the fireplaces and blackened friezes above the doors show how the building would have been. We enjoyed reading the information relating to the renovations and as it was a cold damp day we found ourselves alone in this magnificent buiding able to really get a feel for it. The ladies in the lodge were vey helpful ( and patient with my daughter who quizzed them with questions on the White Queen!) There is a nearby road which is closed due to major works which sent us on a very long detour, but we were very glad we stuck with it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Full of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just returned from Kirby Hall after a very pleasant few hours discovering its history via the free audio tour guide included with the modest entry price. There are so many clues around the Hall to its past; it is not a total ruin. Although empty of furniture, you can visit the upper rooms where King James 1 was several times a guest, and then explore the ruined 'service' part of the estate where there are several fireplaces and other kitchen features which conjure up a vision of servants slaving away to cook for visitors to the Hall. I would imagine architectural history students would find the numerous examples of how such a building was constructed and decorated of great interest. One fragment of original wallpaper was used to re-create it in a particular room. I appreciated the peace and tranquility of this place, Picnic tables are available in the grounds.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worthwhile 2 hour visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Good audio guide. Great to see the work English heritage doing in restioration/ understanding the history of the building. Very quiet so able to really appreciate the suroundings without hoards of not really interested coach tourists!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirby Hall also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Corby, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Market Harborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to Kirby Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirby Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.