We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel Corby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel Corby to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel Corby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rockingham Road, Corby NN17 2AE, England (Formerly Hotel Elizabeth Rockingham)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Corby
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Last stayed here 16 months ago. Enjoyed visit then so returned this week for a 2 night voucher break. Extremely helpful reception staff gave us the room we had had before. On the back, ground floor and very quiet. Now a bit shabby but we were told refurbishment due soon. Radiator very hot but we turned it down and could easily open a window. Beds very comfortable too. As not very busy breakfast was not self-service and full english was cooked to order and served on hot plates which was very nice. Waitresses very helpful, as were all the staff. We shall return again in due course as this is a good centre for going out and about.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel Corby, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear gadabout70,
Thank you so much for writing a review on TripAdvisor, we welcome all feedback.
We are in the process of starting a refurbishment program to update our offering and cannot wait for the outcome and welcome anyone to come and give us there feedback once completed.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Warren Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    68
    34
    12
    4
See reviews for
30
61
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here in January for a wedding. It was done very well and my friend had a brilliant day. The room was spacious and clean. The reception staff and the bar staff were not the happiest or most helpful I've experienced, and being it was a wedding I think they could have been a bit more accommodating. However the hotel itself was good.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel Corby, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Emma B,
Thank you so much for writing a review on TripAdvisor, it is always a pleasure to read such reviews, I share all feedback with the team. Only with this feedback can we move our business forward and increase the customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kindest regards,

Warren Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Northants
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a lovely valentines meal here which was arranged with such ease as the staff are so helpful and friendly (especially Allen, he was brilliant).

We came here as we were married in this hotel around 6 years ago (before it was a Best Western) and thought we would reminisce!

The three course meal was exquisite and the service fantastic.

We would definitely come again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel Corby, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear lilmisspurple86,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us here at the Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel, Corby.
It is such a pleasure to hear such positive comments and I will be sharing your feedback with all the team who I know will be delighted to read such comments (especially Allan who you mentioned by name).
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Warren Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alford, Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Not the worst and not the best hotel I've stayed at. Our room and bathroom were clean and comfy. Lovely shower, large bath and huge bed. What puts the hotel down a bit is the lack of atmosphere in the bar area. We went for a game of pool and the music was so quiet that you couldn't actually hear it in the seating area. If you're like us - out all day and only use the hotel as a base to sleep then this is good value. Great location for a short drive to Rutland water and a few national trust places.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel Corby, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear MissyB0707,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.
We take all feedback very seriously and welcome all feedback to better our service and product alike.
We are in the very near future going through a refurbishment program as you mention the bar is a little dated and lacking in atmosphere.
We welcome you to come back and see for yourself the changes and would love for you to share your feedback with us all again on tripadvisor.

Kind regards,
Warren Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Had a new year country music weekend here, music great if you like that sort of thing otherwise pretty dire. Rooms are a bit tired and probably due for a refurb. Staff ok and food reasonable. Plenty of parking but unless on business I can't think of one reason to visit the location, due to the time of year even rocking ham castle grounds were shut and the only place to go was a walk round the local industrial estate. Not the most entertaining way to spend a break.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel Corby, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Nobbyclark,
Thank you for sharing with us your feedback re: your stay over the New Years Eve period.
It is a shame that you did visit at the time of year when as you rightly say there was not much open or to offer but this it the same for any location over the festive period.
Corby actually has a lot to offer only minutes drive from our door step there are vast pleasures and Corby is the UK's fastest growing town albeit industrious.
Thank you once again fro sharing your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kindest regards,

Warren Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I visit Corby on business several times each year and have complete discretion as to where I stay. I have settled on the Best Western Rockingham Forest as my first choice. THe staff are always pleasant and welcoming. The hotel is always clean. I have never had any problems with the facilities in the room. The only complaint is that the wifi can be slow in the evenings when presumably it is in maximum demand.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel Corby, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Trevor J,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience with us here at the Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel, your feedback is key for us to better our services and offering alike.

During your stay we were experiencing high demand for the use of the WIFI which as you rightly say was slow due to the demand.
Since your stay we have looked in to the WIFI offering and looking to upgrade our systems to negate this from happening in the future, only with such feedback is this possible.
Thank you once again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Warren Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The location of the hotel was ideal for a visit to Corby for a gig....the downside was that we arrived back late to find a message on the front door advising us to call a specific number to be let in. Not good when your mobile has run out of charge so it was lucky that we had two phones on us.

The central heating was not working, but we were not told about this when booking in, only finding out when we went to ask why it wasn't heating up. We were informed that electric fan should have been turned on a couple of hours before our arrival, but this hadn't happened and as a result the room was very cold.....not good if you suffer from Reynauds as I do. Once switched on though the heater quickly warmed up the room.

The free wifi is a plus, and the staff were very friendly. Bed good, bedroom and bathroom a decent size, and clean. Hated the plastic cups that were so flimsy they broke when being removed from the sealed packaging. The hotel itself looks very dated, and could do with a refit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel Corby, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Lynne T,
Thank you for sharing this review with us here at the Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel, we take all feedback very seriously and am sorry to learn you did not have sufficient heating in the bedroom upon your arrival, I do hope this did not cause your any discomfort with your Reynauds?
We are planning a minor refurbishment and would hope you return and share again your feedback.

Thank you once again for your feedback and sorry you experienced some issues during your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Warren Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel Corby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel Corby

Address: Rockingham Road, Corby NN17 2AE, England (Formerly Hotel Elizabeth Rockingham)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Corby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Corby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel Corby 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel has recently been taken over operating as an independent company which is currently investing in the hotel to upgrade the bedrooms, external space, restaurant, bar and conference centre ensuring the best quality product is on offer for all to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel Corby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rockingham Forest Corby Hotel Corby
Best Western Corby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel Corby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.