We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful - Never again!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ali's Balti

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ali's Balti
9 Pytchley Court, Corby, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 71 Restaurants in Corby
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Northants
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awful - Never again!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My friends and I had used this restaurant for many years, but hadn't for a while. We decided to have a takeway one Friday and placed an order for delivery. The food took over an hour to come and when it arrived all I can say was I wouldn't feed it to a dog!!!!

The rice that came for both of us was stodgy and was clumped together. Both main dishes were swimming in so much grease it turned your stomach to just look at it.

We were so appalled that we rang the restaurant to complain. The owner would not accept that we thought the mean was so bad that he sent a delivery driver to come and collect the meals so that he could check for himself. This took another 1.2 hour.

After an hours phone call several days later where the owner gave his opinion of the meal, which he considered acceptable he eventually offered to refund the cost of the meal. Two months later we are still waiting!!!

Avoid this place like the plague!!!!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delivered Hot! Great Value, Great Quality, Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We have a takeaway delivered to us out in the village almost every week - a service in itself! The food is always spot on and so full of flavour - and it is always delivered hot! If they are running late, or have a query with my on-line order, they will always phone to check. (only had to do that twice in over year of on-line ordering - once to check an order, once to apologise for running late (it had only been half an hour from placing order!) Brilliant value for money and the quality of the food is second to none! Really highly recommend for online ordering and delivery service. :-)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Went for a birthday party and regret going there. Restaurant very cramped, they sell strongbow from plastic bottles but charge premium price. Food ok but service wasn't, wait time between starters and mains too long.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service and prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I am a regular visitor to Corby but only discovered Ali's in the summer and have been there a few times now. They do a Tia Maria version of Chicken Tikka Masala, you may laugh at the title but this works very well indeed.

You can taste the fresh spices in their dishes which can be rare event in most Indian restaurants.

If you are a visitor to Corby, it can take a bit of finding so jump in a black cab.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reliable, good value, friendly local curry house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Basic no frills restaurant but good food and service. Menu just right.Recommended

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali's Balti also viewed

 

Been to Ali's Balti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali's Balti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.