We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you know good food and service book now !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Continental

Cafe Continental
21 High Street, Dunblane FK15 0EE, Scotland
+(44)1786 824234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Dunblane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: French & European restaurant set over two floors with Idyllic views over the river Allan. Relaxed cafe & brasserie offering a wide variety of coffee, drinks, snacks and meals from 9am to late 7 days a week. A further A la Carte restaurant offers exceptional dining from our world class chefs which also has panoramic views over the river to the rear of the property. Entrance is from the High Street, Dunblane which also has a small outdoor seating terrace. Regular entertainment is offered within the Brasserie and on Friday and Saturday evenings, customers may enjoy further entertainment until 1am whilst sampling an exceptional range of wines and cocktails.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“If you know good food and service book now !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Having worked in hospitality for a number of years , I can not reccomend this place enough the service was above and beyond , The menu is as delightful to read as to taste . I had the lamb and it was beautiful . I could rave over the whole eating experience but there is no it enough space . I do recomend having a platter for dessert though its amazing . Please take the time to enjoy the atmosphere both upstairs and down .The men playing on piano and guitar were awesome (may need to book them ). I do wonder if some of the other diners who have posted reviews were at the same place or maybe just don't know great food and service . well done cafe continental can't wait to come again loving the place .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    46
    19
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“At last, a good resto in Dunblane!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

For far too long Dunblane (where we live) has been a culinary desert. So we were keen to try Café Continental, having heard mixed opinions from local friends.

We ate in the Brasserie (street level) last Saturday night, and we really enjoyed our meal. Smart surroundings, good service, and excellent food, with the added attraction of a pianist whom we enjoyed.

It's not cheap, but we feel we got good value for money. We had a Crayfish Salad and a Goat's Cheese Salad for starters, then Rabbit and Hake, with a Cream Brulée and a Chocolate Ganache for dessert. Together with a large glass of good house wine each, and two macchiattos, this cost us £62 plus gratuity.

The starters were very ample in size, and the desserts were quite large enough. The only criticism - the mains were on the small side, especially the rabbit. An optional vegetable side dish would be a good idea. Though it did mean we had room for desserts!

One other thing - the Brasserie menu is quite limited for mains, and there are no "specials". So unless the menu is changed, if we go at all regularly (which we hope we will), we may run out of options. And while the (downstairs) Restaurant menu looks good, and is not too much more expensive, that room does not have the same atmosphere - or a weekend pianist!

PS - It opens at 09:00 for breakfast, which I am told is good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were recommended to visit this restaurant whilst staying locally and were not dissapointed. We ordered a platter of sample starters which were fantastic. There was a singer/piano player accompanies by a young guitarist who were both fantastic also and gave the night a really good atmosphere. We both tried the Coq au van which too was great. No room this time for desserts but hopefully we can try next time we are in the area. Also, look out for the quirky waiter, electronic calling devices...neat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Needs to improve, very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

On recent trip to dunblane, decided to try out this new cafe. Food was good but the place lacked in atmosphere and service. With any new business you need to get it right and here they haven't yet. Don't understand the button system on table. Do you have to press waiter service to get someone's attention? If I hadn't don't think any one would have cleared our plates. No soft drinks dispense on our visit so asked for ginger beer and lime but told no as lime was on drink dispense but table next to us seemed to have lime! Not great so had a tap water. Kids fish balls was one ball of fish cake mix which was too fussy for my 3 year old. Sandwiches and soup very good. Staff need training in coffees as asked for macchiato but got cappuccino, staff very happy to change so correct. Probably will not be back as much better places with more character in the area

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papmanagement, General Manager at Cafe Continental, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for your comments. Unfortunately our drinks system failed for approximately 20 minutes during a full lunch service which caused the problem with your drinks order. We apologise for any inconvenience. the table near you had ordered their drinks prior to this. We are glad that you found the food good and the service attentive to your needs. All staff have undergone three days of coffee training by Danesi of Rome prior to making coffee within our restaurant. kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent lunch, fantastic location, great service, wonderful coffee and considering they have only been open 3 weeks, well done all involved. Would make a train trip out to Dunblane to eat here .We wish them all the success in the world. Would return, would recommend

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Continental also viewed

Dunblane, Stirlingshire
Dunblane, Stirlingshire
 
Dunblane, Stirlingshire
Dunblane, Stirlingshire
 

Been to Cafe Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.