We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay and very helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off this Summer
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Dunblane
ayrshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay and very helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Extremely friendly hotel, staff went out of their way to accomodate any requests.
Warm cookie on arrival was a big hit with the children. Very comfortable stay.
We stayed in a suite which was lovely. Hotel location great for Stirling, Blair Drummond and the Trossachs. Was a bit concerned before arrival if hotel would be child friendly. No need to worry as staff were great with children and they had a great time at the swimming pool.

Breakfast top class
Overall fantastic stay and will definitely return.

Would agree with a previous comment that hotel is a bit on the warm side



The only fault that I can give it was that it was really hot throughout the whole hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Hotel Administrator at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Really pleased to read your feedback and to know that you and your children had such a good stay with us. I hope that you will return soon…
David Tate on behalf of the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    539
    374
    203
    77
See reviews for
313
837
30
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We booked a 3 night stay - our room had a table with no chairs - only a desk chair which was uncomfortable to say the least - asked for additional chair which took more than a day to arrive - the lift in the Stirling wing and corridors were littered with wedding debris from the Saturday - and were not hoovered until we reported it on Monday evening. Food in the restaurant in the evening was good - but understaffed meaning delays in service - we left our room at 9 a.m. for a day's sightseeing on Monday and when we returned at 7 p.m. it had not been cleaned. We reported this and after some time staff arrived but can't say we were impressed by the service. We do not recommend a stay here and will not return. Poor show for a hotel advertising as luxury - shudder to think what foreign tourists make of our hotel standards.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Hotel Administrator at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
I was disappointed to read your comments on Trip Advisor and to see that our normally high standards were not experienced by you on your recent visit. There is no excuse for such poor standards of service and cleanliness and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
David Tate on behalf of the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Most guests seem to be on a Scotland trip using this as a nice location for a night, not because of the need to stay in Dunblane . My business brought me to Stirling but then I read about this place and was so fascinated that I decied to stay here instead. The imposing turn-of-the century building up the slopes from where you enter the vast compound looks truly stunning. The rooms then come as a slight disappointment.; not that they are bad, but the awsaoeem feeling of when you entered is not continued in the rather mediocre rooms. They are ok and convenient, but not more. The hotel has a gym, pool, sauna - quite spacious,clean and efficient , but with the `charm` of a public city bath elsewhere. Not necessarily worth the de-tour from Stirling, but just great when looking for a stop-over on a rental car `all-Scotland` tour.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Hotel Administrator at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
We are glad that you decided to try the Doubletree experience on your recent visit to Stirling. A planned major development of the Health Club has been proposed and we, too, are aware of the need to update some areas in advance of this. Sorry that you did not feel that some of the rooms were not as impressive as the exterior of the hotel. Do hope that you will visit us again when you are in the area…
David Tate on behalf of the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This is a really frindly hotel. The reception staff were really welcoming and helpful. The warm cookie on arrival was a real treat. The bedroom was comfey and clean and I slept really well. I really enjoyed my stay

Is is only a short walk to Dunblane to, so really well located. As we stayed there in Autumn, the leaves were begining to turn and the view from the entrance was stunning.

The only fault that I can give it was that it was really hot throughout the whole hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Hotel Administrator at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
The grounds certainly do look stunning at this time of the year in all their Autumn glory and I am glad that you enjoyed this and that the facilities and service were so enjoyable. The cookies are good, aren’t they! Sorry about the heat – makes a change from a complaint about the cold in Scotland but disappointed if this spoiled your stay with us.
David Tate on behalf of the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I have just returned from a one night 'Pamper Break' with my fiance. We got a great deal which included a treatment in the spa, dinner in the restaurant, an overnight stay and breakfast the following morning. The massage we received was amazing and the food in the restaurant was the best I've tasted in a Hotel. We got a free room upgrade and our room was gorgeous with a king sized bed, flat screen tv and amazing views. The service by everyone was outstanding, from the bar and restaurant staff to the girls on reception. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone and am now desperate to get back!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Hotel Administrator at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor. It is always good to read reviews from satisfied customers and we are glad that the Kailyard Restaurant served such delicious food. Your comments about the outstanding service you received have been shared with all members of the team here. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon…
David Tate on behalf of the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed at this hotel with a group of friends and family for my husband's 40th. It has been refurbished recently, so all the decor is of a high standard.
We had requested a room upgrade prior to arrival, but the room we were given was tiny. I called reception to remind them that we were supposed to be in a superior room, and they told me that I was, and that I should look out of the window to see the lovely view, as that was what made it a superior room!
Picturesque as it was, we requested to be moved to a larger room, which was arranged with minimum fuss.
Dinner was lovely, although not cheap. The same applies to the bar (£5.75 for a small glass of house white!)
All and all, a great stay, although they did manage to have lost the birthday cake when we went to collect it the next morning...

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Hotel Administrator at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Thank you for the feedback you have posted regarding your visit to the hotel. As you will be aware the hotel was built in 1878 and, despite the £12m recently spent on the major refurbishment of the hotel, it was not possible to change the sizes or configurations of the rooms within the building, giving us a range of rooms of different sizes and styles. I am pleased to see that your request to be moved to a different, larger, room was arranged with a minimum of fuss. We do feel that our pricing structure reflects the quality of food offered and relates well to prices charged in similar hotels. Overall you had a great stay and we hope that you will return soon.
David Tate on behalf of the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed at the Hydro for 2 nights as a late Anniversary weekend. We didn’t know what to expect as we had not read any reviews but were not disappointed as we drove into the extensive driveway.

The hotel sits at the top of the hill and the view up to it is very impressive. We had booked a twin room but on our confirmation we asked for a double if available. When we checked in were given a double room that we were very pleased with. The room was spacious and very modern, the decor was nice and the room was well equipped and the bed was a king rather than a double.

We dropped our baggage off at the room and went down to the bar. The staff were very pleasant and eager to help but there are not enough of them working.

We went for dinner in the restaurant which was very nice and the service was good. We were however, very disappointed on the Saturday night. The restaurant was very busy and there was also a wedding on that night. We waited nearly 50 minutes for our main course and I was about to complain when it arrived. After dinner we went to the bar which was very busy with people staying in the hotel and from the wedding reception. This again highlighted the fact that they do not have enough staff to cater for the number of people in the hotel.

All this said it would not deter me from staying here again as I thought it was a very nice hotel, nice staff and excellent location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Hotel Administrator at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
Thanks for posting your feedback after your recent stay in our hotel - we are pleased to note that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Glad that you were so pleased with your room and the dinner on the first night. I do apologise for the poor service on the Saturday evening in both the restaurant and the bar. Being busy is no excuse for poor service and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve. Thanks again for the time and trouble you have taken to post this feedback and we hope to see you again sometime soon.
David Tate on behalf of the Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.