We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, relaxation and great service what more can you need?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WINTER SALE NOW ON!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Glasgow
1 review
“Comfort, relaxation and great service what more can you need?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

My mum and I stayed at the hotel for the first time, we didnt know what to expect but first impressions were that it was a stunning looking hotel. We were checked in very efficiently by reception team and the room we were given was clean and comfortable. The only problem with the room was that the window didnt open but we were given a fan which was ok. Dinner in the Kailyard was superb, one member of staff in particular, Laura, was excellent explaining certain dishes and advising on wine choices. We enjoyed our spa treatments the next day and dinner again on our 2nd nt. Bfast both mornings was excellent also. Cant wait to go back with the rest of my family so that they can enjoy it also. Excellent location not too far from Glasgow.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Hotel Administrator at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. Pleased to read that both you and your mum had such a great time and that you had superb meals in the Kailyard Restaurant during your visit. Do hope that we’ll see you again soon with the rest of your family…
David Tate on behalf of the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    656
    462
    243
    91
See reviews for
380
1,019
34
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Upon arrival at the Hydro it was so impressive and on entering the interior, even better. After a major refurbishment, this Hotel was outstanding. Our bedroom which was a deluxe was beautiful and very tastefully decorated. The only complaint, was lack of air conditioning but I guess Scotland is not used to the hot weather we were experiencing that weekend but we asked for a fan, and this was brought up straight away. I honestly can't complain about this hotel at all and would love to go back. There is one big but....the taxis are really expensive. We were recommended by the porter to go to a place 6 miles away called the Frog and Thistle (which isn't worth going to and especially after we found out the ex chef of our hotel ran it, that's the only reason we were told to go there!!!!!) He ordered us a taxi, which for the distance would be maybe £12 or so roundrip......try £30!!!! The next night, we thought, lets go and eat in the Bridge of Allen, and thought lets check the taxi fare as it's only 2 miles there.....£20 return! What a joke. There's not much in Dunblane, an Indian, Chinese and a couple of pubs but we walked in and went to the Indian, which was really good. We are not cheap but that's mad for a taxi fare. We have been told, the best bet is to get the train (station walking distance) into Stirling, so that's what we will do next time. The restaurant at the Hotel looked really good but we prefer to get out of the Hotel and go to difference places. Dunblane is such a pretty little place with a beautiful Cathedral and such a relaxing place to stay with Stirling only being about 5 miles away.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, On behalf of the Management Team at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, June 25, 2010
Dear sofieNorthWales
Thank you for your feedback on your experience in the hotel and local area. Taxis can be expensive; however the hotel is situated in walking distance of the Train Station and our local bus service, which do work out cheaper. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
David Tate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

this markets itself as a revamped hotel with a great restaurant, not so
more alarming was that I saw a foreign employee shout at a female employee

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, On Behalf of the Management Team at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Dear Yermanonthemove
Thanks for taking the time to write and give us some valuable feedback on your visit. We are deeply disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and would like to discuss this further. We would be really grateful if you could contact david.tate@hilton.com at your own convenience.
Kind Regards
David Tate
On Behalf of the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Stayed at this hotel as we were playing golf at nearby Gleneagles (15 minutes) and couldn't justify the cost of staying there as it was a lads weekend away.

Hotel occupies a beautiful view on a hill in the centre of Dunblane. Large grass slope outside offers fantastic view.

Rooms are either in the main hotel or a newer wing. There didn't seem to be any major differences between them. All were reasonable size. I was on the ground floor in the wing and it was a bit noisy with people walking past from the car park. Temperature was fine in my room although friends in rooms in the main hotel complained of it being very hot and there is no aircon.

Bathroom is small but clean and functional although shower over bath was a bit tatty and towels scratchy.

Large bar area which also serves bar snacks and meals which were excellent. Breakfast was also excellent and the black pudding some of the best I have tasted. Although my rate didn't include breakfast they threw it in for free. Yet one of my friends had to pay not that I was complaining!

Staff were very attentive.

Overall offers excellent value

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, On behalf of the Management Team at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, June 25, 2010
Dear LondonAVB
Thanks for taking the time give us some valuable feedback on your recent visit. We are very disappointed that the cleanliness did not meet our usual high standards and we will pick up this immediately via our housekeeping training program. We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to see you again sometime soon.
Kind Regards
David Tate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights whilst working in Stirling and overall the hotel is excellent. It has been refurbished and all of the public areas in particular are very good. I ate in the restaurant and support the view that is good value and the food is well above the normal hotel standard. The only downside is that the room I had (328) was a bit small. I have no idea whether all the rooms are the same size and it may be just pot luck what you get.

I have stayed in most of the hotels in and around Stirling over the past couple of years, but never here before, however this has now become my favoruite place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, On behalf of the Management Team at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Dear Brian-SK
Thank you for your comments on your stay, we are glad that you had a lovely time at the hotel and your experience of the Kailyard was good. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit.
Kind Regards
David Tate
On behalf of the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

A relaxing trip had by all......courtesy of the service and friendlyness of the staff
nothing seems too much bother for them, thats from housekeeping to management. In particular Gordon and Martin who made our stay stress free which is quite an accomplishment when you have a disabled child and a toddler...thanks again and I would not think twice about recommending your fine hotel to anyone...keep up the good work

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, On Behalf of the Management Team at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Dear TackyGlasgow,
Thanks for writing and giving us some valuable feedback on your stay here. We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to see you again sometime soon.
Kind Regards
David Tate
On behalf of the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trron
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We enjoyed a mid week break at the hotel in June 2010. The hotel and its facilities are excellent as was the standard of service throughout the hotel. All of the staff we came into contact with ensured we all had a great time. they could not have been more professional and friendly. We shall certainly return and will recommend the hotel to all of our friends. Thanks to all of tfor giving us sach a wonderful stay

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Hotel Administrator at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay. We do aim to provide excellent service at all times and pleased that we achieved that for you. Look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel soon.
David Tate on behalf of the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.