We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WINTER SALE NOW ON!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
bishopbriggs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

The service from every member of staff was excellent.We stayed in a junior suite comfrortable beyond words.Food at the Nick Nair restraunt to die for.Facilities all clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, David Tate on behalf of the Management Team at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay in the Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro. We are pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    656
    462
    243
    91
See reviews for
380
1,019
34
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

A beautiful grand building, with an impressive approach and the decoration and refurbishment set it off beautifully.

The hotel is much nicer, with a more 'luxurious' feel than many of the UK Hiltons (despite 'Hilton' being higher in the Hilton family brand heirachy) and our room was well appointed with contemporary yet cosy furnishings and decoration.

There's an in-room safe, large flat screen television, iron and board, tea and coffee making facilities - but no fridge or mini-bar, even in our junior suite. The rooms are not air-conditioned, and the large windows have safety locks in place to prevent them opening very far. On request, these were removed and we were able to get some nice cool evening air circulating around the room (the afternoon sun on the front of the building having heated the room up somewhat).

We had been looking forward to trying Nick Nairn's The Kailyard restaurant, and sadly our experience was mixed. Our drinks took so long to arrive that there was only one mouthful of the starter left to eat. We booked an 8.30 sitting, and already my preferred choice of main was sold out - the compromise substitute from the kitchen (perhaps not helped by the language difficulty with the waiter) was bland and flavourless. My partner however loved the food. They had also run out of wine coolers, so our bottle just sat on the table warming up.

Breakfast was ample, but not the widest choice - the options were limited in areas such as the fruit salad, bread selection. Queues were helped by having two stations for each section spread across the restuarant.

The front desk fine were welcoming and warm (as were the cookies!), and helped with suggestions for our onward journey, including tickets to the nearby Tullibardine Distillery (worth £5 each).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, David Tate on behalf of the Management Team at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
It was good to read your feedback posted on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay although we share your disappointment in having a mixed experience in the Kailyard. There is no excuse for poor service – and we’ll certainly use your experience to share with the team in our constant effort to improve. Sorry, too, to hear that we had sold out of your preferred main course! Feedback like yours is so useful to us and we’ll take on board all your comments and hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I have visited the hotel a number of times, and I was very impressed by the refurbishment that has taken place recently. The staff were very welcoming, the food excellent and the bedroom impeccable.
The hotel let itself down in service in the bar on both nights we were there, however. We would have liked to have lingered over coffee and drinks, however we waited more than 15 minutes for service, grew tired and gave up. A real missed opportunity in what was otherwise an excellent hotel with great service.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

a very nice hotel in a great setting. staff very attentive. room was overlooking the front so lovely view. drinks a bit on the pricey side but only to be expected. had dinner in the kailyard and had a bit of a problem with the main meal. it was dealt with efficiently by the front of house. food was good. breakfast self serve and good choice. only 15 mins walk to train station . took off peak return to edinburgh which puts you straight in the centre. 8 quid each . leasure facilities ok. pool is on a par with small council run facilities but ok

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Hotel Administrator at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
We appreciate the time and trouble you have taken to post feedback about your recent stay in our hotel. Glad that you found the experience ‘in the round’ an enjoyable one although we were disappointed to hear of your problem in the restaurant. We do have plans to develop the Health Club – more news soon!
Thanks again for the time and trouble you have taken to give us this feedback and we hope to see you again sometime soon.
David Tate
on behalf of the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

My partner and I recently stayed at the Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro for my birthday and it was absolutely faultless. From arrival we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. Our room was modern and sumptuous with a spa bath and fabulous views over the front lawn. We enjoyed a late, rather relaxed dinner in the Kailyard Restaurant, staff were attentive without being pushy or overly fussing and the food was delicious. We then retired to the bar/lounge for cocktails where we enjoyed impromptu live singing! Hotel staff were extremely helpful throughout our stay and there were lots of personal touches which really made the difference and highlighted the hotel's attention to detail. Even the weather was perfect (the sun shone the entire time), we really couldn't have asked for a better weekend. Would definitely return and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We had a group of guests staying at the Dunblane Hydro Hotel between the 6th and 10th May 2010. I accompanied this group.

For me, the hotel had the “WOW” factor on more that one occasion – seeing the building for the first time and the drive up to the entrance. The second being the furnishings, the décor of the reception area and the comfort of the public rooms.

One of the thing which was most noticeable from the outset was the friendliness and courtesies extended by all the staff from the cleaners right through to the hotel management – nothing was too much trouble for them. Without exception all seemed to be so happy in their jobs and it was obvious that their prime objective was to please the guests.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and well maintained and the towels both in the bedrooms and health club were of excellent quality.

Breakfast in the restaurant was outstanding in so far as quality, choice, and service were concerned.

Unfortunately service at dinner was disappointing as were the size of the portions presented. On the first evening I spoke to Restaurant Management concerning this. Subsequently the group did received additional potatoes and vegetables, but unfortunately these were not served with the main meal but some time after. The quality of the food and presentation of all the dishes was excellent, but the quantity was meagre. The group had to sit and wait for approximately 40 minutes each evening before their order was taken and then it was a further 35 minutes before the first course was served. The service for both the main course and desert following flowed well.

As with any group, it is hard to please all, but in general, feedback was positive in respect of all other aspects of the hotel operation with 72% indicating that they would return to the hotel in a private capacity.

For me, I certainly would return to the Dunblane Hydro and would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending same to potential clients.

A couple of suggestions that I would make –

a) Bedroom courtesy trays – a biscuit or portion of Scottish Shortbread would be appreciated.
b) Toiletries should be replenished when exhausted.
c) With the modern flat screen televisions in the bedrooms – the provision of a Teletex service would have been appreciated.

Thank you to all for making our visit to the Dunblane Hydro so enjoyable and please pass our thanks to all concerned. You have a great team there!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Took my fiance to this hotel as a surprise for his birthday weekend. This was the first time we had visited. Hotel looks lovely as you travel up the drive and look up to the building over the lawn. We checked in very smoothly and were given our warm cookie which I believe is standard in Doubletree hotels, nice touch.
Our room was in the newer wing of the building and was spacious, modern and clean. First impressions were good. Unfortunately in this particular room the window did not open which would have been disasterous on such a warm sunny weekend but reception noted the problem and immediately sent the porter along to see if there was anything he could do. It was decided that the window was jammed and we were quickly moved to another room, this time in the main building. Our new room was slightly smaller and I was disappointed it had a standard double bed instead of the Queen bed I had booked, this was the only negative of the whole weekend.

We ate in the Nick Nairn Kailyard restaurant on the Saturday night which couldn't be faulted, the food and the service were superb.
We enjoyed the evening entertainment in the Stuart lounge after diner with a singer doing swing songs, it was all very relaxed with great service from the bar staff (and a few yummy cocktails!)

We found plenty to do and see in the area, we found Dunblane itself to be a nice little place and also in a great location for exploring other villages/towns/cities with easy road and rail access.

We would happily return to the Dunblane Hydro as overall we experienced high service levels from friendly staff and had an extremely enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.