We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea with Sparkling Wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Saver Offer
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea with Sparkling Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a voucher for afternoon tea. It was absoluty beautiful, lovely fresh quality sandwiches homemade scones and Victoria sandwich with fresh cream and jam. The staff were very friendly and attentive. We would highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Dumblane is a lovely place well worth a stroll around
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your charming feedback; I will certainly share this with the hotel team and hope you will come back again soon for more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    757
    540
    268
    103
See reviews for
423
1,178
36
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

building is impressive when you drive up but rooms, swimming pool and public areas poorly maintained. Glad we didn't pay full rate. Nowhere to sit in the evening due to lounge area being used as an extra dining room. Is that not what the function rooms are for?
In dire need of a paint and a clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback; I am sure you can imagine that a large hotel such as this does have a continuous maintenance programme in place. Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant department for their attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent two nights at the Doubletree Hydro, Dunblane in October 2012. It was an impressive looking place in beautiful surroundings. We booked a junior suite which was lovely, very clean and modern. The hotel was stunning on the inside as well.
We had a meal in the restaurant the first night and although reasonably priced, the portion sizes wasn't great. Service took some time but it was busy.
The second day we had lunch and supper from the lounge bar menu which was so much better, more informal, great price, service and food. I would recommend eating here instead. The staff were all really friendly and helpful, especially in lounge bar.
There was a wedding going on which seemed to dominate the place but the lounge bar staff went out of their way to attend to the other customers very well.

It was expensive but we expected that and it was a treat.

Not much going on in immediate local area.
I loved it here and when i save my pennies up , i will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback; I have passed your comments to the departments involved , its lovely to read that you enjoyed yourself so much and our staff were their usual friendly helpful selves. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful old building and pulling up through the grounds to the front of the hotel and walking into the lobby gave an excellent first impression. We also particularly liked the warm cookie we were given on arrival! All of the communal areas were done very nicely - the large lounge/bar area with the piano in the middle was a beautiful room.

Room was very small, we had just a standard double room (which there are very few pictures of online!) which was really very small, with only a double bed which is quite rare these days. Shower was not overly powerful, but whole room was clean.

We were a little disappointed with the leisure facilities - in a separate building which you must access by going outside, and it was very cold and wet when we visited. Additionally they appear to be possibly public leisure facilities and not entirely devoted to the hotel? They certainly had the look of that anyway, and not the luxury feel I had expected by visiting a 'hydro' hotel. We had been tempted to book massages but when we arrived at the pool area were glad we hadn't bothered, and I think if you booked a spa package there you'd be disappointed by the look of the place.

Ate dinner in the bar, staff were friendly enough, there was a problem with my order but the waiter was incredibly polite and rectified it straight away, couldn't ask for more. Would have been nice to have some faint background music however, it was deathly silent and a little bit uncomfortable somehow!

Had an enjoyable breakfast, good selection, again with friendly staff, and added on at just £10 for the room at check-in, which I think was very good value (for 2 of us).

We got the room on a particularly good special offer and for that price were very satisfied - if we'd paid a lot more I think we'd have been disappointed with the size of the room and the leisure facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
When the hotel benefited from a recent £12 m refurbishment, unfortunately, the LivingWell did not profit as did the main building. A planned major development of the Health Club has been proposed to the owners of the hotel, and we are currently waiting for funding and detailed planning permission for this to go ahead. I am sorry that the room you were allocated was not suitable for you; the hotel does have a complex and varied lay-out with many different room configurations. We hope that you will visit again; and will do our utmost to allocate a more appropriate room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I booked a spa day with my husband and we were hoping to relax the staff were great and we had a back neck and shoulder massage and it was amazing for both of us then we had facials booked but I canceld mine due to children running in and out of steam room and diving and jumping into the pool and not feeling relaxed at all I came home with migrain and feeling very upset and disappointed if I'd none it was going to be like that I would of used the money to go and see my mum and dad down in Durham

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We do have notices indicating that beauty treatments such as yours are ongoing and asking our guests to maintain a low level of noise in the corridors, however, I am saddened to read this was not adhered to and the noise of other guests was detrimental to your special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Only stayed for two nights but was very impressed from the moment we turned into the huge long drive up to the hotel.We were there on half board basis thank goodness as food and especialy drinks were in my mind VERY overpriced,but saying that the food was fantastic,the breakfast was great with a fabulous choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We do believe the pricing structure we use is on a par with other hotels of the same stature, however will take into account your comments when we next review of prices. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANARKSHIRE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My friend and I enjoyed a very delicious Afternoon Tea, after using the Spa faciliites. Pool lovely Steam Room a wee bit tired looking-few tiles etc missing.
The food was lovley, cakes delious, wine very tasty and lots of pots of Tea and Coffee.The thing that we felt we had to comment on the most was the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff we encountered whilst there, Nothing was any problem and all were so pleasant , excellent Customer Service

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
As I’ve said above, we are aware that some areas in the Health Club needs some TLC, but we are pleased to read this did not impinge on your enjoyment. Glad also to read our friendly, helpful staff provided you with the excellent service we pride ourselves on. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.