We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Specials.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheriffmuir Inn

Sheriffmuir Inn
Sheriffmuir | The Sheriffmuir Inn, Dunblane FK15 0LN, Scotland
+44 1786 823285
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Dunblane
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Off the beaten track Inn with locally sourced food & Ale
edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Specials.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

So I write this review after enjoying a very pleasant meal here at the Sheriffmuir inn.

The service was attentative the staff were polite and very good at there jobs.

The food was excellent fresh and well cooked. The specials were diverse and what we has was full of flavour.

A definite must for anyone in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    63
    16
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Loved the Sheriffmuir Inn for 25 years but WILL NOT BE BACK ....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Have had mediocre food here previously but the food served to our party this evening was so obviously frozen and microwaved and the service although adequate could not be described as friendly/welcoming. YUK, sadly, we will not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilsyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relaxed Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Went to the Sheriffmuir Inn for lunch with my husband. Hadn't been before but it was recommended for the food. We were very pleased with the restaurant - lots of newspapers/magazines to browse through, excellent food and very good service. The food was on the slightly pricy side for a lunch but the quality was first class. The Inn isn't well placed for passing trade but well worth making a detour to find. We read the newspapers and waited for our lunch at leisure, very relaxing and were under absolutely no pressure to eat and move on. The only drawback was that, as it was very busy, we were seated in the bar where you access the Inn. It was a cold windy day and the door kept opening so the draught was unbelievable. We didn't realise that there was an outer door which was propped open - but the staff must have known this! That was the only issue we had with what is a lovely relaxed venue for Sunday lunch and will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“lunch on the moor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had not visited this restaurant for years but was plensantly surprised. It has lost its old world charm of the old inn but the food was a good replacement. best Garlic we have ever had and the rest of our lunch was almost as good. Outside needs a bit of attention as it is not very inviting for passing trade but i am sure this will be attended to. Overall a pleasant lunchtime.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantatsic Food Every Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We came across the Inn by accident about 4 or 5 years ago and have been regular diners there ever since. The food is always top quality and consistently well prepared, cooked and presented, which is what you want. The menu is seasonal and has a good mix of dishes to suit everyone, although I usually have the haddock and it never disappoints. The staff are friendly and obliging, service is prompt and efficient but you’re never rushed. We’ve used the Inn for 2 functions, a golden wedding lunch for around 50 people and a birthday lunch for around 30 people and everyone was impressed with the food. It’s definitely worth visiting. Good honest food, consistency, value for money, what more can you ask for?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheriffmuir Inn also viewed

Dunblane, Stirlingshire
Dunblane, Stirlingshire
 
Dunblane, Stirlingshire
Dunblane, Stirlingshire
 

Been to Sheriffmuir Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheriffmuir Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.