We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food/great staff/needs up-dating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Inn

The Village Inn
5 Stirling Road, Dunblane FK15 9EP, Scotland
+44 1786 823911
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Dunblane
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Pub
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good food/great staff/needs up-dating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Good traditional pub food and reasonably priced, especially for such big portions.
Although the place looks really dated it is clean and little touches like toiletries in the ladies.
The staff are very welcoming but I would agree it lacks atmosphere and that traditional village pub feel. This wouldn't stop me going back however. Redecoration and some log-fires would transform this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    54
    13
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“not sure would venture back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went in mid-week for meal. Service was really nice, but there was no-one else in so atmosphere was nil. Pictures missing from walls and hooks still left - gave appearance of neglect. Food was ok at best, but cheap enough. Disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nostalgic trip with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Recently visited Dunblane with family as all my relatives on my Mothers side originally came from Dunblane. We did our usual tour of our favourite places and then decided to look for a place to eat.my daughter had seen the reviews of the Village Inn so we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed as the food was good and great value for money. The interior is in need of an upgrade but the staff were lovely and the toilets clean. We would definitely eat there again on our next trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value, terrific service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My friend and I were in Dunblane on a Sunday looking for a place to eat. We couldn't believe we paid just £9.99 for a two-course lunch. The steak and ale pie I had was about the best I've ever had - and I've had some great ones in fancy gastropubs all over the shop. A very, very generous helping of very high-quality Scottish beef. The service was excellent - friendly, polite, helpful, smiley - better than I've had in some four-star restaurants!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We got back to Dunblane at 2.30pm after a beautiful ride through Achray Forest , Duke's Pass and Three Lochs Forest Drive and decided to treat ourselves to lunch. The first place we tried was the local Indian Restaurant, which claims to serve lunch until 3 pm....it doesn't! Then we tried a pub opposite the Village Inn and again were unable to obtain service. This is a tourist village , for goodness sake, and people on holiday tend to breakfast late and therefore to eat lunch late. However, those two establishments actually did us a great good turn, as we decided to try the Village Inn for the first time. We were quickly shown to our table in the delightful restaurant at the rear, although we could have eaten in the bar. The menu was quite extensive, with two beautiful sounding specials, but in the end we settled for the Pensioner's Special of 2 courses for 5.99 GBP. The food was freshly prepared and very tasty. My husband had broccoli and goats cheese soup, which was home-made and excellent, followed by haddock,chips and salad. He got 2 pieces of the fish in a crispy batter. I had breaded mushrooms with garlic mayonnaise, followed by lasagne with garlic bread. All of it was delicious, well cooked and piping hot.The portions were not huge, but we did not expect them to be; they were more than adequate, and eating 2 courses was a treat for us as we can only usually manage one.
We were served by Stacey, who really went out of her way to make us welcome and was pleasant, efficient and cheerful from start to finish.
This was our first visit; it will not be our last. Thank you to all who made our Village Inn experience such a good one.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Inn also viewed

Dunblane, Stirlingshire
Dunblane, Stirlingshire
 
Dunblane, Stirlingshire
Dunblane, Stirlingshire
 

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.