We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“michael buble tribute night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torrance Hotel

Save Saved
You added Torrance Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Torrance Hotel
135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in East Kilbride
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“michael buble tribute night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

welcomed in with a glass of bubbly. lovely 3 course meal. then the fantastic show began!!! singer was amazing!!! danced the night away!! DJ was great too. played a great,mixed selection of music for all ages.. definitely will book again!!! great start to the bank holiday!! thanks again to the hotel staff who were great!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrie R, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to write your review .

Many thanks for your fantastic review and I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the Torrance Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Garrie Ross,

General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    52
    35
    20
    36
See reviews for
78
57
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

8 of us went for a bday dinner. Service was fantastic and food was delish. Only complaint was my father in law had the "3 little piggies" the crackling was inedible. We asked the waiting staff who checked with the kitchen and said there was nothing they could do about it and it was just what it was like but they did apologise. I would say it was a bit pricey compared to similar places. I would have liked and expected a Sunday roast special option or possibly a set menu option.

We decided to give it another go with different people. Unfortunately not as great this time. Service was poor, waited 25 minutes for coffees and had to find someone to pay the bill. We're there for a long time. One of our party ordered a steak and it wasn't cooked the way it should have been. Steak is an easy thing to get right and something I would have thought wouldn't haven been a problem. Same problem with the crackljng Also this time. Too hard and Inedible. Were told it was more for decoration than eating! My brother in law was looking at Having his wedding there but is having second thoughts after our recent experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrie R, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to write your recent review.

I have investigated the points below and this is not the service we endeavour to provide and I have already taken steps to ensure such scenarios are not repeated.

All our Staff are trained to a high level of standard and apologies if this has been found lacking on this occasion.

Regarding the quality of the food here at the Torrance we have nothing but positive comments regarding the quality of the food produced and can assure you that this is an isolated incident.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and i look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Garrie Ross

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our family celebrated a 90th birthday last month. On entering the hotel we are met with welcoming staff who had reserved the conservatory for our function. We had decided on a two course lunch and there were a few different dishes to choose from. The waiting staff were very pleasant and the meal was gorgeous. I looked round the rest of the hotel and it was very welcoming, the décor was gorgeous and there was a beer garden next to the bar. There was a bar with sports for the men (apparently they even have small TV's in the gents bathroom so they don't miss anything!!!) and another section with tables and booths for people having lunch or dinner.

All in all I was very happy with the Torrance Hotel and will definitely return. I would also highly recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrie R, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to write your review .

Many thanks for your fantastic review and I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the Torrance Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Garrie Ross,

General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We attended at the Lionel Ritchie/Motown tribute night on 23rd February with my sister and her husband for her 40th birthday. We booked this in January but on arrival they had no booking for us and had to produce our receipt as proof. We had to wait at the bar whilst they brought out a table and wicker chairs and we were situated in the passageway. We were told to arrive at 7pm for 7.30pm but didn't get served our starter until 8.40pm. Staff had to squeeze by our chairs going in/out of the kitchen resulting in getting our chairs bumped every time someone passed. The entertainment had already started and we were still waiting on our dessert which we finally got at 9.45pm. On a positive note we are regular visitors to the Torrance Hotel and the food is always excellent. We were very disappointed this time so we personally handed in a letter of complaint along with a copy of the booking receipt for the attention of the manager Mr Ross and also made a telephone call to speak to him and was told he would phone back after his holiday and to this date we have still had no reply to either.. We won't be returning....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrie R, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to post on your review.

I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the tribute night in January.

This is not the service we endeavour to provide and as you can see from previous reviews on our tribute nights this is not the level of service we aim to provide.

The tribute night was 7 for 7.30 the food service started at 8.00 and the desserts were served at 9.30. The service was one and half hours for a 3 course meal for 142 people.

Apologies I have not received any letter detailing the below or a message that you have called I reply back to all calls or letters within 24hrs.

If you would like to discuss the matter further please contact myself directly on 01355 225241.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Garrie Ross

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Visited: Many times but most recent May 2013
Party: 2 adults
Price: £37 for a special 2 course menu, an a-la-carte main course and 4 drinks.

Visted here many times since it was refubished by the Manorview Group and always come away satisfied and impressed so I'm totally bemused by some of the poor reviews it has received on the website.

The transformation from the old and rather tired hotel to this new glass fronted conservatory is fantastic. The decor, layout and general ambience of the whole restaurant and bar are not to be faulted. There are also two expansive beer gardens with better than average furniture. They have even went as far as putting small TV's into the gents toilets so you don't miss the sport you are watching so a lot of thought has gone into the whole design.

I have yet to have a bad meal and the service and attentiveness of the staff is to be commended. The bar manageress on our last visit, went out of here way, during her lunchbreak, to let us have the restaurant menu in the bar and took the time to run through the orders with the bar staff.

During the summer, if we ever get one, try to have a meal in the conservatory as it really opens up the whole area and is a great space to eat. The good news is that they have also taken over two other hotels in the nearby area (The Redhurst and The Busby) so hopefully they will receive the same attention as the Torrance.

Great place for a meal or a drink and suitable for casual bar food or a more formal meal. To be recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrie R, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to write your review .

Many thanks for your fantastic review and I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the Torrance Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Garrie Ross,

General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I've been a few times now since moving to ek almost a year ago. The food is outstanding. The service I can't fault. The decor is perfect. I asked the staff if I could buy the hotel or live in but they turned me down. Absolutely stunning hotel

Tiger Tim StevensMBE
DJ/broadcaster

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrie R, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to write your review .

Many thanks for your fantastic review and I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the Torrance Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Garrie Ross,

General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Had our wee baby Olly's christening here in 28 April 13 it was amazing.
Louize, Gary & staff were extremely helpful & decorated the room just how we wanted. The buffet was perfect & everyone commented on how nice it was & also how lovely the venue was.
We drink in the Torrance quite a lot but have never booked a function there. Would defo recommend it couldn't fault anything about the day at all.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrie R, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to write your review .

Many thanks for your fantastic review and I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the Torrance Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Garrie Ross,

General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Torrance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrance Hotel

Address: 135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming traditional village hotel in walking distance to Scotland's largest undercover shopping and leisure centre in East Kilbride. East Kilbride has many local attractions including Village Theatre, Golf Courses, Ten Pin Bowling, Ice Skating, Odeon Cinema and is only 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. Built in 1773 by General Stuart of Torrance as a cotton-spinning mill and workers' houses the building in Torrance Square provided a focus for town life. In its many incarnations the popular Torrance Hotel has also housed a school, a shop and a Coaching Inn, but it has always been at the heart of East Kilbride. The building has retained all its original character and charm. We have 20 comfortable bedrooms including the newly refurbished Honeymoon Suite for 2007. Enjoy a meal in our warm and friendly restaurant or lounge bar which caters for a wide range of food from traditional meals to bar snacks. We are a 5 minute walk from the local train station which will take you straight into Glasgow's Central Station which runs every half hour. If more information is required then do not hesitate to ask our friendly receptionist staff. We would like to advise guests that there will be no bar or restaurant facilities for the next 4 months. We are undergoing a major refurbishment to improve the services to the guests in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Torrance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torrance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.