We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bruce Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bruce Hotel to your Saves list
Bruce Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Cornwall Street, East Kilbride G74 1AF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Spent a few days staying at the Bruce Hotel as part of a David Urquhart package. The hotel was very clean and the staff very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. During our stay there was a wedding and a birthday party taking place on separate nights so the noise did go on until the early hours but it did not spoil our holiday. Another member of our party experienced a lot of noise during the night on the other side of the hotel due to deliveries etc.

Meals were adequate (usually more basic anyway when staying on a coach holiday) however good value for money.

The hotel was a bit dated but if you want a top class hotel you have to pay top class prices. I would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again as it is in a good position for visiting Glasgow without having to stay in the City Centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    25
    16
    11
See reviews for
23
33
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Was woken up at 6am by generator then kept awake by generator in the evening. The wash basin in my room was cracked and the hotel decor has definitely seen better days.Although the Bruce has a restaurant we were put in the ballroom where the tables were set for 10 people. Hard luck if you did not get on with your other diners. In the evening Ella Fitzgerald was played all the way through the 5 days it got a bit wearisome. The meals were plated up with the veg already on the plate. The service in the evening was long between meals the sessions were staggered but ended up with everyone having their main meal at the same time, so those who came in at 6.30 had to wait till 7.30 for the 6.45 and 7.00pm people to have their starters before they got their meals.

Room Tip: rooms at front of the hotel are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Firstly I would like to say how lovely and cheerful the staff were here, very efficient and helpful; I would happily rebook for the service.

HOWEVER. At £65 I thought this place was a little steeply priced for the condition of the hotel and all the simply mind-boggling elements preventing a decent night's sleep.

There is a club somewhere in the hotel which at 1:30am was blasting out some truely awful dance trash music. I was on floor one and it was intrusive to be quite honest. I simply cannot understand why a hotel would play such loud music to be heard by paying guests, it is utterly ridiculous that management would think the two would mix, I can only assume that this place is run by money grabbing idiots.

The fire doors along the corridor to the rooms are another issue that could quite easily be fixed. As they Mechanically close after someone has walked through they make an almighty slam on the wooden frames; just a bit of padded lining around the edges would minimise this immensely. Needless to say after finally ignoring the dance music for long enough to drop off at 2am I was utterly delighted to be woken up at 6:45am on a sunday morning, and then onwards by everyone of the trips to and from breakfast by other guests.

Two very easy to fix things there if someone took an interest.

Now to the better things about this hotel. It is quite obviously a value hotel. The rooms are on the small side but well laid out and easy to get around. Plenty of sockets and drawer space. The shower and toilet room is miniscule but incredibly clean and nicely tiled. Quality fittings and a nice washbasin and wonderfully lit mirror. They even manage to squeeze a full length mirror on the wardrobe. No complaints there.

The bedding was clean and a blanket available in the wardrobe, which is not always the case in higher quality hotels. The pillows are a little too hard though, enough to make you face go numb!

The walls could do with a lick of paint and the door was about as soundproof as a cereal box.

The reception is not very welcoming, it is in a dark corner and could easily be spruced up even though it is quite dated in its design. The lounge area was lovely though, big ceiling and well decorated, obviously spent a bit of money there.

Parking is quite limited but secure and easy to access the hotel from.

Overall a very clean hotel that needs a bit of sprucing in places. Drops 2 stars for allowing a nightclub to blast out music til the early hours and for not fixing slamming doors. Which I am quite flabberghasted by seeing as it has the halcyon group's name to it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire scotland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Two night stay Comfortable no frills hotel within a few steps of the large shopping centre Bedroom clean but furniture has seen better days Spent some time in the lounge which has TV and is situated right next to the restaurant The music seemed to be on a loop which got a bit annoying after hearing the same thing over and over Disappointed not to get opportunity to try entertinment downstairs on first night Good menu very reasonalbly priced and meals very well presented Pleasant attentive staff discovered that hotel has tribute nights throughout the year and am definitely planning to return to try one of these packages ! A good full Scottish breakfast to start each day

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Rainton
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just returned from a 4 day/3 nights visit to this Hotel with David Urqhart. There were 5 friends in our party and every one of us had a thoroughly excellent experience. The rooms were very clean and room service daily was perfect. The food was of a very high standard with a range of choices for Starter, Main and Sweet courses served quickly and professionally by smiling and friendly staff. The Manager welcomed us on arrival and ensured that our every need was catered-for, and he saw us off as we left. He is obviously very proud of his Hotel and its reputation, as well as his staff. On the last night there was no entertainment booked so the Manager went out of his way to provide equipment to allow us all to enjoy an evening of music and dancing. We met and made friends with several other guests and the overall jugement from us all was that we would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel to all our friends...we will certainly be going back!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor in room 215 and were not disturbed in any way. Our friends in rooms 207...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Had a wonderful break with David Urquart travel company to the Bruce Hotel. What an experience for a very small amount. The Hotel staff were fantastic, friendly and obliging.The Sky bar was the best value ever and we enjoyed the entertainment immensly. Although the bedrooms are a little "tired" it was spotlessly clean. The Lounge is extremely comfortable and pleasing to the eye, very relaxing. A visit to "The Village" is a must.... a jewel in the Crown with cobbled streets and a wonderful Coaching Inn where we enjoyed a very tasty, well cooked lunch at a very reasonable price.. Within easy reach of Glasgow, Edinburgh and Loch Lomond to name but a few.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your favourable comments regarding your recent stay with us.We are pleased that you not only managed to view some of the best attractions in Scotland but you also had time to savour some of what East Kilbride has to offer.Be assured your comments will be passed on to all concerned and we hope that you will sample our hospitality in the not too distant future.

Jim McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at THE BRUCE HOTEL with David Urquhart for 4 nights and it was great. The evening meal was really nice-homemade and tasty and a really good breakfast to set you up for the day. David Urquhart himself came to greet us on arival which was a lovely gesture as did the hotel manager. Rooms comfortable with hairdryer, iron and tray of tea,coffee and biscuits replenished daily along with clean towels in the bathroom. Will certainly return here because with the shopping centre at the side of the hotel there is everthing you can possibly need. The excursions were great to Glasgow, Edinburgh and Loch lomond and our driver ROBERT was grand. Lovely sense of humour.Good time had by all. Nothing too much trouble and he kept us entertained on the journey home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas D, General Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding staff, hotel and food alike.It is always good to receive any kind of feedback and even more pleasurable when it is positive and as such proves an indictment of the hard work put in by owners and staff. This more than any other
aspect proves to be motivational to all of us at the Bruce and I would once again thank you for registering your most favourable comments.

Jim McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Hotel

Address: 35 Cornwall Street, East Kilbride G74 1AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bruce Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please allow us some time to bring the old lady back to its Halcyon days. We are making our way round the hotel & night club and re furbishing as we go .Reception has been totaly changes. We have re instated a new restaurant GUY`s on the first floor with some amazing house specials. Our Grand ball room has also had a face lift as is the conference suites.Please try our new SKYE Lounge & Club perfect to party thr night away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Bruce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruce Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruce Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.